We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place if you want to stay in Waikiki” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #34 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
NJ
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good place if you want to stay in Waikiki”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We knew Waikiki was not our kind of place but chose to stay here a few days of our vacation due to its proximity to things we wanted to see. Were torn between Hyatt Place and Regency but chose the Regency as it was across the street from the beach, gave you free beach chairs etc and we knew it would have good service. Our activities included a half day Roberts tour of Pearl Harbor ( Really difficult to get your own tickets these days), a TwoGoods kayak tour to the Mokes(Great trip), and a self guided ( Thanks to concierge Mike) hiking tour of Diamond head, Maunawilli Falls, Manoa , etc Roberts and Two Goods pick you up at the Hyatt which was very convenient as driving in Honolulu is not easy. The rooms in our Diamond wing floor 30 were not that great. Very little drawer space, had to live out of our suitcase, and not at all tropical.
We were also placed near a very loud, busy, and quite slow elevator. If you stay here please request to be away from elevator and in an updated room. I've been told there are some.
There is self parking which we appreciated. $30 a day. The location is good to walk to many restaurants. I recommend going west towards Hilton as not many blocks away to the east there are homeless people in the beach pavilions. Best to stay by beach so I wouldn't recommend the Hyatt Place. Shor and Swim restaurants were excellent at the Hyatt. Breakfast starts at 5AM, a plus for those of us with tours. You could have ala carte or buffet. We also appreciated the free boarding pass service and scales to weigh luggage. Again this is a good place to stay if you want to be in Waikiki.

Room Tip: away from elevator updated
See more room tips
Green Features: have recycle trash cans Don't know anything else
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your visit and we will certainly share your comments, especially with Mark. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    1,058
    442
    133
    94
See reviews for
744
1104
95
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Great location in the heart of Waikiki but that's all. Stayed here for 5 nights with family. When you enter the hotel looks more like a mini shopping centre…..didn’t feel as if we were staying in a hotel. Check-in was efficient and very to the point, not overly hospitable.

Our room and bathroom looked dated and was really in need of updating , also was smaller than I expected.

The pool was very basic and overlooks Waikiki beach which you’ll need to cross the very busy Kalakaua Avenue to get to the beach.

Buffet breakfast at the Shor restaurant was just ok and staff was friendly

Overall I wasn't that impressed, I expected the Hyatt to be much better, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We do regret that your stay was not satisfactory and we have shared your remarks with our team. While we cannot change some features, such as the location of the hotel, we are able to address other comments, the most important being service. Your review will be read and discussed closely by management.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Although our rooms weren't ready and we had three VERY tired children who just wanted to have a shower after a 10 hour flight and we werent checked in properly, we werent told about any of the services available to us at all so didnt realise we were entiiled to alot of discounts as gold card members( the girl on the desk was new and just learning and made quite a few mistakes) we were prepared for a battle but were pleasantly suprised when we arrived back at 3pm to find our rooms interconnecting which we requested, large, clean and totally spotless. The queues for breakfast were long but moved fast, the service for towels and beach chairs was excellent and needs to be promoted more and would be another reason I come back to this hotel, very handy service. I loved it here, yes the rooms are a little dated but are very clean well stocked large and have heaps of space for shopping. The hotel staff were all amazing and after dealing with security on one occassion we are extremely grateful for their diligence in such a delicate situation. We will be staying here again. Thank you Mahalo!

Room Tip: We were on the 30th floor away from the elevators and had NO NOISE and slept very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for this insightful review. We are glad that you had an enjoyable visit and your comments have been shared with all of our staff. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was my fourth time staying in this hotel and it has been upgraded since my first stay in 2010. The rooms still retain their "tropical" feel, but are modern. The bathrooms could use an update, but are modern and have nice appointments and island decor. The rooms are huge and rooms have balconies. Rooms with a view are a plus as this hotel is right on Waikiki. The breakfast is excellent out on the patio with views of the ocean and the staff always greeted you by name once you had been once. The check in staff was also top notch and made you feel special. The pool area has been remodeled and has towels available for the beach should you wish to cross the street to the ocean. Although the hotel is a little older, it has been updated and is a great choice for Waikiki.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for all the kind remarks. We have shared your comments with all of our staff. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We checked in to the Hyatt Regency on the 24th July 2013 for a period of 11 days with my 3 teenage children and spouse. We had booked 2 partial ocean view rooms and were delighted upon check in to be upgraded to 2 full ocean view rooms on the 25th floor, away from the elevators and in a corner suite. The view of the ocean and Wakiki was breathtaking. It was the perfect location, directly across the road from the beach and in the heart of the main strip.
However, the rooms are outdated and can do with a renovation.
The staff and service were outstanding and welcoming. Their warmth and kindness will always be treasured.
There was only the one pool in the resort which was small and always crowded, making it had to get a chair to lay down on.
The Japanese restaurant, Japengo was outstanding and a must for everyone to try we rated it 10/10. Coming from Australia the selection for buffet breakfast was a let down as there wasn't enough choice for healthy items. For instance they didn't offer cooked mushrooms, cooked tomatoes or gluten free sausages and the bacon looked very greasy. It would have also been nice to see freshly squeezed juice being offered.
All in all we had a wonderful time, we loved your warmth,service, culture and country and we thank you for making us feel at home. Hawaii and its people are heaven on earth.

Room Tip: ask for a corner suite away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased that overall you had an enjoyable visit at our property. We do regret that the buffet was not as you expected. We have shared these comments as well as the ones regarding your love of Japengo with our Food and Beverage director. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lookout Mountain, GA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

So my flight was delayed from LAX to HNL and what was suppose to be about an hour wait for my husband who was flying from ATL to HNL to meet me was about 6 hours. I called him from LAX and told him to go ahead to the hotel and check in and I would just follow later in a cab. This turned out to be a very long wait for him in the hotel lobby. Hyatt in the spirit of safely would not let him check in due to not being listed on the reservation. If I had realized this (I was told later) I could have called ahead and had him placed on the reservation. They told him when he attempted to check in that even if he had been on the reservation he would not have been allowed to check in. Conflicting info here. Now bear in mind we had stayed at this hotel last year but that didn't matter. I am glad for the Hyatt being safety conscious, but when I arrived around 8pm I saw my husband asleep on one of the hard wooden benched in the lobby. I felt so bad for him. After I successfully checked in we got to our room only to have a very noisy neighbor beside us. We were both pretty exhausted (especially my husband) so sleep came easily. We didn't eat here but being a Hyatt member were given a coupon for free pupu's at the Japengo restaurant. Easy taxi drop off and pick up under a covered drive and the conference center where I conducted a seminar is directly across the street and very convenient. The bed was comfy. It's still very hard to hear the reception staff due to the loud waterfall. Poor architectural planning. We stayed 2 nights when left for Maui!

Room Tip: an ocean view may mean a sliver of ocean and more street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for providing this detailed review. While we do not compromise guest safety as you have noted we did share your comments with both the front desk supervisor and the catering staff. We regret there seems to have been confusion in the information you were given regarding the check-in policy. We do apologize for that misunderstanding and for noise you experienced once in your room.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Location: Right in front of waikiki beach, 5 mins walk to apple shop/mall, 45min shuttle from in front of hotel to outlet malls, 10 min taxi to big shopping mall, close to restaurants (must try Dukes - googel it)
Price: little bit on the higher side but worth it. Amazing views, great pool, exceptional service,
- Breakfast: could be better but they cater for 100s of people
- Internet was reasonably fast
Would recommend!! The staff were super helpful.
Make sure you get a room with access to the executive lounge as you get a private concierge, evening food, drinks etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the magnificence and beauty of Hawaii at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa. Our welcoming Waikiki hotel offers the ultimate combination of personalized service, outstanding amenities and a perfect location close to all that embodies our island. Stroll to such landmarks as Diamond Head, Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium from our spectacular setting fronting Waikiki Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.