We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was really cool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lyon Arboretum

Lyon Arboretum
3860 Manoa Rd., University of Hawaii-Manoa, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96822
(808) 988-0456
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 159 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Gardens, Educational Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Part of the University of Hawaii, the Lyon Arboretum offers 194 acres and a research facility.
Unalaska, Alaska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It was really cool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I liked it alot ..very nice place, bring a camera for lots of photo opps and their is also a waterfall very close by.. Bring walking shoes for both. Only negative is there was not really a bathroom outside of the aboretum.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    52
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atascadero
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to hike!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had a great time today. Beautiful flowers and plants from across the globe. Can be slippery hiking... I had hiking sticks. Take your time and enjoy nature at its best.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Bring bug spray!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Take bus #5 from Ala Moana Center to Manoa Valley. At the end of the line (@25 min) walk maybe 1/4 mile to the Visitor Center. If you forget bug spray, the welcome center sells some wipe things that worked brilliantly. Wear good shoes, there's lots of smaller trails to explore but it can get muddy & slippery.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lyon Arboretum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This is a hidden gem of Honolulu. Drive to the end of Manoa Valley, past the parking lot for Manoa Falls and continue to the end of the road, up the hill. Part of the University of Hawai'i, this is the only university botanic garden located in a tropical rainforest. There are almost 200 acres of tropical plants, forests, hiking and gardens to explore. Great for kids, too!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We just happened to see this after hiking Manoa Falls. We enjoyed the arboretum for it's spectacular flower specimans as well as it's local flora. It helped answer our questions about the types of flora we saw all over the island. It was very quiet here too, which we loved. I highly recommend at least a few minutes of your time here.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyon Arboretum also viewed

 

Been to Lyon Arboretum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lyon Arboretum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.