We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai food experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bangkok Chef - Manoa Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bangkok Chef - Manoa Restaurant
2955 E. Manoa Rd., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96822
808.988.0212
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #627 of 1,945 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
roseburg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Thai food experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went to try Bankok Chef with my family. They only give you take out containers. You can eat there if you want. Pretty good portions and tastes ok. I dod not like the red bean tapioca.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashland, Oregon, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

4 of us just had dinner there - including tax and two deserts for $35.... With tons of food to take home. The pad Thai tastes fabulous and somehow-(unlike most other erosions of the dish including a number in Thailand) it isn't overly oily. Just perfection. They now offer a variety of unusually flavored tapioca puddings - taro, Thai iced tea, green tea, etc - but their winning offer seems a Angola ice cream on sticky rice....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very popular in Manoa with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We've had many dishes from this Thai restaurant tucked away in a mini mini mall just past Manoa Marketplace. Everything we've eaten was very good. Try their pad thai, panang, or summer rolls...very yummy. I suggest calling in your order if you're in a rush because they're always crowded.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great sometimes; not quite as good at other times.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Bangkok Chef in Manoa has become a "go-to" restaurant in the Manoa Valley for residents of the valley and its surrounding neighborhoods. (As quaint as the original Nu'uanu location is, there are some of us who never felt the need to fight for parking and go into the converted garage even though friends and family sang its praises.) The Manoa location has a shared parking lot and you can find parking within a block if the lot is full. Seating at small tables is available for around 25-30 customers though it is sometimes difficult to get a table; at least half of the business appears to be take-out for busy families. Orders for both dine-in and take-out are taken at the counter and phone orders are accepted. Food is delivered to the table or your name is called to pick up your take-out order. Menu selection is wide and varied and the prices are reasonable: $8-$10 on average.

We somehow ended up eating here 5 times in 14 days (by default because we were so busy during the holidays). We hadn't been for quite a while and got the best Thai food we'd had in a long time on our first visit back. The food can be AMAZING sometimes and not as good the next. The quantity of ingredients in any given dish changes also. There was a nice balance of chicken, carrots and onions in the yellow chicken curry on our first visit, and an overwhelming amount of onions with very little chicken and carrots on our 5th visit. That same type of change happened with the ginger chicken with green beans, and pad thai. The summer rolls and crispy noodles were more consistent in quality. Maybe the day of the week or delivery schedule makes a difference in what's put into the dishes. White rice comes with most of the plate lunch/dinner items but you can order brown or sticky rice for an additional fee. There are also a la carte menu items. If you choose to forgo a soda fountain or bottled drink, you can get regular chilled water from the fountain --- but, they give you a teeny, tiny paper cup to use.

First-timers need to study the menu board behind the counter or pick up a paper menu next to the cash register. Checking out the menu on the website also helps. Counter staff will assist you in making choices, if needed.

When it's good, it's incredibly good -- which is most of the time! But when it isn't, it's just average.

Oh, it looks like they just opened their Nimitz restaurant! We'll try that next.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bangkok Chef - Manoa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bangkok Chef - Manoa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bangkok Chef - Manoa Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.