We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crowd surfing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Beach

Waikiki Beach
Kalakaua Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$187*
and up
Honolulu History and Culture Segway Tour
Ranked #29 of 124 Attractions in Honolulu
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Surfing, Walking, Dining, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oahu's most popular beach.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Crowd surfing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Waikiki beach is an iconic landmark in
Honolulu. The waves are gentle here and the sand is fine. It's also one of the most crowded beaches you will find anywhere. If you want peace and quiet you won't it here. This is a city beach and backed by the high density high rise city of Honolulu. Maybe once long ago it had the laid back Hawaiin vibe but now it's frantic and to find a space you need to surf the crowd before catching the waves.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,962 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,726
    1,271
    721
    175
    69
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Gotta go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

On our recent cruise to Hawaii, we had the chance to visit Waikiki in the evening and night, after our day-long visit to Pearl (which we enjoyed immensely . We took a cab to the Outrigger and Duke’s. We first strolled the beach and watched the surfers and beach goers; there was an incredible sunset to view as well. Later we enjoyed a few Mai tais at Dukes. Later we crossed the street and did a bit of shopping before making it back in time for our departure - overall a wonderful day. Waikiki offers it all to any type of traveler...great beach, family areas, shops (upscale and souvenier), entertainment, food..go and enjoy it all. We only wish we had more time here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Like being on a movie set!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Beautiful, white sand beach, vibrant blue sky and a never ending show all rolled into one! Best beach ever! So much to see & experience, day after day. Don't miss it!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“waikiki beach and the homeless”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Waikiki Beach is as beautiful as you would expect, beautiful clear water with fish swimming at your feet, wonderful sand, with alot of families, couples, singles lounging in the sun. All that beauty in one place and then there is the homeless folks, on every bench, laying on the sidewalks, with all their life savings in a cart or piled up next to "their spot". They don't pander to aggressively, yet, there they are, taking any and all shaded areas, trying to stay cool. In the mornings you can walk down the strip and they will be full blown showering, soap, shampoo, just like you and I do in our hotel room, but, in the showers on the street, meant for folks to get the rinsed off after being in the water. The city has wonderful covered areas, with tables and benches, designed to allow tourists to cool off for a few minutes between sunnings, yet these areas are filled with homeless folks, and the areas are disgusting inside, stinky and sweaty. I would not walk into these covered areas, no way no how, they are "claimed by the homeless" and those folk are violent, daily I saw altercations between homeless people and the police would show up and arrest someone or at least split the up.
So, Waikiki is beautiful naturally, but very sad socially, be prepared if your visit...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Dissapointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our family was very disappointed, especially after the beautiful beaches in Maui. After walking through hurdles of people, the sand under the water was unwalkable, with sharp shells and rocks digging at our feet. My mother found a small section which was OK, but it was completely crowded and shallow.

In Honolulu, go to a nicer beach or book a hotel with a pool.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waikiki Beach also viewed

 

Been to Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.