We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all rounder for a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Let's Be Direct
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Bushey, Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great all rounder for a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying here for a few nights while in Waikiki and found it to be a great hotel. The room was spacious, comfortable and situated very near the main shopping strip and beach.

The room was a tad dated but this is not something that I feel impacted the enjoyment of our stay at all. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, particularly when we needed help getting to Pearl Harbor the following morning.

As a whole I would definitely recommend the Shoreline to anyone needing a decent, well priced hotel in Waikiki.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    269
    59
    20
    5
See reviews for
72
363
74
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Good priced hotel, a few minutes walk from the beach, clean, and most importantly quiet. No dining room, but a cafe next door and lots of other places to eat breakfast. Provides juice and fruit in the foyer.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I have stayed here twice! We had to come back a second time to Waikiki and chose to stay here again because our first stay was just great! Rooms were clean and the hotel was just in a perfect location! 5 minutes from the beach, a minute from kalakaua ave and restaurants all around! Not to mention your in front of Ross so we were able to shop and drop off what we bought instantly! Very convenient for shoppers! I highly recommended this hotel if you are just in Hawaii to shop and do activities. If you are just gonna relax and stay in your room all the time, the rooms are small so I wouldn't tell those who plan this to stay here. But other than that, we love this place!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Overall, this is a decent budget hotel for this area. I stayed here over Christmas in 2014. The positive, the rooms are a decent size, there is a restaurant connected to the hotel, there is a pool on-site, and you are walking distance to multiple restaurants and sites in the area. I had no problem finding my way to the beach, to find food, or go shopping.

The negatives, the hotel has a shady policy (maybe only during holiday season) that they will upcharge you at check-in for double beds. It would be one thing if this policy is noted in writing somewhere, but it is not. Even though my travel agent listed a request for a 2 bed room, I was told there would be an additional fee per night for the room. I am well aware that bedding requests are not guaranteed, however if they have the room that was requested at the time of booking available on site they are supposed to give it to and definitely not try to charge you for it. The desk attendant flat out told me that they do this because they can get extra money out of people during the high season. I was very upset by this, luckily my travel agent covered the additional cost but they should not have had to. Aside from this when I finally got into my room it was not as clean as it should have been and they had to come and change the sheets.

This is a budget hotel, so I was not expecting the Ritz. If it had not been for the unscrupulous extortion of extra money and the dirty sheets I would not have had anything bad to say about the resort. Overall, I had a decent stay but I would not recommend this place to anyone because you don't know what you're going to get at check in.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Shoreline Hotel met our expectations as a part of the Joy of Living group. It was centrally located in a nice area of Waikiki. Being on a half and half one-way road was a little confusing, but easily maneuverable. Easy walking distance to Dukes. Just make sure you go to the right location. There are two sites. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Complimentary iced beverage choice 24-7 in lobby. Rooms were nice and beds comfortable. Great place for the price.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Front Desk staff here is amazing, they made me feel so welcomed and special. They asked me daily how my trip was going and gave me great suggestions on where to go, a special thank you to Mona who was our go to girl for anything we needed. The room was perfect for what we needed, clean and comfy! The location of the hotel was so close to restaurants and bars as well as walking distance to the beach. I would come back here any time it was truly perfect. Thanks again Mona and everyone else on the Shoreline team!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 5 nights , great location excellent staff, nothing was a bother .
Complimentary WiFi ,paper and coffee and tea + cold drinks 24/7.
Rooms are clean and tidy not large but every thing you need , small fridge and a safe .
Also a lot of pick ups for tours are from directly over the road out side the Ross store.

Room Tip: Good breakfast options all within 200 feet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.