We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct, get 20% off
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT PLACE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

I stayed here the week of Thanksgiving because of great reviews on the site I booked on. It lived up to expectations. Apparently, this was a United Airlines-owned property for their layovers and since it's been managed by Joie de Vivre, it's becoming well known. From the entry in the lobby you feel the friendly spirit of the staff. They literally help with everything. Alex took my map and highlighted places that I should check out and was spot-on! Kristie was so nice and fun at the front desk, too. The room was fine, bed comfortable and only a short walk to the beach. I didn't think I would use it, but the Ross store across the street was convenient too. They have a little restaurant attached that's part of the local food scene...check it out, it was TERRIFIC! All in all, I would stay here again...ask for a high floor with partial view, I got a corner room and was very happy!

Room Tip: Some of the junior suites have dual balconies and I think maybe a small terrace on the one of the fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    183
    36
    10
    3
See reviews for
55
255
50
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

This hotel is very central in Waikikki, it is walking distance to most things. It has free wifi ..YAY. The rooms although small was clean, modern and comfy. The staff were friendly and helpful. And it's just across the road from The Ross store

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A basic, but well maintained, well positioned hotel. Not a place to spend a whole vacation, but great for a visit to Waikiki. Staff was helpful and friendly and the room was clean and attractive with a retro Hawaii feel. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: High floor, sea-facing is best. Waikiki is a noisy place, so I don't think you can avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful boutique hotel smack dab in the heart of Waikiki. The front desk service was accommodating and friendly, the rooms were modern, clean and comfy with balconies. Also, a couple of small things that make a big difference to me - 1) quality bed and bedding and 2) a functioning radio/stereo. Many hotels cut corners on these small details, but I think they show attention to detail and the customer experience, and they nailed it all.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Aloha LotaBlossom,
Thank you for you kind comments and providing our hotel with a 5 star review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to see that our services and room accommodations provided exceeded your expectations during your trip to Hawaii. Furthermore you have also noticed the small details in which the hotel provides whereas many other properties tend to “cut corners” thank you for noticing. We’d like to thank you once again for taking the time to provide your review, from the staff here at the Shoreline, Happy Holidays!!!
Mahalo,
Jerome Yapching
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I just returned home after staying here for 7 nights. We stayed in a king size room which was nice and spacious, clean and the bed was very comfortable. We also had a small fridge and microwave. We stayed on the 6th floor which was pretty quiet. The reception staff are very warm and welcoming, and there is free tea/coffee/chilled water/pineapple iced tea in the lobby 24/7. The housekeeping staff are also very friendly, always saying 'Aloha' when you cross their paths. The location is FANTASTIC, with the Royal Hawaiian Shopping Centre at the end of the street and restaurants/cafes all within a few minutes walking distance. The new cafe that has opened up next door called 'Heavenly Cafe' is a good spot for breakfast. Try the pulled pork with eggs.......TO DIE FOR!!! Thanks to all the staff at The Shoreline for a wonderful stay.......made my birthday very memorable.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Aloha statsmarty,
Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your birthday. We are glad to see that our great location and friendly service was able to make a memorable experience. Each of our staff members excel in showing our guests the “Aloha Spirit” unknown to those not from Hawaii. Please share your experience with your friends and family and tell them of the great things the Shoreline Hotel Waikiki has to offer. We hope to see you again happy holidays.
Mahalo,
Jerome Yapching
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKL
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Firstly, before I booked the Shoreline Hotel, I had to research what hotels suited and met my requirements as follows: 1) in room fridge and microwave 2) 2-3 mins walking distance to beach and main shops 3) 24 hr desk for our late arrival 4) Internet.
After extensive research, the Shoreline had met all these requirements all within our budget, and so we booked and we were not disappointed.

Shoreline is faultless in everyway. The staff are attentive and polite, and the hotel is small enough to provide personalized service such as lobby coffees and deliciously tasting pineapple ice tea (free). I stayed with the Shoreline for 6 nights, and as I left I knew I was going to miss this place.

The room come supplied with basically everything you need. A hair dryer, a very comfortable bed, a desk, arm chair, soaps and toiletries, information about the hotel and area, and a lot more. The air conditioning worked very well and was effectively fast! I loved the lanai facing the commercial building opposite - it added character.
Unfortunately I did not have time to use the pool. But thank you for providing it.

The Christmas tree looked spectacular also. Thanks for providing beach towels on request.

There are so many other great things I have to say about this place, like the cleanliness and modern furniture. The place is true value for money. If you are looking for absolute beach front with water slides and extra services then your looking at tripleing the price Shoreline has. For something a stone throw away from the beach which is immaculate, Shoreline is the definite winner.

I cried when I left, because this holiday took years to save up for and you really made it special for me.

Thank you. December 2nd- December 9th. Mr Law.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Aloha Sarah G,
Please allow me to extend well wishes and happy holidays to you and yours. We are ecstatic that the service available to you was well received and that our staff was able to provide a memorable Hawaiian experience. While many travelers prefer larger hotels due to their full service capabilities, our smaller venue does enough to compete with properties that provide grandeur rather than personalized service. Thank you once again for all of your kind words and we trust that with hard work and saving we will see you for a return trip shortly.
Mahalo,
Jerome Yapching
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

found this wonderful place on kayak hotels.
called a few days prior to our arrival and the front desk was very sweet.
the hotel was beautiful. spacious lobby with cafe. they have flavored water in the lobby which was great because it was HOT! HOT! outside. Free WIFI!!
went up to our room it was clean and had a balcony (not a good view) but it did not matter since we were literally minutes away from the beach. With lots of stores near by incase you forget anything or wanna pick up gifts to take back home.
Staff was super helpful about directions and what would be the best thing to check out and places to eat. local eats that is. they asked us what was the purpose of our trip..my husband told them we were celebrating our 3 year anniversary.
and when we came down stairs it was written on their board wishing us a happy anniversary which i thought was so sweet.
bed was cozy
pillows were wonderful
bathroom is a bit small not much space to put your toiletry bags and has no vent so it gets really foggy :(
overall it was great. happy we picked this place. If we ever come back to waikiki..will probably stay there again.

Room Tip: theres an option of partial ocean or city view..i preferred the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Aloha Kat S,
Thank you for staying with us and deeming our hotel a “great choice” for potential guests viewing our hotel on tripadvisor. We love when reviews are spread by word of mouth and social media sites. This not only gives others insight on what to expect but your comments also provide an honest point of view. We are absolutely thrilled that everything was enjoyable and that we were able to provide great lasting memories for you and your husband. Please consider staying with us perhaps on your 5 year anniversary. Thank you once again for your review; we hope to see you again. Happy Holidays!
Mahalo,
Jerome Yapching
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.