We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice resort, busy area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sunshine on Sale
Ranked #39 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“nice resort, busy area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki from Nov1-3 on the beginning of an island hopping trip of Hawaii. Was somewhat disappointed at arrival. It is soooo crowed at the drop off point that it's overwhelming after a 10 hour flight. Once inside the lobby area is beautiful with an amazing waterfall. The check in staff was wonderful. Our room was a little lackluster, but since we were only staying 2 nights we also didn't splurge on the best. Our view stunk (again we didn't pay for a view) but it was ok for 2 nights.
We arrived rather late and ate at the Japengo restuarant. It was fabulous. Great service even though they were getting ready to close and we received a chilled bottle of champagne for the room since we were traveling for my 50th birthday.
I didn't care for what I saw in Oahu generally. It is very crowded with a lot of traffic to go even a small distance. Being from NY it seemed like 5th avenue with a beach, although a beautiful beach, waikiki is very crowded.
We were booked for a tour to Pearl Harbour which was fouled up and at the last second we spoke to the conceirge who was very kind and got us transportation to pearl harbour saving our only day in Oahu.
After returning to the resort, we had the best time at the pool for happy hour. They had a hula/fire dancer show in the lobby and the best happy hour drinks/prices that we saw in our entire trip. They had a band from 6-8ish and it was the best "nightlife" we experienced on our 11 day vacation. Overall the hotel was nice for the area, I just didn't care for the crowded atmoshpere.

Room Tip: Only grip was that there is a mini bar in room, however it is not stocked. I would have easily paid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to read that on more than one occasion it seems as though our staff and/or services stepped in to improve your stay. We have shared these comments with our managers. We regret that your vision of Oahu is less than favorable. Honolulu is a busy city. We hope that when you did travel the island you found special points of interest in each area that you went that will provide you with good memories of your time on the island.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,805 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,006
    1,097
    463
    141
    98
See reviews for
774
1,147
101
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Lovely property and excellent staff. Upgraded to club floor given regency status. DH tower 37th floor with excellent views! The check in staff particularly James was very attentive! Great location and central to great shops and sights. The concierge team were very good as were the regency club lounge! Happy wife = happy life and she was happy!

Would return without hesitation and management to be complimented.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We have shared your comments with our team. We look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel just didnt do it for me. We had stayed at the Sheraton the previous week before renting a house on the north shore so came back to Waikiki and had the Hyatt booked for our last 3 nights. To say it was a dissapointment is an understatement. For the money there was absolutely no comparison with the Sheraton and we really regretted our decision to "try something different"

The cost of the room was ridiculous when you compare the views between the 2 hotels and the facilities at the property. We had paid for a Deluxe Ocean View and the view was more city then ocean. A huge disappointment.

The lobby is a weird set up. You have to go to the 2nd level to check in. Not easy with bags and boards, etc. It had a very tired 70's style hawaiin timber decor to it. It wasnt horrible it just didnt cut it for the money.

Our room was comfortable. The bathroom has the bath and toilet seperate to the sink which is functional but this area was carpeted and the carpet was all dirty i suspect from makeup spills etc. Just felt a bit grotty to me.

The pool area is a huge let down. It is TINY. Did have a massage in the day spa. This was lovely. The happy hour cocktails were also a hit!

The location is OK being across from the Duke statue but this is very busy. It just didnt feel as resorty as the other property. Also of a night there was a lot of ladies of the night out and about on the corner of the hotel. This was a bit of a shock to me as previously to this, nowhere in Waikiki I had felt this seediness before so to be really in your face at the front of the hotel made me cringe. It just wasnt a pleasant place to finish our family holiday.

I think we had been too spoilt up the other end of Waikiki beach and so I clearly have a preference now! But you need to stay in a place to get a feel for it.

Room Tip: Ocean view is more city than ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We regret that you were not satisfied with your visit and we can assure you that we have forwarded your comments to our team. Your comments regarding the public street areas is cause for us to share this with our director of security. We have a fully functional security team on property that operate all hours of the day and evening and so we have directed their attention to your comments. It is hard to recognize from your post if you contacted the hotel or just made an observation. If you did contact the appropriate personnel we hope that you were satisfied with the outcome of the services they provided. Thank you again for reviewing your stay. We will review your comments closely.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were staying at this hotel for the first time and Andy at the front desk suggested that we see a sunset on the island of Honolulu. So he upgraded us to the 33rd floor and the Sunset was AMAZING!!!

PS
Love the parrots in the lobby as well!!

Room Tip: This location is perfect for anyone that wants to be right across from the beach high end shopping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. Andy gets a lot of positive reviews both online and here at the hotel. We thank you for sharing your great story and we have forwarded it to his supervisors to share as well.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had a fantastic week at the Hyatt during the month of October. It is a huge hotel, but I was never overwhelmed by the facility and all of the people. Our room was clean and comfortable. We had an ocean front room with incredible views of the sunset each evening. Being an early riser, I enjoyed watching the early a.m. surfers head out each morning with my cup of coffee on the lanai. The bathrooms could use a little updating. But, that wasn't a big deal.

The restaurants were wonderful. We had delicious breakfasts each morning at Shor. The omelet bar and fresh fruit was the best. On our way back to our room, we would pick up our Tommy Bahama "pack" chairs, with beach towels, to take to the beach each day. On the way back from the beach we would return our chairs to the pool and stop in at SWIM. A perfect place for cocktails, appetizers, or lunch! Dinners at both Japengo and Shor were absolutely delicious. Japengo's sushi was so fresh and good. I would order the fresh catch of the day when dining at Shor. (Try the Gelato for dessert!)

I enjoyed the Na Ho'ola Spa. I spent an afternoon being pampered there. It was lovely. The staff was excellent, and the service provided was well worth the money spent.

Something we noticed and mentioned to those that worked at the hotel, especially the wait staff at all three restaurants.....everyone seemed SO HAPPY!! Not only were they happy, they were just plain friendly!! Obviously they enjoyed their work and the management that they worked for.

We definitely would return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We have shared your kind remarks with our team. We hope to serve you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Hyatt Regency Waikiki in November 2012 and cannot speak highly enough of the friendly, yet professional staff there. We arrived about midday after a long flight and the reception staff did everything they could to get us into our room early. We were pleased to not only get in early, but to have a room on Level 23.

The rooms are a good size and it was lovely having a balcony looking over the sea and the pool. Bear in mind that ocean view and ocean front are not the same thing. We liked seeing both the ocean and the street view. We found the beds really comfortable, which is unusual in a hotel.

We really enjoyed the breakfasts - so much choice! The cooked to order omelette was great, as were the other dishes. Personally I love really crispy bacon and Hyatt delivered :-)

The property is huge, and we enjoyed wandering around. As we were on holidays we didn't care that we got lost (we didn't pay too much attention to where things were, so its no wonder!). It was good being across the road from the beach, and only a short walk to many restaurants and other facilities.

Room Tip: Go for a room on a higher level - Waikiki is a noisy place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. We hope you will visit again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here twice. Once in 2008 and then for part of our honeymoon in 2011. We love the Hyatt for it's location and atmosphere. We were able to walk right to the beach to play in the surf or walk up and down the shops. We would usually do all of our exploring in the mornings and then spend the later afternoon at the pool reading, sitting in the hot tub, relaxing, listening to the ukelele band, or just the surf in the evening. It was wonderful. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, we found it to be a bit pricey, so we just bought breakfast stuff and kept it in our refrigerator in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvans, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Aloha,

Thank you for the comments. We are glad that you have always enjoyed your stays with us and we hope to serve you again for many years to come.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa

Address: 2424 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#14 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#29 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 1229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the magnificence and beauty of Hawaii at Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort and Spa. Our welcoming Waikiki hotel offers the ultimate combination of personalized service, outstanding amenities and a perfect location close to all that embodies our island. Stroll to such landmarks as Diamond Head, Honolulu Zoo and the Waikiki Aquarium from our spectacular setting fronting Waikiki Beach ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Honolulu
Hyatt Honolulu
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.