We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting cocktail lounge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lewers Lounge

Lewers Lounge
2199 Kalia Rd, at Halekulani Hotel, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1936
808-923-2311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 1,796 Restaurants in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Inviting cocktail lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Beautifully decorated lounge at HAlekulani with musical goups and pianists every evening. Crafted cocktails by famous bar man Dale DeGroff. A great place to unwind and end the day.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    7
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“A lovely end to our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

It was the last night of our 3 weeks in Hawaii and we'd had a disappointing dinner at Chef Mavro so we headed for Lewers Lounge for a drink and some nibblies and to listen to some quiet music. We'd popped our heads in about 2 weeks earlier following dinner at La Mer in the hotel and it looked like a perfect place for us but, that night we'd already had plenty to eat and drink.
At around 8.45, there were only 2 other couples in the main room and a larger group in the room to the side. Maggie Herron was singing and playing piano as we walked in but gave us a smile and there was a wave from Rocky Holmes whilst waiting for his cue for saxophone accompaniment. We found a table which allowed us to see both of them (many tables don't) and sat on a comfortable couch and armchair.
The service was attentive and friendly and the barman highly experienced after a long time at the hotel. They serve an excellent and large martini and I ended up having 3 of them. We were enjoying ourselves and didn't want to leave and the waitress happily topped up the plates of nuts and chocolate/orange sticks which were provided with the drinks. My wife had a "dark and stormy" and 2 "lost passions". The cocktail prices were a little higher than we had been paying at restaurants in Hawaii but still way lower than Australian hotel prices. $14 for a very large and perfect martini is so cheap.
Maggie and Rocky are an accomplished duo (Rocky also plays flute and clarinet) and their versions of Joni Mitchell's "Woodstock" and "Be cool" were excellent. Maggie's voice is deep and sultry and I was reminded of Eliane Elias. At the end of a couple of their sets, they both came over separately for a chat. We were there for the music so the main room was ideal for us and we could still converse quietly during each set. However, a few larger groups arrived later and the side room provides an opportunity for louder conservation with the music in the background. As the crowd built up, more staff arrived so the service remained impeccable throughout. It was a lovely way to end our trip and we'll be back there when we return to Hawaii next year.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Boring, old and tired!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Not really a fan of this lady who does the vocal and the piano here. She's quite boring (made me sleepy). She is not a jazz or blues singer. Wasn't really friendly either! I am used to listening raw and pure jazz or blues music. This one doesn't even come close to playing out in New Orleans! Also, the most expensive place to have your vino. Living overseas half of my life gives me that great experienced when it comes to live entertainments. I'd say NO to this one!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Tops for Jazz”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Outstanding, intimate setting for straight-ahead jazz, the best in Honolulu. Drinks are well made and the atmosphere is pure bliss for relaxing and enjoying friends and music.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Owner's Lounge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Great place to get a drink at a good price and watch the fireworks on Friday nights. Nice big balcony and they have a pool table and TV and really a good place to go relax for a few.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lewers Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Lewers Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lewers Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.