We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff But . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Staff But . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Great restaurant, bar, and pool staff; can't brag enough about the personnel at those locations. Shor restaurant has a very good menu. The hotel's location is excellent to beach, high-end shops, and restaurants. Be sure, however, that you do not get a room with the lanai facing the setting sun. We were upgraded to an ocean-front room free of charge thank goodness because the sun set at a noon position to our room. We had to keep all the drapes closed from early afternoon until after sunset to try and keep the room cool. We only stayed 3 nights, so it wasn't worth changing rooms. Just be aware of room location whenever you visit. If we were to return in January, we would request a room slanted away from Diamond Head.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to read you enjoyed the services from our staff and we will share your comments with everyone at the restaurants. We hope that you will visit us again and next time you will get the partial ocean view room.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,012
    1,105
    463
    142
    99
See reviews for
780
1,152
101
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wyong, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The views from the hotel were beautiful, however there were some issues that were rather frustrating.
My parents and I booked for an apartment for 3 people. When we came into the room there were 2 double beds and the staff wanted to bring in a small rickety wire bed. That was the first problem. There was no way we were going to use the wire bed as it looked like it could break at any second, so we all ended up sleeping in the beds. My parents are thin, and even they couldn't share the bed comfortably. Trying to sleep was just torturous.
The air conditioning was also an issue as it would randomly turn on and off, making the noise and temperature of the room just crazy. We would come back to a whirring and freezing apartment after we'd turned off the air con when we'd left the room a few hours before. The same thing would happen in the middle of the night, we'd wake up freezing and end up not being able to go back to sleep because of the noise.
The rooms are not great, but the view does make up for it, a little. The restaurants were lovely, just a little overpriced which was a shame. The pool area on the other hand, was very poor. I was surprised that such a big hotel with such a good reputation, could have a pool area so small. Everyone was cramped in the small area and it was not relaxing.
The staff were brilliant, they helped us organise our day trips to Kualoa Ranch, our helicopter ride and other day trips, so thank you to the brilliant staff at the hotel, it's a shame the cleaning staff weren't of the same calibre.
The views of the water from our Ocean view apartment were stunning and the location was great, so they made up for the issues we had with our beds. I would recommend the hotel for couples, and that's about it.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean View Room because the view is just perfect. We were on the 15th floor and the view was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We value your compliments and criticisms and we will share some of your more specific comments regarding A/C, housekeeping, and the pool with our management team. It is difficult to ascertain from your post if you sought assistance from any of our staff for your A/C or bed issues but we are hopeful that if you did the response was quick and helpful.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

we booked another 4 star hotel on the strip which at best ended up being a 2 star. We were disgusted and in desperation came to the Hyatt feeling they were probably booked up. We were three couples needing three rooms. for 9 evenings. The staff was amazing and told us if we were willing to wait, they would be able to accomodate us. We were all very impressed with our rooms on the 33rd floor. The maid service was prompt. The pool service, towels, restaurant service, etc...everyone of the staff at this hotel were very friendly and helpful, no question was left unanswered. The convenience of all the small shops within the hotel was terrific. Close to many restaurants and services. I would stop looking at other hotels and stay here again in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms next to elevators. Noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are glad that we were able to help and will share your comments with our team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This is a good hotel, really close to all of the great Waikiki attractions and literally across the road from the beach. The restaurants at the hotel are also nice and the breakfast very good. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I will start with the small negatives and end with the positives.

Me and a friend stayed for 10 days from New Year Day - we booked for 2 doubles beds but after a long flight, arriving earlier in the morning, waiting all day for a room, we were told there were no rooms available with 2 double beds. I will say the hotel were accommodating and gave us a hotel credit credit but we had to share a bed for the night.

The pool - "Happy Hour" unless you are a mature age couple don't expect to get service. I was appalled by the arrogance of the pool wait staff, i ended up going to the bar inside to get served only to be spoken to by a women called Joann with complete disrespect for the first time in my life i had no words. This is the only thing that i could say is a complete let down to the hotel.

The rooms are slightly dated, but so is all the resorts in Waikiki.

Positives - comfy beds, comfy pillows, good pressure in shower and water temp, spacious rooms, very central to the beach and all the restaurants and shops, pick up for all outer area activities is out the front at the Dukes statue and clean.

Room Tip: Higher Floors are the best, you get less street noise. We had a part ocean view room which was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for your feedback. We value all of your compliments and criticisms. We do regret that you were treated poorly by any staff on our property and we thank you for telling us which individual and where you had an issue. We have forwarded your comments to the supervisor for review and further discussion with staff. Overall, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will consider visiting us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hyatt always a place to go back for us. We are visiting our family and friends in Honolulu twice a year for the last 5 years. We have stayed at other hotels in Waikiki but always go back to the Hyatt Regency and have never been disappointed.

Location is excellent, central to all actions in Waikiki (if you are into the noise and festivity), close to the International market, across from the beach, few blocks from the Honolulu zoo and aquarium! There are many fine-dinning restaurants close-by as well as late-night fast food place (Mc Donald).

The staff is excellent, helpful and friendly! The pool is recently remodeled with a hot tub and more seatings! It is hard to compare this Hyatt to the Grand Hyatt in Kawaii or Hyatt Regency in Maui since this is an older hotel and there is no room to expend in Wakiki. There is a 24 hour gym with good equipments. The gym is located on the same floor with the pool and very clean!

The guest rooms are descent size. The rooms with Waikiki view seems to be smaller than the ocean view rooms! The decor is tradional Hawaiian. The bathrooms though definitely need some TLC since they are very small with the sink separate from the toilet and bathtub!

The views from the ocean view rooms are awesome, changing through out the day! It is worth to get upgrade from the Waikiki view rooms to the ocean view rooms even if you have to eat Mc Donald or Subway for the rest of your trip!

The hyatt also has a hospitality room for those with late flight... so you can take shower and get ready for your flight after you have checked out of your room!

I would definitely recommend the Hyatt for its location, view, quality and staff!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and ocean view room... totally worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We look forward to serving you again (and again) in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Air conditioning is really bad they have air conditioning sensors if you leave your room it turns off or if you are sleeping it turns off they can put
it on a so called vip mode which can turn off the nickel and dime sensors but you have to call every three days to do this
and you really never no one it can happen. In my case it always happened very late at night or the early hours of the morning.
The room are getting really old the room had stains, carept was old, tile cracking it looked like a blast from the past this hotel really
needs to remodel and put some money back into the property. Overall management has changed quite a bit dealt with a very rude lady manager at the front desk wont name
her name but she really needs to be more professional and be empathatic to guest concerns. People at the pool were really nice as well as at shor when I ate breakfast. I can not say
the same for the people in the spa they were less than friendly. Stayed here for eight nights not a good value for the money stayed here many times but this one will probably
be my last. I was very displeased that the general manager never reached out and apologized for all of the problems with my room. There were also plumbing problems as well the first time they did not
fix it and the next day maintenance was there again another example of frustration. The resort fee at the property has increased yet nothing has changed in the service and the new
managers at the front desk for the most part less than friendly. Also watch out for bugs in the room the property needs to do a better job at pest control.

Room Tip: make sure they put your air conditioning on vip mode otherwise you will constantly come back to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay. We truly regret that your experience with us was unsatisfactory. We have shared your comments with the management team of the front desk, spa, and housekeeping. We strive to provide authentic hospitality and to share the spirit of aloha with every guest and employee. Your comments will be reviewed with staff.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the magnificence and beauty of Hawaii at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa. Our welcoming Waikiki hotel offers the ultimate combination of personalized service, outstanding amenities and a perfect location close to all that embodies our island. Stroll to such landmarks as Diamond Head, Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium from our spectacular setting fronting Waikiki Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.