We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com amextravel.com
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #35 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The view from our ocean facing room was absolutely stunning. Looking out on to the morning surf and seeing the surf hire setting up was enough to get us up and out there at 6am on holiday!
The location is great, right opposite Waikiki beach and we found the staff to be very friendly and attentive...especially a lady on reception called Betty who was just so welcoming and filled with Aloha ! The room was very spacious, clean and with an enviable balcony view!

The lifts could do with a little renovation, they feel a little rickety when you're hurtling from the thirty something floor! and the common areas in need of a little revamp. I was disappointed to see that kept birds in cages in the foyer for guests to look at, hardly a fitting environment for such beautiful birds.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We thank you for sharing your experience with our front staff and will forward your kind remarks to Betty and the team. We also thank you for sharing your opinion about the birds and the elevators. It seems as though you stayed here in July which was before we completed our elevator modernization. The work which was done by Fall has greatly improved all of the elevators. We hope that you will visit again in the future and share your thoughts with the changes that have been made to the elevators and the new restaurants on the third floor.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    854
    958
    402
    123
    84
See reviews for
645
1006
87
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a large, busy hotel in a big city. It isn't quaint, or especially personal, but it delivers what you expect from a place like this. The rooms were nice, and we had a great view from our balcony to the beach, Breakfast in the restaurant which overlooks Waikiki was excellent. We stayed on the Regency Club floor, and the snacks and especially the desserts offered gratis to club guests were first rate. The staff was helpful, although our requests were minor. We had no complaints about anything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the services available in Regency Club Lounge We hope that you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Located right on Waikiki beach you would struggle to find a better location, seconds from the beach, all the major stores are within an easy walking distance.
The hotel is typical for the big chain, room was clean and the toiletries were of a good standard, bottled water was left in the in room fridge every day.
Our room was next to the lift shaft and was pretty noisy, it bothered the hell out of me for the first day but I managed to tune it out after that. The parking charges are a bit high ($30 self park, $35 valet) but you need a car to fully appreciate the island.
We ate once at the shore restaurant in the hotel which was very nice and while not particularly cheap was pretty good value for money.
The Hyatt served our purposes well but I feel it is a little overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We do regret that you were not completely happy with your visit. We will share your concerns with our management team for discussion regarding the parking and other pricing.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I enjoyed my 6 days Thanksgiving vacation at the Hyatt. James at the front desk greeted me with a smile and promptly checked me in by reviewing and confirming my preferences; also he introduced to the list of perks as a Gold Passport member I'm entitled to, this was a very nice surprise. A perk I took advantage of was 15% discount for in-room dining and dining at Shor. If you are not a Gold Passport Member I suggest to become one! The Hyatt staff as always was personable and very attentive. Thanks to Kukui the BEST massage therapist; Bill, Kyle, and Barbara from SWIM for delicious lunches, drinks, desserts; Bobby and Chef Kyle from SHOR, excellent dinner and drinks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the kind remarks. We will certainly share all of your compliments with our staff. We hope to serve you again soon.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed 4 nights there during a short trip to Honolulu. We chose this hotel because it had many good opinions and the location was in front of the beach. We took a Deluxe room in floor 32 and it had excellent views of the beach but it was all. The room was absolutely standard with a look of old fashion place, not fancy at all, just old and poorly kept. The bathroom was very old too with a faint light a little depressing. If you want to rent a car don´t use the parking in the hotel which is too expensive. Believe me, It´s better to drop the car off everyday and rent a new one the day after. The surprise was when we made the check out and the receptionist told us that we had to pay $20 per day for a resort fee. Nobody explain us anything about this service which we didn´t use. We felt kind of ripped off in that moment. We won´t go back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We regret that you did not feel your visit with us met your expectations. The resort fee has been discussed on Trip Advisor and is also posted on our website when you book your room. We do regret that this was not made more evident to you prior to the surprise you felt at check out. We will share your comments with our management team especially the front desk to review check in proceedures.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort for 8 days and loved it ! Stayed here last year and was not too impressed but this year was excellent . The staff were just too happy to help , customer service was excellent and the atmosphere was fun . Breakfast was great except for the waiting in a queue behind 20 or so people most mornings ....we missed our shuttle several times but did receive an apology . The staff at breakfast were just lovely with BRENDA being an absolute Joy . The elevator was also a nuisance , sometimes queueing up and waiting for a lift ....way too slow and not enough for the number of guests . The place really needs a revamp , it is looking very tired but otherwise great . The Hyatt is in a top location and just accross the road from Waikiki beach and the Dukes statue .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the comments on your stay. We thank you for returning to the hotel again this year and we hope you will continue to do so in the future. We will share your compliments and observations with our staff.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great location close to shops, restaurants and beach. Definately would recommend. If your travelling as a couple I would advise to book an ocean view but as we were not spending much time in the room a Mountain/ City view suited us just fine. Spacious rooms and Comfy beds!
Buffet breakfast at Shor had great variety and was open till 1130am.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor to escape noise from the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel
Hyatt Regency Waikiki
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort
Honolulu Hyatt
Hyatt Waikiki
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the magnificence and beauty of Hawaii at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa. Our welcoming Waikiki hotel offers the ultimate combination of personalized service, outstanding amenities and a perfect location close to all that embodies our island. Stroll to such landmarks as Diamond Head, Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium from our spectacular setting fronting Waikiki Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, BookIt.com, Venere, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa to your Saves list