We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best arboretums anywhere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyon Arboretum

Lyon Arboretum
3860 Manoa Rd., University of Hawaii-Manoa, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96822
(808) 988-0456
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Lyon Arboretum like an insider
Special Offer
$65*
and up
Go Oahu Card
Ranked #31 of 272 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the University of Hawaii, the Lyon Arboretum offers 194 acres and a research facility.
Palo Alto, CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“One of the Best arboretums anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My friends especially wanted to tour gardens, and this was the best we found on three islands. It's not well known, but take time for it on your visit to Honolulu.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    65
    7
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Davenport
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hideaway in the big city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We aren't big crowd peeps and enjoy getting off the normal tourist routes. If you're into flora or birding or just enjoying nature IN the city, take the time to find this place. Even tho they warned our visit was at the end of their winter and many things were just 'waking up' we weren't disappointed with the blooms and greenery. The trails are very well maintained but I caution the ups and downs are not easy in order to see the neatest sites. And try to get a map (and good map reader...lol!)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montesano, Washington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Donation is requested”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Not much to see, waterfall hike was good, maybe I am not a botanical person, so if you are you may enjoy this.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Indescribable natural beauty and an entire world within one rainforest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The only tropical arboretum in America. It's 200 acres, and is as hard or as easy a walk/hike as you want. The visitor center has maps and walking sticks etc. They ask for donations to keep the grounds maintained. You don't HAVE to pay admission to get in. It is amazing how many rare things you can witness here that are near extinction in the wild. BRING SHOES, BUG SPRAY, WATER AND POSSIBLE RAINGEAR. You have been warned.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not your average garden tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

When my husband suggested the Lyon Arboretum, I said yes because I like gardens. Well, this isn't exactly a walk in the park. It's a nice little hike to get the best views so wear appropriate footwear. The arboretum is massive and has a rainforest feel. The different plants are impressive and I like the way the arboretum is broken down in collections. Tip - wear long sleeves and pants or use really good mosquito repellant. We used mosquito repellant but still got quite a few mosquito bites. This is a good place to go to get away from the crowds in Waikiki.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyon Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Lyon Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyon Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.