We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice way to spend a quiet day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyon Arboretum

Lyon Arboretum
3860 Manoa Rd., University of Hawaii-Manoa, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96822
(808) 988-0456
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
Go Oahu Card
Ranked #33 of 240 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the University of Hawaii, the Lyon Arboretum offers 194 acres and a research facility.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend a quiet day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Now this is what I can here for....well actually my boss sent me here to do some work, which I did, but was looking to get away from the crowd.

The beauty of Hawaii is in the plants and animals that live here and there is no place better to experience them then right here.

Ok...so this place was not listed in my GPS, but if you lookup the street address you should not have a problem getting here. It is also on the same road as Manoa falls.

Most of the people choose to hike the falls and know nothing about this place, more open space for me...

Parking for the falls cost $5, but the arboretum is actually further up the road. Admission to the grounds is free, but would gladly accept donations. Parking is limited so get there early.

There are trails you can hike and there is even a waterfall, it's small but hidden from the crowds of people and the trail was not muddy.

There is a small gift shop were you can purchase water and snacks.

For a real sence of what Hawaii was like before all of the development took place, spend some quiet time strolling the grounds.

Visited June 2013
2 Thank Solecito_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“One of our favorite locations on Oahu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Arboretum hike is a wondeful contrasting experience to coastal overlook hikes or beach fun. We went on a weekday and there were very few people. It was like going back to the Jurassic period- I half expected to be surprised by a dinosaur!

Visited June 2013
Thank GoPrepared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
158 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Like Being in a Rainforest”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were very impressed by the beautiful trees and plants in this open air botanical garden, which feels much more like a rainforest in South America than an arboretum in Hawaii. Try to snap pictures of the surrounding mountains with waterfalls flowing down them.

Tip - wear sneakers and bring a big umbrella. Unlike Waimea Valley which has asphalt paths, this can be muddy and slippery and is probably not very easy for children or the elderly. My wife was 4.5 months pregnant when we visited and we of course were very careful, but did not realize how slippery the muddy paths could be.

Visited May 2013
1 Thank NYTravelerBD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A hidden germ close to Honolulu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We visited Lyon Arboretum on our last day on Oahu and it was amazing. Very traquill surrounding, peacefull, with impressive collection of plants.

Visited April 2013
Thank Lucentis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
425 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Rain Forest in the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We had a small group tour of the Arboretum and enjoyed the upward sloping grounds, well marked trails incredible flora from throughout the Pacific and the impressive showers. The director Christopher Dunn is knowledgeable, engaging and committed to the future of this unit of University of Hawaii. The plants are well labeled and there is an emphasis on how native culture blended with the environment shown in Taro fields and native style buildings set among what native food gardens would have looked like. The sandalwood trees and other endangered species make you appreciate the conservation effort at work here. I would rate this a must during a Honolulu stay.

Visited May 2013
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyon Arboretum also viewed


Been to Lyon Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing