We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This resort is across the street from the famous Waikiki Beach. The location can't be beat!
The rooms are big, and well furnished, but the beds were not so comfortable. The bathroom could use some updating. We had a partial ocean view, and it was just fine. There are restaurants and many shops at this resort, including two ABC stores and fine clothing shops.
Staff were very friendly. Housekeeping did a nice job cleaning the room every morning. The best were the valet guys!
What makes this resort so nice is most definitely the location. Step outside of the resort, and you are right at beach near the Duke statue. The resort let's you take chairs and towels, free of charge. The beach is a great place to people watch. In fact, the whole strip is! The street is filled with high end shops.....COACH, Tory Burch, Louis Vuitton, Harry Winston, etc... You will also find stores like H&M and many souvenir shops. There are restaurants on the strip as well. Many are located inside the hotels. The beach, shops and restaurants are what it's all about on Waikiki Beach!
I would recommend this resort to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your visit, our location, and all the area amenities. We are refreshing the guestrooms and hope that you will visit again and that you will be pleased with the changes.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,007
    1,099
    463
    141
    98
See reviews for
775
1,148
101
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
S.E. PA
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

There are many hotels in Waikiki and I recommend you stay at the Hyatt Regency. There are many things they do very well which will make your stay enjoyable.

Location: Located across the street from the beach in Waikiki the hotel the hotel affords some of the best views of Waikiki, the ocean, and Honolulu. Great location in town far enough away from the busier shopping district but close enough to walk. Plenty of great restaurants with a few minute walk.

Staff: The team at the hotel is some of the best I’ve run into in my 20 years of global travel. Starting with Junko at check-in, everyone I interacted with was friendly, helpful, and did what they could to assist my family. The day and evening staff at the Regency Club engaged everyone and were very friendly making us feel at home. After a long day in traffic visiting the North shore, the hotel made my daughter’s 16th birthday exceptionally happy with a lovely cake and card. Thanks to Mark-Thomas Akamine for following up with us during our visit.

Facilities: The hotel consists of two towers, Ewa to the left and Diamond facing toward Diamond Head. Ewa is being remodeled and you may want to request a room in Diamond. Each tower has 39 floors. I believe every room has a small deck with table and chairs. It’s nice to step out and enjoy the view. Joining the towers are a 4-story building that contains restaurants, retail (clothing & ABC stores), car rental, tour companies, the lobby, and the Regency Club. I mentioned the remodeling - that’s good news as the bathrooms in Diamond tower rooms are in need of a refresh. That’s the one complaint I have is that the older toilets and showers are noisy and you can hear when guests in the neighboring room uses the facilities. The furniture in our room was updated. The bed and bedding were very comfortable and clean. There was very little noise from the AC unit in the wall. The pool is nice although there are a lot of chairs around the pool. It can get crowded later in the afternoon when people begin to return from their activities. There is a bar right at the pool and you can easily order drinks and food delivered to your chair. Service here is quick. The whirlpool is nice and very large. Rooms are equipped with a refrigerator. Hotel: You may want to clean the windows behind check-in.

Other: There is a weekly farmers market on the ground floor of the “mall” joining the towers. Make time to visit as the sweets and fresh pineapple are terrific. Keep in mind Hyatt plays host to a number of JAL tour groups so it can be very busy. Many of the tour groups spend the day sightseeing so the pool and lobby are less active during the day.

Tip #1: Ask for a high floor. First, it's quieter and the higher rooms help diminish what traffic and street noise there is. Second, it improves the view. Call a few days before your arrival and reiterate your request. Be advised the hotel cannot honor all room type requests.

Tip #2: Do go to Waikiki beach to swim and surf. Some people are turned off by the crowds. Go. The water is warm, clean and safe to swim. There is a surfboard rental location on the corner behind the hotel (and at the beach). The experience is unique and the surf is some of the easiest in which to learn. Grab some towels at the hotel, leave the valuables in the room and head over.

Tip #3: Call Charley’s taxi for a flat rate $29 ride to/from the airport. Rent a car from Budget in the hotel for just the days you need a car. Concentrate your distant activities into consecutive days. This will save you time and aggravation with a rental car at the airport and it saved us a few dollars.

Tip #4: There are some great restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel. Do venture out and use TripAdvisor to guide you.

Tip #5: If you are a runner, run along the sidewalk heading towards Diamond Head (Kalakua Ave) to Coconut to Diamond Head Road. There is a sidewalk the entire run and the views are great. The route passes Diamond Head Beach State Park and plenty of million dollar homes.

Room Tip: While there is construction on the Ewa tower, high room in the Diamond tower.
See more room tips
Green Features: They do a good job recycling. They have containers in the room and throughout the hotel.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay and sharing so many insightful suggestions for both our guests and visitors to the area. We are happy that you had such a wonderful visit and have shared your comments with our Regency Club staff and Mark in the front office.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel had a great staff. They were very friendly and helpful. The Swim Pub was very nice with a great view of the ocean. The hotel has a great location to many shops, restaurants, and the ocean is right across the street. Our stay was great! We even were able to rent a car at the hotel(excluding pickup and drop off ). The restaurants at the hotel had good food and priced right. We had a buffet breakfast included in our package, and it was delicious and handy before venturing out for the days excursions.

Room Tip: Do not stay by the elevators, they are noisy.
See more room tips
Green Features: Did not notice. They may have had practices in place, but am not sure what they were.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the great review. We are pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay and we've shared your compliments with our SWIM and SHOR associates. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Argentina, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We traveled from australia and was looking for a beach front property and this one really satisfied that requirement, i enjoyed the gym and the ocean view did not like the teenagers that were partying next door. Requested a room change and the front desk was less than accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are sorry to read that there were issues with your neighbors that made your stay less than satisfactory. We have shared your post with the Front Desk for further discussion in their department. Usually, noise complaints are an issue handled by our security team. We will be sure to share your comments with them as well.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had rented a house on Ewa beach for the first 5 nights of our vacation but was unable to get it for the last night so we switched to this hotel. It was beautiful, the staff was super friendly and helpful and it was the perfect way to end our stay on Oahu. Our room was on the 20th floor, oceanview that was an upgrade and we will never be able to go back. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad we were a part of your memorable trip to the island. We thank you for all the kind remarks and will be sure to share them with our associates.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Wonderful hotel, fabulous customer service & wonderful room. We had breakfast on the terrace which was lovely every morning, I liked the omelette station. Our rooms were cleaned every day & nothing was too much trouble. There was a farmers market which was great & we thoroughly enjoyed. Location was also fantastic 10 out of 10!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for the great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspeth, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel was a combination of a indoor hotel and outdoor. In some areas of the hotel, like near the pool, it was open skies and in other places, like the shopping center in the hotel, the area had a roof. The hotel was big, almost massive but it was a great hotel, clean, great staff and great food.

Across the street from the hotel was a beach, which had people sunbathing on it from dawn until dusk.......This was my first taste of Hawaii and I loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the magnificence and beauty of Hawaii at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa. Our welcoming Waikiki hotel offers the ultimate combination of personalized service, outstanding amenities and a perfect location close to all that embodies our island. Stroll to such landmarks as Diamond Head, Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium from our spectacular setting fronting Waikiki Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.