We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyatt lodgings but not much more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #33 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hyatt lodgings but not much more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Big hotel right across for beach. Layout a little demanding and bottom two storey's shops. Sort of lacks a privacy feel. Staff all helpful although as hotel disjointed even after 7 nights never had a sense of anything special about it except a place to sleep.
They charge a resort fee for what I can't imagine as no activities or communication of activities was communicated. Guess it was just purely a revenue raiser to pretend their base room rate looked OK.
We upgrade room (Paid extra $50) and found bed average - both of us woke up with sort backs, and actual bathroom very small. Great View helped but whilst room OK for a Hyatt only just for price.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We regret you were not more satisfied with your visit and more importantly that you did not feel that our onsite activities (cultural tour, lei making, hula lessons, ukulele, beach chairs, beach towels, bottled water, wi-fi and musical entertainment) were not better communicated. We will follow up with our staff to ensure that all marketing materials listing these activities in the rooms as well as upon check-in are made more visible to guests. We appreciate your compliments and criticisms and will use them to improve our services.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,587 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    925
    1,019
    424
    130
    89
See reviews for
708
1079
93
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
california
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We just got back from a week at the Hyatt. The property is in the heart of Waikiki, with lots of shops on and around the property. We upgraded to the Regency floor and it was more than worth it. The breakfast was just what we needed , lots of fresh fruit, baked goods, toast, oatmeal, cereals, cheeses, yogurt, and an egg dish daily. They even had Miso soup! It was much better than the long lines daily for Shor's breakfast buffet for $29! During the day they have cookies and fruit and drinks available. In the evening, they had beer and wine for purchase and a different salad nightly, cheeses, hummus, roasted veggies, and hot appetizer (lumpia, coconut shrimp for example) daily. They also had gourmet desserts following the cocktail hour. You can eat on their lanai with views of the ocean and tiki torches in front of you. Twice we went there instead of going to a restaurant, no lines, great food, great location, great service.

You can go to the pool to get towels and beach chairs.

Parking is $30, valet is $35 and it is worth the extra $. The valets will take your wet towels and give you new ones (saves you going up to the pool to do that). They also took our beach chairs back as well. The valets were so welcoming, full of great advice and directions to wherever you need to go. As a matter of fact, we used the valets and the Regency floor employees as our concierge more than the actual concierge. One of the food servers even went out of his way to get us a map and show us where to go.
We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay and we thank you for sharing your specific comments regarding the Regency Club and Valet. We have shared your comments with our staff. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The hotel is in a great location in Waikiki. High end shopping is right outside the doors and the city park and zoo are a short walk. Loads of restaurants to chose from. The pool area is a bit small and full of children...okay if you like that sort of thing, but if you prefer an adult pool, you have no other choice. We had a hard time getting poolside service from the lounge area adjacent to the pool. No server seemed to want to regularly walk around to the far side of the pool. The food at the Shor restaurant was good, but if you leave your table even for a minute, the pigeons will feast on your food...this,like a lot of Hawaii hotels, is an open air hotel even in some of the restaurants. The rooms are in need of updating, but mostly clean. We had an issue with cockroaches, but seemed to be promptly taken care of when we pointed this out. The staff is very friendly. Overall, good, but I could not give the Hyatt a top rating.

Room Tip: Somewhat unusual to us, a room upgrade is considered going from a city view to a mountain view. I th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the feedback. We have shared your comments with our food and beverage team to further discuss the issues you faced at both SHOR and SWIM. We do regret that you experienced any delayed service. We hope that you will consider stay with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Let me just start with, I have a high standard for Hyatt. I own 2 vacation club locations with them and have a significant investment in the company. When I vacation, I like to be at top rate locations. When I travel for work I stay in the lower in chains, and that is OK. So, my Maui Hyatt experience was a bit mixed. We came to Waikiki for a change of pace. Again the basic hotel is interesting. Lots of retail on the lower levels and a nice open air concept. The pool is actually on the 3rd floor overlooking the beach. The down side is the road is between you and the beach. Somehow I missed that in the website detail. I also, again, feel the rooms are in desperate need of updating. The basic location is nice for access to the public beach, shopping and dining. All in all, good, but not great!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for your loyalty to the Hyatt brand and thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. We do regret that you did not feel that your stay with us met your expectations. We have shared your recommendations with our management team. We hope that should you find yourself in Waikiki again that you will consider visiting us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a good ten days on the island and our hotel was excellently placed for us, right across from the beach and a short walk to restaurants and bars. The pool area is only small and if, as we had, you have lots of children staying, it gets a bit over crowded. The pool bar prices are not cheap so it's best to wait until happy hour. We had a sea view room which was good and kept clean. Our biggest gripe was there wasn't a decent bar for the evening so we had to go out to find our nightcaps. The staff were in general very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We have three bars open in the evening until 10 or 11 p.m. Your comments are helpful for us to look at ways to share this information with guests. We will follow up with our marketing and food and beverage teams. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We arrived early after long flight from Sydney, our booked room wasnt ready but the friendly efficient front desk staff quickly changed our room so we could get in early which was much appreciated. We were on 28th floor Diamond Head Tower with partial ocean view. The room was nice, views of the ocean and the city were good, it was a bit noisy some nights till about 10pm.The buffet breakfast was so fantastic that
we did not need lunch most days. The breakfast staff were friendly and helpful. Great location for shopping, dinner by the pool and cocktails at sunset. Want to go again.

Room Tip: Comfortable beds clean rooms, a bit noisy some nights till about 10pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are so pleased to read that you had such a wonderful stay. We have shared your comments with our food & beverage team. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Initially we were a bit overwhelmed by the size of this hotel, however my partner soon got to grips with the layout so I just followed him. Check in was good and was given a complimentary voucher for a bottle of champagne as we were celebrating birthdays.

Our room was on 17th floor and has a fabulous view of the beech and street. Really spacious room with a fabulous king size bed which was sooo comfy! Slight downside was when we arrived mid afternoon the was some loud drilling happening somewhere in the hotel which wasn't quite the relaxing ideal we had. Must say however that as we were out and about every day we only heard it a couple more times so didn't spoil anything. On the plus side, housekeeping was excellent with plenty of fresh towels etc.

Had read reviews about issues with long waits for lifts but have to say that we had no problems at all.

Buffett breakfast at Shor restaurant was lovely - great choice and fresh whatever time we went. Also had dinner there one night which was gorgeous. Waiter, sorry cant remember his name but he came from San Francisco, was really attentive and gave us lots of info regarding menu and made it a lovely evening.

All in all, staff really friendly and a great place to stay and would return if we get the chance to revisit Waikiki.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the post. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We forwarded your comments to our management for sharing with their teams. We do hope to serve you again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the magnificence and beauty of Hawaii at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa. Our welcoming Waikiki hotel offers the ultimate combination of personalized service, outstanding amenities and a perfect location close to all that embodies our island. Stroll to such landmarks as Diamond Head, Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium from our spectacular setting fronting Waikiki Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.