We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service could improve...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Japengo Waikiki

Japengo Waikiki
2424 Kalakaua Ave, Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort & Spa Ewa Tower 3F, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Mililani - Waipio - Melemanu)
808-923-1234
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Japengo Waikiki is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #160 of 1,940 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Mililani - Waipio - Melemanu
Cross street: Uluniu
Blantyre, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great food, service could improve...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

My partner & I dined here having seen great reviews on Tripadvisor. Easy to book with Opentable link. Food was great - my partner had tasting menu and I ordered sushi and we shared. Good cocktail and wine list. Slight issue with service as we were seated next to a serving table which was regularly loaded with other diners' leftovers for 20 mins until I asked for it to be cleared. We also felt rushed as courses arrived too promptly. This is not a fast food restaurant, the food is great and we'd like to savour it!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    19
    5
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice creative Japanese- American”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Really enjoyed our dinner. At $150 for two, including one drink, this was really nice. Staff was very helpful, menu had many choices. Steak , a filet, at $44 had LOTS of flavor and fat. The Asian seafood soup was delightful. Bly negative: they forgot to offer / ask / suggest the 15% automatic discount for Hyatt gold members; they are one of two restaurants inside the Hyatt Regency Waikiki, in Honolulu. Still a memorable nice dinner. Try it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Better than excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Stayed at the Hyatt with my girlfriend in 2013. We received a discount coupon with our package deal. We decided to eat here on the first night. The prices were expensive but when our food came out it was FANTASTIC! To this day we still talk about it and believe that it may be one of the best meals we have had! I would recommend everyone try this Japanese food but do try and use the coupon! We ordered the following;
Macadamia Shrimp
Japengo fried chicken
Garlic angus steak
Emperors Sirloin
Chocolate lava cake
Banana Lumpia

We will eat here again! Thank you!

P. Martini
Sydney, Australia

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“From Japan, to Japengo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We decided we wanted Japanese food, shortly after arriving form Tokyo, so go figure. However, no regrets dining a couple of times at Japengo (and getting their delicious chicken served at the pool).

The Scallop Butter Yaki was a favourite and we had it both nights, with superb Miso Glazed Salmon perfectly complementing the Sirloin steak, sating our hunger and jetlag!.
Grilled Kona Lobster Misoshiru and sushi with wine made for a gratifying light dinner after a whole day shopping.

A great mix of local ingredients with Japanese quality and taste, and other than price (if you compare locally; coming from Tokyo, everything looked reasonable) you really can't ask for much more. It's Japanese fare but Hawaiian taste ;)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not a good night!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

The restaurant was recommended by friends of friends as a high-end Asian fusion. Unfortunately only the prices are high-end. Food was very disappointing. My husband and I ordered the scallops as appetizers which were not seared so texture was odd. Our grilled salmon was not edible due to the salt content of the glaze. We sent it back. The management was very gracious about it, offered to prepare another one, but we declined. We were not charged for it. One of our party of four ordered the suggested tasting menu at $55. She was quite satisfied except that she had to ask several times for the dessert and the additional bottle of wine we requested arrived so late that we sent it back. The fourth person ordered several appetizers (only one of which was a fish dish). All very average. Maybe a bad night! Not sure that I would return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japengo Waikiki also viewed

 

Been to Japengo Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Japengo Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.