We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL IN THE HEART OF WAIKIKI!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Four Night Getaway
Ranked #14 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL IN THE HEART OF WAIKIKI!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Wow!! What a pleasant surprise!!
This European styled hotel in the heart of Waikiki!! It is newly renovated, clean, comfortable rooms & furnishings, and a great value!!
Two blocks from the beach, in the middle of the shopping district. You can also count on friendly service!
What more would you want?! The only thing it doesn't have is a waterfront view!
Enjoy!!

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    238
    49
    16
    4
See reviews for
69
323
64
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Spent 3 nights here. Comfortable, convenient, and affordable with helpful/responsive staff. Nice cucumber water in lobby. Attached restaurant has GREAT and healthy breakfasts. Loved their smoothies, and very nice bartender. Only downsides were: the garbage trucks emptying dumpsters in the wee hours, and setting off car alarms and the staff arranged a shuttle for us to get to Pearl Harbor, but it didn't show up on time and followup said they'd be at least another hour, which we didn't have. Ended up taking the bus, which was way cheaper and more dependable -- takes a while but if you plan for it... Suggestions to hotel: 1. Big closet but would've preferred some drawers or shelves for the types of clothes I bring to HI. 2. people have wet swimsuits and snorkel gear in HI, put those clothesline things in the bathtubs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the front, away from the dumpsters. It's on a quiet street but you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We really enjoyed our stay at the shoreline hotel. All the staff were very friendly, we always got greeted with a good morning or welcome back which is small yet sweet. One of the ladies of the front desk gave us some good recommendations for dinner and showed us how to get there by a map. It is conveniently located, just a short walk to the beach, trolleys and cafes etc. The rooms are quite modern and comfortable. Free wifi and free beach towels are also available to use from the front desk which is handy! Overall we really enjoyed our stay!

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at the Shoreline in Waikiki. Travelling solo, I'm always looking for somewhere central and safe - the hotel is only a block from the beach and right in the centre of Waikiki, yet my room was so lovely and quiet. I got upgraded to a king room so I had a huge, comfy bed to sleep in. The staff at the front desk were so helpful and friendly, particularly Stella. They always had cucumber water, coffee, tea and iced pineapple tea in the lobby which was a nice touch. The room was so reasonably priced compared to the hotels right on the beach. I won't hesitate to stay here again if I get back to Waikiki!

Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is conveniently located in the centre of town. Overall good value. Comfortable king bed. Unfortunately the Shoreline is looking worse for wear - but then it seams many of Waikiki's hotels are looking old. No restaurant in the hotel but next door is a good cafe that makes tasty and well presented food.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Internet is basically non-existent in this hotel. most I got 1mbps, but it constantly goes up and down. that was too annoying. At this day that is unacceptable.
location is perfect - that is a plus, but you would need the car.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was looking for an inexpensive hotel in the centre of Waikiki, and the Shoreline hit the mark. It's nothing special, but the location is excellent, close to everything, and the hotel has most things you could need.

Room Tip: From what I could tell, most of the rooms were pretty basic, with unspectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#28 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.