We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy...!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #36 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Noisy...!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We moved from the Hyatt Regency Resort & Spa, Maui to Waikiki. What a change... from tranquility to noise, even though we were on the 33rd floor.
The first thing we noticed the beds. It appeared that they hadn't been changed... A call to housekeeping promptly brought a staff member to the room, who changed the bed linen. She was a delight, but why did we need to call her in the first place?
Then, what was that noise that continued all night? Was it the A/C? No, was it the wind from being reasonably high? Maybe, but why could we hear the street below? It seemed, even though we weren't near the lift shafts, that the noise of the lifts was coming through the structure of the building... not just the noise of the cars, it seemed to include the noise of the motors, especially in the bath/dressing area. We thought we wouldn't bother the staff trying to change rooms as it was 'background noise', but was constant all night for the duration of our stay.
The toilet/bath/shower was similar to that at the Hyatt Regency in Maui, however in Waikiki it seemed older and rusty.
Breakfast was well organized, although it didn't seem to live up to breakfast at the Hyatt Regency in Maui. The view of the Waikiki beach was sort after by all breakfasting guests! This is one way of highlighting the great location of the Hyatt Regency Waikiki.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and for your dedication to the Hyatt brand. We regret you were not more pleased with your stay with us. The ambiance and hence the overall holiday one experiences at Waikiki and in Maui are different. Waikiki is a more cosmopolitan area offering shopping, restaurants and beach activities all day long. While our desire is that every guest enjoys their visit we also realize that the more subdued island of Maui may be preferred by some. We will share all of your room comments with our rooms manager for follow up regarding the cleanliness and wind noise. We value your feedback and thank you again for taking the time to share it with us.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    1,060
    444
    134
    94
See reviews for
746
1,106
95
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Recently spent 8 fantastic nights here. After arriving before check in due to Hotel Shuttle Times staff were helpful in ensuring our bags were secured while we roamed Waikiki. When we returned desk staff were friendly and pointed us in the direction of our lift. After arriving at our room 1608 Ewa Tower we were disappointed that after having paid for the upgraded Deluxe Ocean View Room our view was blocked by the Moana Surfrider Hotel. A room on or higher than level 25 should avoid this as it would be higher up. Breakfast bar was great and we loved the take out beat the queue option to return with breakfast to our room and enjoy the view we did have up Kalakaua and the ocean we could see from our balcony. Location is perfect. Right in the mix of the Waikiki action. The foyer is great with the Parrots out daily. Friendly staff. Room was clean upon check in with ample space, fridge, fast wifi and Housekeeping was high quality. Quiet room for sleep. Loved the Ice Machine on the floor near the lifts.

Room Tip: If you upgrade to a Deluxe Ocean View Room go for Ewan Tower higher than level 25.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are really pleased to read comments regarding the new Express Line for breakfast and that you enjoyed it so much. We will share all of your comments with our team. We hope you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Hyatt Regency is central to everything, the main shopping centre, the beach is across the road, bus stop across the road, fares are $2, the Hyatt has a swimming pool, gym, spa, & takes up to blocks of land & 3 levels of shopping.Be prepared to line up for breakfast,as many as 30 / 40 people @ a time, but it is very quick, great atmosphere, hotel service is exceptional, nothing is to much trouble, if contemplating a trip, ask for a room in the EWA Wing, facing the Ocean, we were on the 10th floor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 8 / 12th floor ( goes to about 30 ) in the EWA Wing, facing the Ocean, nice vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for the recommendation of the Ewa Tower location. It does offer some extraordinary views as does Diamond Head Tower. We hope that you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Location was excellent. Across the road is Waikiki beach and all ur high end shops are
On the same street.

The hotel was average, our room was on the seventh floor in ewa building we had partial
Ocean view which was excellent. Room was noisy kept hearing the toilet pipes which was annoying at times. There was one morning where they had a band playin on the ground floor lobby at 7am... was really annoying as we where tryin to get some sleep. I think their where a few complaints made as then they turned it down a few notches. We had comp breakfast but didn't go. Pool is average but why would u use the pool when u've got the beach right across the road. All in all hotel was good, not sure why they would charge the resort fee, i guess for future guest reading make use of free calls and drink ur bottled waters given :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We do regret the noise on the morning you mentioned. We have had only one event in the past that was early morning - it was a fundraiser performed by local school students as young as 8 who were raising money for nonprofits. The volunteers we are told had been on property preparing for the big event since 5 a.m. and had lost track of how early it was when they started setting up the sound system. Your comments have been shared with the committee working with the nonprofit and changes will be made re: noise level in the future. We do apologize for the early morning noise.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We booked through My Hawaii as they were able to provide the most competitive price for this hotel, My Hawaii's service was excellent and wouldn't hesitate to use them again. They noted that it was our Honeymoon and we even received an upgrade and bottle on Champers.

The hotel's location was excellent, directly across from the centre of Waikiki Beach, shops to the right of us and lovely walk to the left of us. Our room was incredibly spacious and the service was excellent. We wouldn't make any changes to what we'd done, it was an excellent holiday, all transfers went smoothly, couldn't fault a thing, will do the whole thing again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for including us in your review. We are pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable visit and we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Check inn was quick and friendly. We had to pay a resort fee of 25 US per night for the use of towels , free wife and some other things like free local call. You have to take it you can not refuse the resort fee. In my opinion a compleet rip off. For 25 US a can buy a towel every day. The hotel is really big and there is no control of unwanted guest reaching the guest floors. Just hop in the elevator and press any button.The room was really big. If you want a view you have to pay extra wich I never do.My room is just for sleeping. The lighting in the room looked like it was from just after world war 2. To put the bedside light on you have to turn a knot near the light bulb. We slept on the 15 th floor and had lots of noise of elevators going up and down. There was also street noise.The pool is nice with nice view of the beach. There are not enough umbrella's for shade. You can rent a cabana for a fee. In my view another rip off. Conclusion : if you want a first line hotel consider this one. Otherwise we stayed also in the Hyatt place , one block away which gave a lot more value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We regret that you were not more pleased with your stay or the services provided. We will share your comments regarding the resort fee with our management team however we do want to address one issue. We appreciate your observations regarding the open atrium style of our shopping areas we assure you that we have security personnel working 24 hours a day and in locations throughout the hotel. We regret that you did not feel more safe during your visit and we will draw this to the attention of our security director to see if there is a post to position our team to make them more visible for guests to feel more secure.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

From the time we arrived to the time we left, the Hyatt staff were wonderful. Our hotel room was clean, spacious and overlooked the ocean -- a view that is spectacular. The added bonus was the decision to include the Regency Club. The RC staff was so caring and the food selection was wonderful and so enjoyable. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. We will share you comments with our team. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the magnificence and beauty of Hawaii at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa. Our welcoming Waikiki hotel offers the ultimate combination of personalized service, outstanding amenities and a perfect location close to all that embodies our island. Stroll to such landmarks as Diamond Head, Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium from our spectacular setting fronting Waikiki Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.