We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great.....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #34 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Seattle
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good, but not great.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Like many Resorts on Oahu, the rooms are outdated, and are in a desperate need for updating. The room we had was spacious, but lacked updated fixtures, paint and overall feel. This Hyatt is a great location. The pool staff and service was excellent and we would return. We felt the value was good, hope that there's an update to rooms soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We've noted your comments regarding updating the rooms and have shared them with our management team. We do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    914
    1,013
    425
    129
    88
See reviews for
696
1072
92
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Let me start off by saying, I have never written a reviewin my life especially a complaint but I am doing this for people looking to book their holiday stay at the Hyatt. This was our honeymoon which i booked through an agency and did alot of planning ti make sure it was perfect. We stayed at Maui for one week at the Westin which was great however the perfect was easily forgotten once we arrived at the Hyatt.

1. From the start elevator took a long period of time approx 5 minutes or more at a time

2. The room whichwas a city view room which we disnt mind because the beach is across the road but the room furnishing was disgusting. It is old, outdated and the Bathroom in particular was disappointing. Bathroom was small and bath seemed stained.

3. Fridge not working therefore froze all our fruit etc we bought. we called front desk which also takes a long time ti answer and they sent someone to adjust settings. Next day the fridge did the same thing. Ee the visited front desk and they had a replacement fridge but told us they cannot take old one out as it is.permanent so new one is in middle of our room.

4. Noisy neighbours which reserved both rooms next to us woke us up up to three morning approz 6am. Called front desk and they advised the people were due ti depart that day should be fine and apologized. Another night and they still havent left. I visted frontt desk and asked for cimpensation asnit was near the end of our stay so did nor wan t another room. Manager did not call all day so i re visited and spoke with her finally Claudia finally agreed to a credit wortj one nights stay.

5. I used the credit to order in room service. The pizza ordered did not have all ingredients discussed but wasnt bad. The steak special suggested was Raw. I request to please cook more so the waitress said "why did you order medium then". Not acceptable. She said she will bring another which was nice but this one was BOILED. I called in riim dining and she aplogized and said she will refund.

This hotel is noisy all you hear is door slamming. The staff can vary from really friendly to absolutely rude. The rooms are what a bad motel should be.

Guys this was the last thing we wanted for our honeymoon and I really wish I had read the bad reviews instead of the good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for giving us your feedback from your stay. We do regret that this very special occasion was not a more pleasant experience for you. We have shared your comments regarding the front desk services as well as the in room dining services to the appropriate department supervisors for review with their staff. We thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your review.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

This was our first stay on Oahu, but we have stayed in multiple Hyatt hotels throughout the world. Check-in was easy enough and the staff were helpful both then and throughout our entire stay. Once we got to our rooms (we had two) t H e property showed it's age. The carpet is old and the bathrooms have no counter space. We were staying for 8 days, but it was difficult to unpack because of lack of space to store clothes. There was a single very small closet in the bathroom. One of our rooms was obviously set up for handicap access, as there were bars in the shower and toilet areas. Our 2nd room had counter space in the bathroom and a larger closet, but only a full-size bed. There were refrigerators (bar size) in both rooms and that was convenient.
The pool is small and the area around the pool was not very spacious, but if you're able to get a chair they are comfortable and the staff was very attentive.
The location is great and directly across from the beach. Easy access to plenty of surfing and shopping is right up the road.
The location is nice, the staff is helpful and attentive, but the property needs an update. We'll look for a different place on our next visit to Oahu.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We regret that you were not more impressed with the hotel but we are glad that you enjoyed the services of our staff. We will share your comments with our management team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon back in 2011. OMG, what a hotel! We totally loved it! I found it on expedia with 50% off (the room we stayed in was $400/night!) 22nd floor, front view of kuhios beach park and diamond head. Perrfect location to shops and restaurants. BK in the am was to die for! Unbelivalable. Very clean great customer service... Overall would stay again for 50%off ;) but it def worth to pay regular price!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for sharing this very special time with us. We thank you for the review and we will share your comments with all of our team. We hope to serve you again perhaps for another special occasion.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I just returned from a week at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki and found the hotel not to be up to the usual Hyatt standards.
First with the negatives...where are the warm comfortable common areas of this hotel? There are none!!!
The hotel's restaurants and bar(s) have a clinical feel, not warm and inviting by any means. No warm woods or foliage to create a warm inviting ambiance, more that chrome feel. Could this be why the restaurants were virtually empty every time I walked by except for breakfast?
They have a very small plunge pool and there is really no ambiance here either to speak of. The hot tub was filled with very young children.
Now for the rooms...the bathrooms are older with one sink with a very low counter. No make up mirror and poor lighting for putting on your face. The bathroom floor tile, shower and tub tile are outdated.The paint is peeling off the bathroom door and the main room door to the hallway. A couple of comfortable chairs to watch TV or read would be nice while in the room rather than sitting on the bed. The main room still has dingy popcorn ceilings. The beds were nothing like the heavenly sleep beds at other hotels. As far as the towels and bedding go they seemed to be low grade linens or maybe just worn out, not what I would normally expect from a Hyatt Regency!
The positives are it is in a great location, the staff is friendly and the housekeeping does a great job keeping the place clean. This hotel has great potential but is not the Hyatt I'm accustomed to.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor the lower floors are extremely noisy especially if you are by the roof or Kings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We have forwarded your comments to the director of Food and Beverage to consider the comments regarding the the restaurant ambiance and extra foliage. We also shared this with our rooms team for further discussion. We regret that you were not more satisfied with your stay but we hope that you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

If you have stayed at a Hyatt Regency on the mainland in major metropolitan markets such as Seattle and San Francisco, you might expect other locations to have the same degree of luxury in their guest rooms. If so, in Waikiki you will be disappointed. The rooms say “Holiday Inn,” not “Hyatt Regency,” and in my view if you are paying more than $200/night +tax+$19 (soon to be $25) per day resort fee+$35 per day parking fee you are going to feel like you’ve been ripped off.

The rooms are poorly furnished and arranged: one easy chair, one hard desk chair, a small desk up against the wall and a small buffet with an ancient LG TV on top, a small refrigerator below, a safe, and three small drawers. That’s it for drawers. There is a small closet. Apart from the bed and side table, that is the end of the furniture inventory. The rooms are big enough to take enough additional furniture to make the room comfortable, but Hyatt has declined to use it. The curtains are old and cheap and don’t fully close out the light.

You can’t unpack most of your suitcase because of the limited storage. If you order room service you’ll be eating with the plate on your knees. Want to watch TV? You’ll have to lie on the bed, because there is nowhere to sit in view of the TV.

Glassware consists of two small glasses in the bathroom. That’s it—nothing more, not even a few plastic glasses. Drink your water, soft drinks or beer out of the container. There is a one-cup coffee machine with paper cups provided.

Towels are the usual (Holiday Inn-style) thin, cheap white items. No bathrobes provided. Single-ply toilet paper. Are you feeling the “Hyatt touch” yet?

The pool area is small, and the pool itself is not much more than a “plunge pool.” Maybe 16 ft x 32 ft, hardly big enough to actually swim in. There are 20 or 30 loungers in the pool area with stained cushions (one of the reasons I prefer high quality mesh loungers—they always look clean).

The poolside bar is so bare and uninviting I have to assume they don’t really want anyone to sit in it. No plants or decorations, hard, uncomfortable seating, and (as they seem to wish) empty pretty well all of the time.

The main restaurant is the same—large, unadorned, cold and usually empty. The only time I saw it busy was at breakfast, when a lot of people (who likely had breakfast included) stood in line to be admitted. Welcome to the Hyatt Regency breakfast, cafeteria-style.

The sushi restaurant is tucked away on the other side of the pool and I don’t know how busy it was, but I suspect it does OK since 90% of the hotel guests were from Japan.

Now on to your $19 per day ($25 as of 1/1/2013) resort fee. This buys you in-room wifi (for two devices only), two bottles of water per day, coffee for the in-room coffee maker, and pool towels. This might seem like a reasonable deal, considering wifi at “luxury” hotels (such as Hyatt, Marriott and Westin) is typically $10/day by itself (but always free at the “budget” chains, go figure). But make sure you are in a room where the wifi signal is strong enough to be usable. The front desk staff know where they are, and I know they know because I changed rooms because the wifi in my first room was so weak it was useless. The front desk clerk nodded knowingly as she searched for a different room with a decent signal.

The company that provides and supports the wifi service is an embarrassment. The website they have where you register to obtain access from your room is difficult to use and buggy. The service itself disconnects and reconnects frequently for no apparent reason. You’ll be sitting there happily surfing the web when all of a sudden your browser will announce it no longer has an internet connection. You’ll go to your network connections where you will see that you have been disconnected, but then you will suddenly be reconnected again. Sorry about that interruption! It only happens every 30 minutes or so.

Now to room locations: On low floors, if your room overlooks the roof of the lobby/meeting room/restaurant level you will discover what ventilation fans running 24/7 sound like. Hint: think jet engines. On higher floors you’ll get a view and mainly the street noise you’d expect in Waikiki.

Unlike all other Hyatt Regency hotels I’ve seen, the lobby has nowhere to sit. I mean that literally. In the lobby you are meant to attend to your business at the front desk (or wherever) and move on! Other “luxury” hotels (and even a lot of “budget” hotels) make their lobbies a showcase of landscaping, art and comfortable seating areas. Not the Hyatt Regency Waikiki.

I have only three good things to say about the Hyatt. It has a great location—you can find numerous inviting bars and restaurants—in other hotels and stand-alone—within a short walk to make up for the fact that the Hyatt has none. The hotel—including the rooms and balconies—is scrupulously clean (well, except for the lounger cushions at the pool). And the staff are very friendly and helpful, and will go out of their way to deal with complaints, to the extent they are able.

Whether that is enough to justify the Hyatt Regency label and earn your business is up to you. It’s not enough for me.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor and ask about the strenght of the wifi signal if you want to connect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Aloha,

We appreciate your compliments and criticisms and assure you we will share both. We do regret that you did not also enjoy some of the other amenities that come with the resort fees to include evening entertainment and cultural classes - lei making, hula and ukulele lessons. Additionally when you were visiting the pool you probably used or at least saw the pool desk staff who provide complimentary beach chairs and towels all day to guests, frozen treats and other amenities for pool goers all as a part of the resort fee. When the fees for all of these services are combined at other properties we have found that the resort fee does save our guests not only financially but also gives them what they need to without having to go to the store to make daily purchases or rentals.

We have shared your comments regarding the restaurants with our team and would like to point out that there may be some confusion about SHOR (where they serve locally grown fruits and vegetables, offer freshly made omelets, as well as an array of pastries and other dishes for the morning buffet) - this restaurant is open for breakfast and dinner only. We suspect that when you passed this rather popular restaurant it was during the afternoon - we will however review the comments about the foliage and ambiance with our team for further discussion.

Again, thank you for taking the time to review your stay.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt during the Honolulu Marathon period for 8 days. The hotel staff were all fantastic and friendly. Had a wonderful ocean view room and free breakfast every day, the food was fantastic. The only thing is that the rooms are a little outdated however they were very clean and no other complaints.
Oscar the talking parrot is in the downstairs mall, he is one rude bird.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for selecting our property during the Honolulu Marathon. We hope you had a great event and we thank you for the review of your stay. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your visit and we will share all of your comments. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the magnificence and beauty of Hawaii at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa. Our welcoming Waikiki hotel offers the ultimate combination of personalized service, outstanding amenities and a perfect location close to all that embodies our island. Stroll to such landmarks as Diamond Head, Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium from our spectacular setting fronting Waikiki Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.