We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #33 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
bonkle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

this hotel was a gt stay after a rocky start we were delayed by 1 day onarrival has to speak to manager re room as balcony unable to open work being done outside so had to wait till next day for a room so this was 2 days lost a box of cookies offered then a $50 to use in hotel so accepted this as wanted to enjoy hols not be bothered with asking for compensation re room,We were not made aware that a daily charge of$12 97 would be charged for service ie sun lounger towels ph calls 1 hour international per stay this was on checkout also on back of room key which we did not read after all this I could reccommend the hotel for stayas room spacious and clean I would also like to reccommend the member of staff called Aka as he talked about the Hawaii culturetaught us to dance and make a lai he was very nice and patient should have a raise .

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view not request this
See more room tips
Green Features: have seperate bins in room for waste.are enviromentally friendly.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you met Aka and enjoyed spending time learning all that he has to teach. Aka and the cultural program are also a part of fees you referenced. We regret you were not more aware of the charges and will share your comments with our Front Desk team for further discussion.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,651 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    941
    1,048
    439
    132
    91
See reviews for
735
1093
93
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

From the moment we walked into the reception area at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki we were treated very well , As all the organisation had been done by Claudia from My Holiday Centre ,all the details that the company had promised ,happened. And the tours ,the "Roberts " organisation undertook were always on time and the drivers very knowledgable and professional. The hotel food was excellent as was the service. I definitely recommend this company to book with My Holiday Centre " and we will do again in the future.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a room with a view as we did and we weren't disappointed . We had a room overlooking...
See more room tips
Green Features: The hotel has the policy that if you don't want your room made up every day then you just have to let them know . We did that a few times but always had fresh towels .
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for including us in your review. We are pleased to read that we were a part of your wonderful holiday. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We booked one of the 'my Hawaii' deals you see advertised in the paper and we got such an awesome deal for flights, accomm, transfers, tours and breakfast daily we honestly werent expecting much and we couldn't have been more surprised and happy with just how good this deal was. The Hyatt Regency was AWESOME! I think it has the best location in waikiki, right accross the road from the spectacular beach and right in the middle of loads of good shopping and eateries. We were so lucky and got upgraded to an ocean view room, im not sure id be as happy if we didnt get that...the view was amazing, We travelled with our 18 month old and they were so good, gave us a cot in our room and our parents room (for the odd sleepover) and even gave her a welcome gift with beach toys etc.... they were so good.

Hawaiian airlines were good and the roberts transfer and tour company could not be faulted.

it was honestly the best family holiday ever!!

Room Tip: whatever you do make sure you get an ocran view room...either pay the extra up front or beg when you...
See more room tips
Green Features: water efficient showers and air con turns off when the balcony door is open which is quite energy efficient.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad to have been a part of one of your best vacations. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Staff was extremely helpful, polite, and friendly making our stay a great experience. The pool area is great with a economical poolside service restaurant. The pool area will loan you complimentary beach chairs and boogie boards for the beach. However, it is first come first serve so get their early to ensure that you get what you need. The balcony gave us a great view of the beach which is directly across the street. The management quickly addressed a booking issue and made our stay a great one. Onsite Rental car facility is extremely convenient. We were touring the island most of the time so we didn't get to enjoy too much of the hotel but thoroughly enjoyed what we did.

Room Tip: Our room was low enough on the beach side that we could actually see the peoples faces and take in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to read that your experience with us was so positive. We will share your comments with our staff.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Had 10 days here in March. Although the foyers were under construction & the buildings & bathrooms were a bit old, the feel & service of Hawaii were present. The rooms were spacious & kept up to a Hyatt Regency standard. Breakfast was great, as were the restaurants in the hotel.
Views from the higher floors magnificent. Position for Waikiki beach, shopping & restaurants etc were very central, without being too hectic.
Overall a good choice to stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have magnificent views- either building good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us online. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit with us. We will share your comments with our team. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

WE have just returned from our stay at the Hyatt Regency.
We up graded on our room to room 959 where we had a full ocean view.It was absolutely amazing.
The room itself was fantastic and really comfy beds.Tea and coffee facilities and bottled water in the fridge.
Breakfast was served in the hotel restaurant either buffet or table served,we found that it was really expensive so only stayed 2 days the rest of the time we went to "Eggs n Things" just a few minutes away and paid around $30 for Eggs Benedict and an Omelette.
There was entertainment in the hotel Hawaiian dancing and singing.
The location of the hotel was perfect.
All the staff were friendly and helpful.
Chrea was fantastic,she couldn't have been more helpful!

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade and get an Ocean view,it is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and have shared your compliments with Chrea's supervisor. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Hyatt sells itself on location, location, location!! and their name.
Fabulous location opposite the beach and central to everything with buses across the road.
Choose location ...OR ....modern....that is the decision whether to stay here.
This holiday was booked as a package so I was aware of the $25 daily resort fee additional to the daily room rate......excessive in my opinion.
The hotel states this entitles you to beach towels and chairs, wifi and hotel entertainment.
However, when i have stayed in other hotels this was included in the room rate.
We stayed in a city view room on 9th floor and had no trouble with lifts or noise.
Our room was large and clean with comfortable beds and small bathroom (shower over bath)
Breakfast queue was long at times, but moved fairly quickly and food was good.
I loved the ambience of this hotel, especially on the ground floor around the waterfall ,and
tables and chairs near the coffee shop. Plenty of shops to explore as well. A suggestion for the hotel....A whiteboard in foyer with daily activities or events on in waikiki. We missed a few activities as were not aware they were on that day.
Would I stay here again?? As much as I did enjoy my stay, I don't think I would. I would choose a hotel without daily resort fee. We were told by our agent it would be $18 daily, but were told by front desk it would be $25. Bear this is mind and reserve $$$.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the lifts. If you don't like any noise request city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for this detailed review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit but regret that you would not chose to visit again. We thank you for the suggestion regarding the white board. We do offer an in room guide for all of our guests that lists the daily events on property and off. It is now being re-designed and hopefully it will be easily recognized and used more by our guests.

We will share all of your compliments and criticisms with our staff for further review.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the magnificence and beauty of Hawaii at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa. Our welcoming Waikiki hotel offers the ultimate combination of personalized service, outstanding amenities and a perfect location close to all that embodies our island. Stroll to such landmarks as Diamond Head, Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium from our spectacular setting fronting Waikiki Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.