We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Based on our stay we wouldn't recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2424 Kalakaua Avenue, HI, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE WI-FI
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lithgow, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Based on our stay we wouldn't recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We booked our holiday through 'My Holiday Centre' which represented good value for money. We upgraded to an ocean view room for extra but wasn't happy on arrival, I was instantly disappointed in the room very old and dated, inter connecting door to other room with 2 cm gap under door, view of buildings not ocean unless you went out on the balcony and stood on the left hand side, bathroom very small and dated. I said to my husband - don't touch anything, there is no way we can stay here for a week. We made our way down to reception and lined up again when we eventually spoke to someone on the desk they said there were no other rooms as they were fully booked but to come back on Thursday and they may be able to upgrade us ( I thought we paid for an upgrade?). On the Thursday we went down to reception only to be told there were no other rooms available. We spoke to another couple who had the same issue on arrival and they said they were upgraded to an ocean front room when they made a scene at the front desk so maybe that is the trick as we did see a few unhappy people at reception.
During our stay we had to contend with listening to every sound possible from under the connecting door , the shower leaking all over the floor, no jug to make a cup of tea (spoke to reception three times regarding this and the promise of having one sent up to our room never eventuated)
On the plus side the staff at the activity desk were very helpful and the staff in the restaurant at breakfast were all very nice they even served drinks to us in the line up to get a table.

Room Tip: Steer clear of inter connecting rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your feedback. We regret your stay was not more positive. We will share your comments with our front desk team as it seems there was some confusion about the room booked and what you expected. We have also noted the desire to have a kettle and that too will be addressed by housekeeping. We do value your input and will follow up with our team on this end.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    1,252
    500
    153
    115
See reviews for
917
1,325
114
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gold coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was part of our Hawaiin Airline package.
Here for 8 nights.
Third night now and still have the bed sheet with the hole in it. Not 4 star,
Rooms big but tired. Great location overlooking the beach . Room rate around 220 per night and not to the standard of rate.
Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose Diamond tower .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the post. We regret we are unable to locate where you are staying based off of your post however we are going to try. Your comments have been sent to our housekeeping manager and we assure that he will do his best to fix this situation based on information provided in the post. We regret any inconveniences you have experienced and we certainly encourage you to contact our staff on property to fix any situation you may go through while you are here.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked our whole holiday,flights transfers & accommodation, with MyHawaii.com and found that they offered great value for money & were very helpful and offered great advice ....next time we would make sure we had at least 3 hours in Sydney to make sure we made our connecting flights without drama, it was a very close thing both ways... The resort was is in a great spot, close to everything. The Expedia booking outlet near reception at the hotel were great organising tours for us.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room away from the elevator shafts, the noise is constant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. We will gladly share your kind remarks with the Expedia guides. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and loved the location. It was close to everything. Not being on the beach was no factor. It is as close to the beach as some of the hotels on the beach. The veiw from our room as breath taking. We will stay at the hyatt again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the kind remarks. We look forward to your return.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvington, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am a Hyatt Diamond member and love to stay at Hyatts all over. This one in Honolulu is quite unique, and I had a lovely suite with my wife in Feb, 2013. The setting, with built in open air shopping mall as well as its location right in the middle of lots of shopping adds a lot. The Regency Club is on the second floor and has a more extensive food selection than most Regency Clubs, however, it does close fairly early in the evening. The view of Waikiki or Honolulu from the upper floors is stunning! Gym is small, but up to typical Hyatt StayFit standards. Pool/hot tub in center of second floor between the 2 towers is small, but busy and fun (not very quiet, though). Beach is just across a busy street and is similar to the rest of Waikiki, i.e., the most crowded beach in Hawaii.

Room Tip: High floor, go for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review and for your support of Hyatt. We value your comments and will share them all, especially with the Regency Club team. We hope you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freshpho
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

The Hyatt at Waikiki is right across from the ocean and situated inside a mall. Very good centralized location. There are lots of shops and restaurants within a short walking distance. Also close to the farmers market. At 6 pm you can see luau dancers performing across the street.

Check in was smooth and they offer bottled water. We told the Hyatt we were celebrating our anniversary so they gave us a voucher for sparkling wine at check in. That is very thoughtful of them. If you are celebrating a special event do let them know in advance so they can make it special.

I was somewhat disappointed the rooms were outdated. The carpet in Our connecting room was sticky. I liked that they stocked water in the fridge.

You can borrow lounge chairs, buckets and shovels, intertubes and floating boat toys.

There wasn't a kids pool area so that was a little bummer.

The food at the regency club was decent, nothing spectacular. We stocked up on milk for the kids.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We are hopeful that the kids also enjoyed Waikiki and the hotel property. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just stayed in Hyatt where the staff were wonderful. Good location and we had a room with a view onto the beach. We were made to feel very special by the staff especially reception personnel - and the lovely Cree. WOW WOW. Did the compulsory strip shopping - Macys for their discounts and clearance pieces - plus they give you an extra 10% if you show proof of non- USA residence. But truly loved Nordstrom Rack and Calvin Klein in the Waikele outlet location.
For Australians buying MAC in DFS makes sense as the bill mounts up.

Shopping Heaven and the beaches and people are special especially the trolley drivers. Still laughing at the very large trolley driver who is keen to buy a SMART car according to his description - "because only one bum cheek will fit in it" and he will have a real reason for not carting ancillary family anywhere. The Hawaiians know how to find humour in everything.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We're happy to read that you enjoyed so much of Waikiki and the shopping on Oahu. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, HI, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Oahu in one of Hawaii's most fashionable zip codes. Just steps from renowned warm waters and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach, the property features newly remodeled guest rooms, an award-winning spa, retail shopping, cultural activities and cuisine from celebrated chefs. Close to Honolulu's most visited attractions, including the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor, Iolani Palace and Diamond Head Crater, the hotel is the ideal solution for those who want it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.