We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, great location, staff and rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel to your Saves list
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct, get 20% off
Ranked #13 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, great location, staff and rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Really impressed with the value for money aspect of this hotel!
Sure it's a refurbished building a couple of streets back from the beach, but it's stylish, close to everything and has that 5star boutique feel about it!
The room we had was large, furnished in a trendy classic fashion and included all the usual things you need for a week or so break!
Impressed by the wifi (both the free service and the connection speed), the friendly staff, and the overall deal!
(Sure the pools not a draw card, but it does have one, and after all who goes to Hawaii to swim in a pool when the beaut beaches are only a 5 or so minute stroll away?)
We are already booking our next stay here!
Thanks to the staff, service and accommodation provisions, really had a blast and can't wait to come back!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Aloha Stuey62,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you were impressed by the hotels complimentary amenities and friendly staff. We take great pride when we are compared to 5 star hotels and each and every one of our employees loves going the extra mile ensuring that each and every one of our guests has a memorable experience.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    183
    36
    10
    3
See reviews for
55
255
50
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Although, we did not stay here, a friend of mine and myself recently found ourselves in a bit of precdicament and the wonderful staff at the Shoreline kindly helped us out. We were flying out of Honolulu around 2330 but we had to check out of our condo by 12 and they had no luggage storage. The Shoreline was a building over and they kindly let us store our luggage for the day at no charge. It made our last day in Waikiki more enjoyable not having to tow our luggage around and knowing it was safe. Next year I will definitely consider this hotel with it's lovely atmosphere, great location and super friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Aloha Caliali1,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our hotel and staff. It was our pleasure to be able to assist you during your last day as many of our guests are reluctant to leave our beautiful island. I am thrilled to hear that you will be considering staying with us during your next Hawaiian vacation. For our best available rates please feel free to contact the hotel directly.

Mahalo,

Daniel Floren
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We had two rooms for three days, the free coffee, cold water and news papers daily were a nice touched. Staff extremely helpful and personal as oppose to large hotels. Rooms are modern and clean. We enjoyed our stay! Thanks

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Aloha Carel B,

I’d like to thank you for allowing us to accommodate you and your parties during your vacation, it was our pleasure. I am happy you found the little touches the Shoreline offers helpful. Being a smaller property we know that it usually is the smaller things that bigger hotels forget that go a long way when one travels. From all of the Shoreline Hotel Waikiki Staff Aloha!

Daniel Floren

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burke, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I had an excellent stay at the Shoreline Hotel. Having read the Trip Advisor reviews before we went, it met our expectations. It is very reasonably priced, and the location in the center of Waikiki, along with the big name hotels. The room was clean. The bed was excellent. The shower was powerful and hot. Daily servicing of the room was just right. The desk staff was young, attentive, knowledgeable, and very nice. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for the things that I just described. I would stay at the Shoreline again.

Hotel is just a few blocks from Waikiki beach. The hotel provides free beach towels for you to use. The hotel is just a block from the Royal Hawaiian Center, which is a major shopping and restaurant center. The Royal Hawaiian hotel puts on a free, top-notch Hawaiian music and dance show at the Center five nights a week at 6PM. I believe that each of these free shows is of higher quality than any show you could pay to see on the Island.

The Shoreline is only two blocks from Lewers St and one block from Kalikaua Ave, which are major shopping streets. There is also a McDonalds less than a block away. It is easy to get from the Shoreline Hotel to the highways that take you to every part of the island. Recommend you use a GPS for guiding your driving.

Trip Advisor reviews of the Shoreline do include a number of reviews which indicate issues exist. Some were due to unrealistic expectations. However, when you go to a restaurant or a hotel, you get a feel for how the hotel management views and implements their role. Same is true for the Shoreline. I noticed a few things that I wondered about, so I asked one of the desk staff who owns the hotel? The answer was surprising, and explanatory. It was: "The owners of this hotel are anonymous. It is managed by the Joie de Vivre company." I believe that this explains many of the negative reviews. I politely suggested an improvement to a desk clerk, who politely responded "That is above my pay grade." In my nine days at the hotel, I never saw anyone who looked like a manager.

The parking situation for the hotel is a problem. It has limited parking spaces. You have to check with the hotel every day to see if they have space for your car. If not, you park across the street, where you pay daily, ONLY IN CASH and no bills larger than a $20. Management should settle which option you will use before you arrive, and if you park across the street, you should be able to pay the hotel, who then pays the other parking garage.

Once I asked the desk clerk to change a $100 bill for some $20 bills so I could pay the garage. They didn't have enough twenties to change the $100 bill. I was really surprised by this.

Another small but easily fixable problem is that the soap dish by the sink in our room was a simple flat bottomed plastic box with no drain holes or raised bars to keep the soap above the water which drains off a used bar of soap. Thus the bar of soap was always a bit soft.

I believe that the issues that I have listed here are easily fixable. I have written them here, not as complaints, but as suggestions for improvement. I would recommend the hotel to others, and would stay there again, even if the small issues were not removed or ameliorated.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor. There was some street noise, but not much. It is possible that a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

With so many hotels in the area, this hotel definitely will keep me coming back due to their friendly staff and clean atmosphere. The location is very central to Waikiki. P.s-I liked the keurig coffee in the lobby ;)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline H, Front Office Manager at Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Aloha Gragusa1,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. With the competitive nature that is Waikiki hotels I am thrilled to know that you will be staying with us again. Our front desk hosts and housekeepers always do their very best to ensure a comfortable, clean, and alluring guest experience.

Mahalo,

Daniel Floren,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Very clean but petite hotel room, all amenities were excellent including shower and bed. Not much storage space, but has safe, microwave, and frig. Our maid service could have used a little work as we were regularly shorted a towel or washcloth, do not believe maid spoke good English, but a call to front desk always resulted in prompt service. A/C was not working first day but was attended to by management the next day. Keurig coffee machine and ice water in lobby is a nice touch. Comfortable lobby, wireless internet in rooms.

Room Tip: Very busy access street (Seaside) with lots of service vehicles and tour bus pickups so try to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Excellent hotel! I needed a place to stay in Waikiki for a couple of nights, and I’m glad I chose Shoreline. At this price point in Waikiki, one would expect a standard room with standard service. However, Shoreline far exceeded my expectations. The vintage modern design of the lobby was warm and welcoming. It gave off a hip/cool vibe that sets itself apart from the other (mostly outdated) hotels in the area. The guest room was just the right size, and had all the amenities I needed. Above everything, though, was the staff’s extraordinary level of customer service. They knocked it out of the park. Everyone seemed genuine, and went out their way to make sure that I had a pleasant stay. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Address: 342 Seaside Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Seaside Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a destination that’s famous for being popular, the Shoreline is comfortable in its own skin. The hotel — 135 rooms over 14 floors — has a scale absent from most Waikiki Resorts, and the 1970s design creates a contemporary feel. Accommodations are bright and well‑appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie De Vivre Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoreline Hotel Waikiki, a Joie de Vivre Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.