We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic Island Exercise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Moana Beach Park

Ala Moana Beach Park
1201 Ala Moana Blvd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
(808) 768-3003
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$208*
and up
Honolulu History and Culture Segway Tour
Ranked #36 of 281 things to do in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This gentle, protected beach has coarse sand and is ideal for swimming and water play.
Ennis, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Magic Island Exercise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We usually go here several times per vacation, as this is a good place to walk. There are benches under shade trees, bbq grills, and a walking path. Sometimes we get Wok food from the mall across the street and picnic on the grass here. This past trip, I watched turtles swim while I perched on a retaining wall above. It was wonderful!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    449
    389
    110
    22
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I love this park, it's very well kept and post card perfect. Love to run there in the mornings. Great for swimming or a cookout, plenty of space to choose where you want to locate.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun for the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I truly wish our son had been with us on this visit. This beach was great. Not too busy just the right amount of locals and travlerers so you don't feel out of place. Unlike the north shore where the locals have this sense of entitlement that they don't want you there even tho you are the reason the economy is flourishing, I mean come on. If I haven't said a word to you then why do you need to stare at me like im a punk? Totally avoid the overrated north shore and stick to this park!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
598 reviews
203 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“Nice Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I guess you would say this is at the western end of Waikiki Beach. It is a nice beach and can. Be quieter than the rest of the beach area. The water is usually calm and there is an area for snoekeling. It is located past the harbor and mall traveling west. Great food vendors in the area.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short Walk from Ala Moana Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Weather was absolutely beautiful. Nice area for smaller kids, didn't have huge waves to contend with or large crowds of people.
Nearby park seemed comfortable with shade, but there were a lot of homeless people hanging around and sleeping.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ala Moana Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Ala Moana Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ala Moana Beach Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.