We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, small beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #37 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Convenient location, small beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is my second stay at the Hyatt on Waikiki. The location is perfect if you like to be in the middle of all the action. Waikiki strip is just outside the hotel, Waikiki beach is just across the street and you can walk to a wide variety of restaurants. However, peace and quiet is not what you will find here because it's right in the middle of the tourist zone. The noise from the street outside can be heard in the room at night, so I use earplugs to tune out the noise.

I see some reviews about old fixtures, but everything seemed updated as of my last stay in Oct 2012.

This is a big hotel and the elevator wait is long, but that should be expected in such a large place.

The hotel staff was great, everyone is well trained to be friendly and helpful. The valet staff is especially so!

The beds are very comfy, but they are made for short people. At 6" tall my friend's feet were hanging off the bed in the doubles room. I've also stayed in a "king" bed room and the bed there is longer, but about the size of a queen bed not king IMO.

We had a city view, but even with that we were able to get a decent ocean view with our room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We will share your comments with the team - especially valet. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    1,075
    455
    138
    96
See reviews for
757
1,126
97
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
132 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
2,348 helpful votes 2,348 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Over the course of 10 years, I've probably stayed at this property at least a dozen times and always had a pleasant experience until this last stay due to a change in management who doesn't give a damn about customer loyalty or customer service.

My wife and I moved to the Hyatt for the final night of our 30th Anniversary celebration at her request because she's always liked the staff and the location on Waikiki Beach. However, at check in I inquired about using an upgrade certificate and was promptly told no by the desk agent, so I asked to speak with a manager. A young woman named Danielle promptly appeared and proceeded to insult me by telling me that "the Regency Club is for guests who pay for it or use their points and not for any guest who happens to ask for it!" To say the least, it took every ounce of strength in me to keep from lashing out at her even though I had done nothing to provoke such an unprofessional response. If you don't ask, you don't get and a simple yes or no is all it takes. There's no need or place for insults.

At any rate, the property hasn't changed much since my last stay in 2009. They've done a few renovations, but for all it's worth, it's like putting lipstick on a pig. But, what it lacks in character, it makes up for in terms of location. Just don't expect to be wowed and heaven forbid if you have a problem during your stay because you will get no customer service here under this management team.

Internet service is horrible-always has been-and they have the nerve to charge for it. As a Platinum GPMember I didn't have to pay, but I would have raised hell if I had. I have never understood why Internet service is so sporadic here.

Sadly, the experience during this stay ruined what had been a great week and we won't be going back to the Hyatt Waikiki. We are done.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for providing your feedback from your stay. We thank you for selecting us as one of your hotel stops during your honeymoon and we are deeply regretful that the stay was not pleasant. We have received a lot of positive comments regarding the manager you have mentioned so we have directed your post to our front desk supervisor for further review and follow-up with the staff.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Spent some time here with the family, loved the location.. close to everything and great views of the beach! Only bad side was that it was a bit too pricy for the amenities. The pool was under renovation and the hotel did not offer any discounts due to the unavailability. We had to walk 3 blocks to another hotel to use their pool.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We regret you were here during the renovation before we re-opened the pool and new pool bar (SWIM) and restaurant (Japengo). We hope that you will visit again in the future to see the changes.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I agree with a lot of the other reviews that this Hyatt property isn't as modern as most; however, it worked well for us during our Christmas visit to Honolulu. The staff is exceptionally helpful, and the pool and gym facilities are extremely nice. The double rooms have full rather than queen beds which is a bit uncomfortable. All things considered, I would return for another visit if necessary; however, this property wouldn't be my first choice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your vacation however we do regret the bed sizes were not to your liking. We will share your comments with our team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent service at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast and dinner options were delicious. The beach was just across the street and an easy walk. The Hyatt sponsored a sunset hula show and informed us about the Friday night fireworks over the Hilton. It was a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We will definitely share this with our team. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Like many Resorts on Oahu, the rooms are outdated, and are in a desperate need for updating. The room we had was spacious, but lacked updated fixtures, paint and overall feel. This Hyatt is a great location. The pool staff and service was excellent and we would return. We felt the value was good, hope that there's an update to rooms soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We've noted your comments regarding updating the rooms and have shared them with our management team. We do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Let me start off by saying, I have never written a reviewin my life especially a complaint but I am doing this for people looking to book their holiday stay at the Hyatt. This was our honeymoon which i booked through an agency and did alot of planning ti make sure it was perfect. We stayed at Maui for one week at the Westin which was great however the perfect was easily forgotten once we arrived at the Hyatt.

1. From the start elevator took a long period of time approx 5 minutes or more at a time

2. The room whichwas a city view room which we disnt mind because the beach is across the road but the room furnishing was disgusting. It is old, outdated and the Bathroom in particular was disappointing. Bathroom was small and bath seemed stained.

3. Fridge not working therefore froze all our fruit etc we bought. we called front desk which also takes a long time ti answer and they sent someone to adjust settings. Next day the fridge did the same thing. Ee the visited front desk and they had a replacement fridge but told us they cannot take old one out as it is.permanent so new one is in middle of our room.

4. Noisy neighbours which reserved both rooms next to us woke us up up to three morning approz 6am. Called front desk and they advised the people were due ti depart that day should be fine and apologized. Another night and they still havent left. I visted frontt desk and asked for cimpensation asnit was near the end of our stay so did nor wan t another room. Manager did not call all day so i re visited and spoke with her finally Claudia finally agreed to a credit wortj one nights stay.

5. I used the credit to order in room service. The pizza ordered did not have all ingredients discussed but wasnt bad. The steak special suggested was Raw. I request to please cook more so the waitress said "why did you order medium then". Not acceptable. She said she will bring another which was nice but this one was BOILED. I called in riim dining and she aplogized and said she will refund.

This hotel is noisy all you hear is door slamming. The staff can vary from really friendly to absolutely rude. The rooms are what a bad motel should be.

Guys this was the last thing we wanted for our honeymoon and I really wish I had read the bad reviews instead of the good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for giving us your feedback from your stay. We do regret that this very special occasion was not a more pleasant experience for you. We have shared your comments regarding the front desk services as well as the in room dining services to the appropriate department supervisors for review with their staff. We thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your review.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#26 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the magnificence and beauty of Hawaii at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa. Our welcoming Waikiki hotel offers the ultimate combination of personalized service, outstanding amenities and a perfect location close to all that embodies our island. Stroll to such landmarks as Diamond Head, Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium from our spectacular setting fronting Waikiki Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Reservation Counter and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.