We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice base for a break!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #33 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice base for a break!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Great location close to shops, restaurants and beach. Definately would recommend. If your travelling as a couple I would advise to book an ocean view but as we were not spending much time in the room a Mountain/ City view suited us just fine. Spacious rooms and Comfy beds!
Buffet breakfast at Shor had great variety and was open till 1130am.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor to escape noise from the streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    936
    1,036
    432
    131
    91
See reviews for
728
1086
93
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunninghill, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I travelled with my partner in August which was our first time and were a bit disappointed; when we first arrived we were given our key to our room and found our own way up there and immediately were very upset with the room. It was on the first floor right by the lift; this meant not only did we have the consistent noise but the room was smaller (not retangular shape, nearly half of the room cut off where the lift came in) I knew the rooms were not usually like this as I had done my research online and just the room next door we could see into when the cleaner was there and it was a lot bigger. The view itself was of a street and roofing, the rooms itself also needed updating, and we found it very strange that the sink was outside of the bathroom. We could also hear building work very close by and could just hear drills againt our wall.

We complained to reception that we wanted to be moved because of the cirumstances, and I was greeted by a very rude receptionist who just said well you booked that type of room. I tried to explain that I knew I wouldn't have a sea view, but a cupboard next to the lift was ridiculous for the money we were paying. The best she would offer is another room further along the corridor the next day! Later in the evening music started from a bar around the corner and it was SO loud you would think that it was on our balcony- no exaggeration. We could not sleep at all and was jet lagged and getting really fed up at this point. We complained again and were told we would need to wait until the morning as there was nothing they could do. Again the evening went on and we were ready to switch hotels at this point that we complained again and this time a nice young man switched our room to a much higher room on the 29th floor and was finally the right size too! We also had a mountain view and if you went to the side of the balcony you could see the sea. They fixed the issue in end but after trying 3 times and being rather upset.

The hotel itself was pretty with the waterfalls and in the perfect location if you want the hustle and bustle. We found it a bit noisy and not as relaxing as we thought it would be, expecially as the beach was packed and the sea wasn't clear and was very rocky. We did like that we had lots of restaurants to choose from nearby though (the cheesecake factory became a favourite) and good shops.

We only ate at the breakfast twice as we had been given coupons but had we not had this we wouldn't have eaten there as it was very expensive- $20 each for a basic buffet.

All in all we did enjoy our trip in the end as we enjoyed just being away together, but we had just travelled from New York and Vegas and ironically the Hyatt Regency in Waikiki was the loudest hotel and with the most unhelpful staff compared to the others. I would recommend it only if you aren't looking for a relaxing Hawaii break- more of a city break.

Room Tip: Don't get a city view and if you get given a room ending in "01" make sure you change...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We regret that the service you received at the front desk was not more satisfactory. We are glad that you finally got a suitable room however we have sent your post to our Front Desk Manager for further review and discussion with staff.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, WA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I was surprised how noisy the Hyatt Regency was. The doors slam shut and you can hear them closing any time of the day and night. There even is a note on the back of the door stating to close the door quietly. The location is excellent. I had to call down for my bags to be delivered after being told they would be right up. the room was spacious and comfortable but didn't make up for the noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We regret that you experienced any delay of services and that your stay was not more comfortable. We have forwarded your comments for further discussion by management and our bell and rooms staff.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had two club rooms for a night during a layover from Maui. The location was excellent if you want to be on Waikiki beach. The club lounge was on the third floor and nice and serviceable. However, the rooms were old and tired and the building felt like it needed a disinfecting. If you had the shades pulled in the room you could imagine you were in a motel on the side of the road in the boonies that had a quick upgrade. Would not bother staying again even for a layover. Rather sleep at the terminal at the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your stay with us. We regret that you did not enjoy your visit and that you were disappointed in the quality of the rooms. We will forward your comments to our management team.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Big hotel right across for beach. Layout a little demanding and bottom two storey's shops. Sort of lacks a privacy feel. Staff all helpful although as hotel disjointed even after 7 nights never had a sense of anything special about it except a place to sleep.
They charge a resort fee for what I can't imagine as no activities or communication of activities was communicated. Guess it was just purely a revenue raiser to pretend their base room rate looked OK.
We upgrade room (Paid extra $50) and found bed average - both of us woke up with sort backs, and actual bathroom very small. Great View helped but whilst room OK for a Hyatt only just for price.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We regret you were not more satisfied with your visit and more importantly that you did not feel that our onsite activities (cultural tour, lei making, hula lessons, ukulele, beach chairs, beach towels, bottled water, wi-fi and musical entertainment) were not better communicated. We will follow up with our staff to ensure that all marketing materials listing these activities in the rooms as well as upon check-in are made more visible to guests. We appreciate your compliments and criticisms and will use them to improve our services.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just got back from a week at the Hyatt. The property is in the heart of Waikiki, with lots of shops on and around the property. We upgraded to the Regency floor and it was more than worth it. The breakfast was just what we needed , lots of fresh fruit, baked goods, toast, oatmeal, cereals, cheeses, yogurt, and an egg dish daily. They even had Miso soup! It was much better than the long lines daily for Shor's breakfast buffet for $29! During the day they have cookies and fruit and drinks available. In the evening, they had beer and wine for purchase and a different salad nightly, cheeses, hummus, roasted veggies, and hot appetizer (lumpia, coconut shrimp for example) daily. They also had gourmet desserts following the cocktail hour. You can eat on their lanai with views of the ocean and tiki torches in front of you. Twice we went there instead of going to a restaurant, no lines, great food, great location, great service.

You can go to the pool to get towels and beach chairs.

Parking is $30, valet is $35 and it is worth the extra $. The valets will take your wet towels and give you new ones (saves you going up to the pool to do that). They also took our beach chairs back as well. The valets were so welcoming, full of great advice and directions to wherever you need to go. As a matter of fact, we used the valets and the Regency floor employees as our concierge more than the actual concierge. One of the food servers even went out of his way to get us a map and show us where to go.
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay and we thank you for sharing your specific comments regarding the Regency Club and Valet. We have shared your comments with our staff. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is in a great location in Waikiki. High end shopping is right outside the doors and the city park and zoo are a short walk. Loads of restaurants to chose from. The pool area is a bit small and full of children...okay if you like that sort of thing, but if you prefer an adult pool, you have no other choice. We had a hard time getting poolside service from the lounge area adjacent to the pool. No server seemed to want to regularly walk around to the far side of the pool. The food at the Shor restaurant was good, but if you leave your table even for a minute, the pigeons will feast on your food...this,like a lot of Hawaii hotels, is an open air hotel even in some of the restaurants. The rooms are in need of updating, but mostly clean. We had an issue with cockroaches, but seemed to be promptly taken care of when we pointed this out. The staff is very friendly. Overall, good, but I could not give the Hyatt a top rating.

Room Tip: Somewhat unusual to us, a room upgrade is considered going from a city view to a mountain view. I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We have shared your comments with our food and beverage team to further discuss the issues you faced at both SHOR and SWIM. We do regret that you experienced any delayed service. We hope that you will consider stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the magnificence and beauty of Hawaii at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa. Our welcoming Waikiki hotel offers the ultimate combination of personalized service, outstanding amenities and a perfect location close to all that embodies our island. Stroll to such landmarks as Diamond Head, Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium from our spectacular setting fronting Waikiki Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter and Otel so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.