We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Great Atmosphere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha

Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha
820 W Hind Drive, Aina Haina Shopping Center, Honolulu, Oahu, HI
808-373-5111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,940 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Hawaiian, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Description: HOPA is a Hawaiian treat shop best known for its all-natural, homemade, real fruit shave ice served with Pure Aloha daily. At the House, there are no strangers, only 'ohana yet to be met. Through the House of Pure Aloha, we aim to accomplish our true mission of "inspiring a movement of Pure Aloha one person, one relationship, one community at a time".
virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and Great Atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Uncle Clay and his boys are extremely friendly and genuine. The prices are spot on, tons of yummy flavors and definaltey worth all the 5 star ratings. If you want some shave ice while on oahu, take route 72 which is scenic and full of Hawaii beauty and stop at Uncle Clays you will not be dissappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    24
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“BOOYAA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

So happy to see the shop up and going again!!! A must stop for our family every time. It'a all about the Aloha spirit of the shop that makes this place so special.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
“Really worth the drive for delish natural shave ice syrups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My coconut and lilikoi (passionfruit) shave ice was the best one I have ever tasted. Worth the 15 min trip from Waikiki.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best stop in our vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful snacks with Uncle Clay. What a great place to relax and enjoy some cold treats. Uncle Clay was very personable. We enjoyed his stories while eating our delicious shaved ice. Make sure to get the ice cream as a topping, it tastes delicious with the shaved ice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous shave ice and aloha”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My family went to HOPA while on Oahu to visit family. It was a good way to unwind after snorkeling at Hanauma Bay. HOPA was fantastic! Uncle Clay and his staff were so gracious and the shave ice was the best we've ever had. The flavors were so pure--none of the artificial flavors found anywhere else--and the additions and toppings were great. Everything was delicious--you can't go wrong with anything. My daughters loved it. Looking forward to our next trip to Oahu so we can go back to HOPA.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.