We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had stayed here on 2nd trip to Honolulu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct, get 20% off
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Westchester, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wish I had stayed here on 2nd trip to Honolulu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Decided to stay our last night of a second trip in a different hotel. Was greatly disappointed. The Shoreline has a boutique feeling and staff makes you feel welcome and appreciated. Def did not find this at the Aston Waikiki. While the location is better (and on the water), The Shoreline is only a step away from a nicer part of Waikiki Beach.

Room Tip: Request rooms on higher floors. Less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Aloha BKB217,
A huge Mahalo for you return visit and we are glad that we were able to accommodate you well once again. The Shoreline Hotel Waikiki’s centralized location and competitive prices make it an easy choice for many travelers. It is a pleasure knowing that our staff was able to make you feel welcome and appreciated during your time with us, I’ll definitely tell them to keep up the good work. Thank you once again for sharing your 5 star review with us we hope to see you again soon.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    183
    36
    10
    3
See reviews for
55
255
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain Top, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

This is a boutique hotel and I found the ambiance of hotel to be very pleasing. Our stay was in May of 2014. This was our 2nd trip back to Waikiki our first visit was for 2 nights in November 2013. We stayed at the Outrigger Reef on the Beach. I really was impressed with this property everything from the cleanliness and appearance of common areas and Lobby, to the Staff's knowledge of hotel and facilities in addition to their knowledge of surrounding area. I found the rooms to be on the smaller side but the overall condition of guest room and furnishings more than made up for it. My wife was impressed with the cleanliness of both the room and the bathroom. I found the room to have proper functioning room technologies (television, entertainment, telephone and WIFI). The best part was the comfortable bed. I did not get a chance to use the fitness center so I cannot comment on the facility. For the price you cannot beat this hotel. So what are the cons? The only thing I wish this hotel had was a restaurant and bar. Having said that there were plenty of places to go within walking distance. The beach is close by and my wife enjoyed her stay here. I would recommend this property to family and friends.

Room Tip: If you are a family traveling with children you may want to consider a different hotel, but for coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Aloha Kris M,
Thank you for your 4 star review! It is pleasing knowing that we were able to accommodate you well and exceed your expectations. We appreciate all comments regarding our property and staff as we all work together to maintain our hotel and provide the best possible service for all of our guests. Again Mahalo for you kind words and please tell your friends and family about the Shoreline Hotel Waikiki.
Hope to see you again,

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here for two nights in June. We chose this place based on our past positive experiences with his hotel chain and it's convenient location.
The check-in was smooth. Loved how the lobby always had the 24hr beverage stations as well as apples and newspapers. Shout out to Tyson from Dana Pointe at the front desk who was not only friendly and knowledgeable, but was breaking a sweat from multitasking whenever we saw him.
The room we got was a standard. So definitely not much room to move about, but still very modern and hip. I really like how the have energy saver air conditioner using your hotel key. The toiletries are of good quality as usual and you get a real hair dryer to use.
Note there is no gym here. There is a pool on the rooftop, but we did not use since the beach was close by.
The hotel is very central to all the shopping. No need really to rent a car if you aren't planning to venture far from Waikiki beach.
Just steps away from the hotel is a small japanese cafe/convenience store Masubi Cafe. Good food and super affordable. Would recommend checking it out if you're for a quick bite.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Aloha Lucianne,
Thank you for your kind words and giving a shout out to our front desk host Tyson. Tyson enjoys going the extra mile for our guests making sure they have an enjoyable stay. While our hotel does not have a gym we do offer day 24 Hour Fitness gym passes for a fee keep that in mind if you happen to stay with us again. The hotels centralized location and competitive pricing is an absolute benefit for all of our guests and just a few of the many reasons to stay with us. With that being said we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Waikiki.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country NSW
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed here for four nights and could not fault anything about this property. Staff were very helpful and friendly any time we approached the front desk. Rooms were clean and comfortable and very quiet. Daily newspaper, internet and free beverages were just the added extras that made our stay even more enjoyable. You get the impression that the staff are very interested in their jobs and the daily updates on the notice board were great to read. The location of this motel is fabulous. Walking distance to the beach (towels supplied daily at the front desk) and all the main restaurants and shops in Waikiki. We would certainly consider staying at the Shoreline again and were very impressed with this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Aloha LouiseS220,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent Hawaiian vacation. I take great pride when our front desk hosts are mentioned for their hard work all the while displaying the spirit of Aloha. They all know that they are the initial point of contact for our guests and love giving suggestions of where and how to enjoy the beauty that O’ahu has to offer. Once again thank you for your kind comments we hope to be able to accommodate you in the near future.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

we stayed here for 4 nights in november and we enjoyed ourselves. Easy valet parking and the staff were friendly and helpful. the bummer was that the restaurant wasnt open but im sure it is by now. our room was modern and clean and very comfortable. some people complain about the street noise but we didnt hear any.
Great location and a great price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Aloha jg26,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to accommodate you well. Thank you for mentioning our Front Office Staff as each and every team member makes an emphasis to provide a memorable stay for each of our guests. If your travels bring you back to our beautiful island please contact us directly for our best available rates.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you are not looking for a resort hotel, but looking for a hotel in a great central location, with nice, clean rooms and efficient service, look no further than the Shoreline. We had seven nights here in May 2014 and really enjoyed staying there. It is a cute little hotel, modernized and very comfortable. The bed and pillows were great and I am very fussy! We had a view of the disgusting building next door, and a tiny peep of the sea! Honestly, given the quality of the hotel, the cost, and the little time we spent in our room, it was not a big deal. Why would you pay for a resort hotel and view when it appears you can use the facilities of the pools on the beach anyway during the day. If we ever return to Waikiki, we will be staying at the Shoreline again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Aloha Megan F
Thank you for your 4 star review. We are thrilled knowing we exceeded your expectations and were able to provide a memorable stay. While it is true we are not a bigger resort our hotel more than makes up for it with our centralized location, complimentary amenities, and competitive room rates. Not to mention our hotel does not charge any “resort fees” that bigger hotels charge. While it is unfortunate that the view from your room was not to your liking our city view accommodations face the surrounding areas of where this building is placed. For your next trip please consider booking one of our partial ocean view rooms. Thank you once again for your kind words we hope to be able to accommodate you once again.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

A very nice place to begin our Hawaiian vacation. We did not have a car and the location proved to be just fine. We were able to walk to the beach, to a number of excellent restaurants, and was accessible to trolleys or buses. The room was clean and well appointed. There was a great chalkboard welcoming newlyweds and teaching us non-Hawaiians some Hawaiian terminology - a nice homey touch. The front desk staff was great; very pleasant and very knowledgeable. A great first choice of hotel for our trip ...

Room Tip: We chose a high level room and we were able to see the mountains from one direction on our porch and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Aloha Deb G,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. Yes I do agree that while staying in Waikiki a car is not needed being that everything is in walking distance from our hotel. Kudos to you for being a savvy traveler. We are delighted that you found our room clean and well-appointed and honored by your compliment regarding our Front Desk Hosts. Once again thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your review. Please do see again sooner rather than later.
Mahalo,
Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.