We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you'd expect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2424 Kalakaua Avenue, HI, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
FREE WI-FI
Ranked #28 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleveland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“What you'd expect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a large, busy hotel in a big city. It isn't quaint, or especially personal, but it delivers what you expect from a place like this. The rooms were nice, and we had a great view from our balcony to the beach, Breakfast in the restaurant which overlooks Waikiki was excellent. We stayed on the Regency Club floor, and the snacks and especially the desserts offered gratis to club guests were first rate. The staff was helpful, although our requests were minor. We had no complaints about anything.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the services available in Regency Club Lounge We hope that you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,229
    1,253
    502
    153
    115
See reviews for
919
1,325
114
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (798)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

Located right on Waikiki beach you would struggle to find a better location, seconds from the beach, all the major stores are within an easy walking distance.
The hotel is typical for the big chain, room was clean and the toiletries were of a good standard, bottled water was left in the in room fridge every day.
Our room was next to the lift shaft and was pretty noisy, it bothered the hell out of me for the first day but I managed to tune it out after that. The parking charges are a bit high ($30 self park, $35 valet) but you need a car to fully appreciate the island.
We ate once at the shore restaurant in the hotel which was very nice and while not particularly cheap was pretty good value for money.
The Hyatt served our purposes well but I feel it is a little overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We do regret that you were not completely happy with your visit. We will share your concerns with our management team for discussion regarding the parking and other pricing.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I enjoyed my 6 days Thanksgiving vacation at the Hyatt. James at the front desk greeted me with a smile and promptly checked me in by reviewing and confirming my preferences; also he introduced to the list of perks as a Gold Passport member I'm entitled to, this was a very nice surprise. A perk I took advantage of was 15% discount for in-room dining and dining at Shor. If you are not a Gold Passport Member I suggest to become one! The Hyatt staff as always was personable and very attentive. Thanks to Kukui the BEST massage therapist; Bill, Kyle, and Barbara from SWIM for delicious lunches, drinks, desserts; Bobby and Chef Kyle from SHOR, excellent dinner and drinks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the kind remarks. We will certainly share all of your compliments with our staff. We hope to serve you again soon.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed 4 nights there during a short trip to Honolulu. We chose this hotel because it had many good opinions and the location was in front of the beach. We took a Deluxe room in floor 32 and it had excellent views of the beach but it was all. The room was absolutely standard with a look of old fashion place, not fancy at all, just old and poorly kept. The bathroom was very old too with a faint light a little depressing. If you want to rent a car don´t use the parking in the hotel which is too expensive. Believe me, It´s better to drop the car off everyday and rent a new one the day after. The surprise was when we made the check out and the receptionist told us that we had to pay $20 per day for a resort fee. Nobody explain us anything about this service which we didn´t use. We felt kind of ripped off in that moment. We won´t go back to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We regret that you did not feel your visit with us met your expectations. The resort fee has been discussed on Trip Advisor and is also posted on our website when you book your room. We do regret that this was not made more evident to you prior to the surprise you felt at check out. We will share your comments with our management team especially the front desk to review check in proceedures.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort for 8 days and loved it ! Stayed here last year and was not too impressed but this year was excellent . The staff were just too happy to help , customer service was excellent and the atmosphere was fun . Breakfast was great except for the waiting in a queue behind 20 or so people most mornings ....we missed our shuttle several times but did receive an apology . The staff at breakfast were just lovely with BRENDA being an absolute Joy . The elevator was also a nuisance , sometimes queueing up and waiting for a lift ....way too slow and not enough for the number of guests . The place really needs a revamp , it is looking very tired but otherwise great . The Hyatt is in a top location and just accross the road from Waikiki beach and the Dukes statue .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the comments on your stay. We thank you for returning to the hotel again this year and we hope you will continue to do so in the future. We will share your compliments and observations with our staff.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great location close to shops, restaurants and beach. Definately would recommend. If your travelling as a couple I would advise to book an ocean view but as we were not spending much time in the room a Mountain/ City view suited us just fine. Spacious rooms and Comfy beds!
Buffet breakfast at Shor had great variety and was open till 1130am.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor to escape noise from the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunninghill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I travelled with my partner in August which was our first time and were a bit disappointed; when we first arrived we were given our key to our room and found our own way up there and immediately were very upset with the room. It was on the first floor right by the lift; this meant not only did we have the consistent noise but the room was smaller (not retangular shape, nearly half of the room cut off where the lift came in) I knew the rooms were not usually like this as I had done my research online and just the room next door we could see into when the cleaner was there and it was a lot bigger. The view itself was of a street and roofing, the rooms itself also needed updating, and we found it very strange that the sink was outside of the bathroom. We could also hear building work very close by and could just hear drills againt our wall.

We complained to reception that we wanted to be moved because of the cirumstances, and I was greeted by a very rude receptionist who just said well you booked that type of room. I tried to explain that I knew I wouldn't have a sea view, but a cupboard next to the lift was ridiculous for the money we were paying. The best she would offer is another room further along the corridor the next day! Later in the evening music started from a bar around the corner and it was SO loud you would think that it was on our balcony- no exaggeration. We could not sleep at all and was jet lagged and getting really fed up at this point. We complained again and were told we would need to wait until the morning as there was nothing they could do. Again the evening went on and we were ready to switch hotels at this point that we complained again and this time a nice young man switched our room to a much higher room on the 29th floor and was finally the right size too! We also had a mountain view and if you went to the side of the balcony you could see the sea. They fixed the issue in end but after trying 3 times and being rather upset.

The hotel itself was pretty with the waterfalls and in the perfect location if you want the hustle and bustle. We found it a bit noisy and not as relaxing as we thought it would be, expecially as the beach was packed and the sea wasn't clear and was very rocky. We did like that we had lots of restaurants to choose from nearby though (the cheesecake factory became a favourite) and good shops.

We only ate at the breakfast twice as we had been given coupons but had we not had this we wouldn't have eaten there as it was very expensive- $20 each for a basic buffet.

All in all we did enjoy our trip in the end as we enjoyed just being away together, but we had just travelled from New York and Vegas and ironically the Hyatt Regency in Waikiki was the loudest hotel and with the most unhelpful staff compared to the others. I would recommend it only if you aren't looking for a relaxing Hawaii break- more of a city break.

Room Tip: Don't get a city view and if you get given a room ending in "01" make sure you change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We regret that the service you received at the front desk was not more satisfactory. We are glad that you finally got a suitable room however we have sent your post to our Front Desk Manager for further review and discussion with staff.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, HI, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#22 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the excitement of Oahu in one of Hawaii's most fashionable zip codes. Just steps from renowned warm waters and spectacular views of Waikiki Beach, the property features newly remodeled guest rooms, an award-winning spa, retail shopping, cultural activities and cuisine from celebrated chefs. Close to Honolulu's most visited attractions, including the USS Arizona Memorial at Pearl Harbor, Iolani Palace and Diamond Head Crater, the hotel is the ideal solution for those who want it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.