We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #33 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed as a family including 2 small children, for this reason the hotel is a great choice for close proximity to many places around Honolulu. The Beach is literally across the road, as is the Duke Statue and the trolley stop, the International Market Place (soon to close), the Food Pantry (supermarket) are all within a short walk.

The front desk is unfortunately located one flight up, so stairs and an escalator are really the only options aside from a small lift that is designated for the inhouse Beauty Spa.

There are beautiful exotic birds in the lobby that are named and quite an attraction for guests. There was a long queue at checkin but this was due to our arrival on a Roberts Hawaii transfer shuttle which does take a lot of passengers directly after their flights in from Australia.
To ease the wait we were handed bottles of water and there is a decanter of chilled punch at the counter which was a hit with the kids!

Luckily for us our room was ready which I really appreciated as checkin is not till 3:00 , however the pool is a great place to relax if the room is not ready which is what our friends did.
Happy Hour poolside is 4-6 pm and Barbara made our visit very memorable with her attentive service.

We stayed on the 15th floor 1504 in the Ewa tower- the view was great- part city and part ocean- very pretty. Try to avoid rooms near the elevator- our friends were near one and apparently it was very loud- especially at night.

The rooms are adequate, a good size bathroom - we had a cot as well as a single bed in the room along with the 2 double beds as my husband in 6'ft 7.

Breakfast is a buffet which had a great choice of foods - the omlette chef is amazing- Dale had five pans on the go and flipped each one with skill while still holding a polite conversation.
Don't be put off by the queue-its worth the wait. Spinach, Green onion, salmon and swiss cheese.

There is a farmers market Thursday evening along with music - a great experience. The waterfall and orchids in the courtyard are beautiful and really add to the charm and elegance of this hotel.
I would stay again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lift/elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your visit and especially glad that you liked our new Farmers Market. You must have been at the first one which according to many is a huge success. We've made certain to share your compliments with our team especially Dale and Barbara. We hope to serve you again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    915
    1,016
    425
    129
    88
See reviews for
698
1072
92
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (600)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a four night stay at the Hyatt after spending eight nights in Kauai. We booked partial sea view rooms and they were definitely partial and not worth the extra. They were also disabled rooms and were a little bit jaded and perhaps could do with a new lick of paint and new tiling in the bathroom. There was very little wardrobe space (which was in the bathroom which seemed a bit odd) and drawer space was limited. For us it wasn't a problem as we were only there a few days but if you had packed for a fortnight you wouldn't have been able to unpack all your case. Like all big chain hotels, desk staff were pleasant and a bit cool but I guess that's what we expected. The restaurants were also quite expensive so we only had one meal there.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the partial sea view, it really isn't worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for providing your feedback from your stay. We do regret that you were unhappy with your experiences at our hotel. We have noted your comments regarding the cool response at check-in and the space for clothes in the room. We have shared all with our with our management team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Waited in line to check in, room wasn't ready. Told to come back in an hour. We were early, 2:00 instead of 3:00. Came back in an hour, really long line. Waited again, went thru entire check in process again. This time comped a bottle of champagne for the double wait.

Finally made it to our room, Suprise right next to the elevator.

Back down to the desk, waited again. Told all they had was a room with two doubles, I'm 6 ft, my husband 6'2. Double beds are too short. Tried explains that to the desk clerk, he told me nothing was available, told me that all the rooms in my "category" were sold out do to construction there were only a limited number of rooms in my "category". Then he told me he wasn't going to upgrade me to a room I didn't pay for and make someone else stay in our category of room. That comment pissed me off. Sorry I was just trying to get a bed that my feet wouldn't hang over the bed. He finally agreed to move us to a king room, but it wouldn't be ready until three days into our stay. He did wave the resort fee.

Now I'm pissed off, my beds to short and the bathroom vanity/ sink are so low they hit just above my knees. Had to get down on my knees to brush my teeth.

Small shower, very low toilet, hard to move around in the shower toilet are.

Room was good sized, nice flat screen tv with a box to plug in cameras and such.

Small fridge, room safe, one chair and a desk.

Day two, I'm still stewing over my front desk fiasco. Decided to talk to manager, he was very nice, made me feel better anyway.

Pool area is bigger than I thought, nice padded chairs, pool attendants gives out towels and chairs if you want to take them to the beach.

The BEST part of this hotel is the LOCATION. it just can't be beat. Right in the middle of everything.

Can't comment on the food here since we always ate off site. There was always a line for the breakfast buffet.

The hotel is dated, but still has a very nice lobby, and it appears they are updating the rooms.

The day of check out I found holes in my sheets. Kinda funny that the Hyatt Regency would put sheets on a bed with holes in it.

I would stay here again and recommend because the location is great and who stays in your room anyway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are sorry to read about your front desk experiences. Your comments about check in and the manager who made things better have been forwarded to the Front Desk supervisor for further review. We have also noted your comments regarding the bathroom and bedroom and they have been shared with our housekeeping team. We are glad that you enjoyed our location and would consider visiting us again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

was excellent service with in room dining .. excellent staff... and good attractions... superb rooms with fully clean and furnished materials... good location but expensive rates.. good food... and family place.. safe..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel was in a super location right across the road from Waikiki Beach. There were lots of shops and super restaurants close by.
We had a room on the 29th floor in the Diamond Head tower. It was very high up, however the lifts were very fast and we never had to wait for one. It was a city view room, the view was nice even though you couldn't see the ocean. The room was a great size and was always cleaned extremely well every day.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
The pool area had a fantastic view over the beach. There were multiple shops within the hotel which was handy to have.
I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone planning on visiting Honolulu.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in early November 2013. We stayed on the 39th floor of the Ewa Tower in a City View room - from which we could see just see the ocean, so the view was pretty good!

Rooms are dated and in need of an upgrade, however I was surprised at how big the room was. Our room was also very clean when we arrived and housekeeping did a good job in keeping it that way.

We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that.

The hotel is busy but we had no problem in long wait times for elevators. Our only hiccup was our room being right next to the elevator - and the previous comments are correct, the noise is quite loud. We were given this room despite the fact that I had specifically asked to be away from the elevators due to the noise. We were offered a room change after 2 nights and also a complimentary bottle of champagne due to the mix up.

You can't beat the location of this hotel - directly across from the Duke statue, we caught TheBus everywhere and it was cheap and very easy. We had a very cheap deal which is why we stayed at this hotel - given that we didn't spend very much time in our room as we were busy enjoying Waikiki, the fact that the decor is dated didn't worry me too much and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators if you're a light sleeper
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your visit. We do regret that you were unable to get the room you wanted but we are glad to read that the front desk team did try to help as much as they were able to make the situation better. We will share your comments and we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Recent 5 night stay in an ocean front room in the Diamond Head tower. As has been mentioned many times the views from these rooms is wonderful. Based on other reviews we knew the rooms were going to be dated but the old shower over bath with the shower curtain and the tiny area it was contained in was still a shock. This said understand that the rooms are in progress of being renovated and due to the location of this hotel will return when they are completed. They need to rethink the environmental cut off with the air conditioning or improve the air flow as the afternoon sun beating down on the windows makes it non effective. The location is what you pay for in this hotel as it is within easy stroll of the attractions and shops. Utilised the club lounge for breakfast and felt it could do with a bit more variety on the menu. Perhaps even an additional staff member to remove the crockery etc and food scraps before the birds swoop in. There is noise from neighbouring rooms but we were lucky and had relatively quiet neighbours only one loud late night but I got revenge the next morning on my 6am jog... after that no problem.
Appears to be a very popular hotel for the Asian tourists with numerous weddings on a daily basis which was entertaining however would prefer if they learnt some etiquette at breakfast and lining up for the lifts. Staff were friendly and helpful we did not use the tour desk so no comment there and as mentioned would stay again once I know the place has been renovated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We value all of your comments and have shared them with our team, in particular your remarks regarding the afternoon sunshine. We do regret that the room wasn't cool enough for you and we will discuss ways to make some changes. We will also share your comments regarding breakfast at SHOR. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the magnificence and beauty of Hawaii at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa. Our welcoming Waikiki hotel offers the ultimate combination of personalized service, outstanding amenities and a perfect location close to all that embodies our island. Stroll to such landmarks as Diamond Head, Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium from our spectacular setting fronting Waikiki Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.