We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, natural, delicious!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha

Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha
820 W Hind Drive, Aina Haina Shopping Center, Honolulu, Oahu, HI
808-373-5111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
Price range: $3 - $7
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Hawaiian, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Description: HOPA is a Hawaiian treat shop best known for its all-natural, homemade, real fruit shave ice served with Pure Aloha daily. At the House, there are no strangers, only 'ohana yet to be met. Through the House of Pure Aloha, we aim to accomplish our true mission of "inspiring a movement of Pure Aloha one person, one relationship, one community at a time".
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, natural, delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

After hearing the hype, I dropped by Uncle Clay's today to see what it was all about. Here's what they're about: Warm and friendly staff, fine shave ice, and all natural ingredients (sauces chilled so the ice doesn't clump, of course). There was a nice aloha vibe to the place, with staff getting to know us and introducing us to each other. Will definitely return with the family.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    24
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The only all-natural shave ice on Oahu, light years beyond the others!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Uncle Clay will welcome you to his Ohana (family) and introduce you to the power of pure Aloha (love) with his all-natural shave ice. The traditional shave ice places on the North Shore unfortunately pour fluorescent artificial syrups on their shave ice, and Uncle Clay is the remedy to this!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Shaved Ice along with a side of Pure Aloha!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My husband and I came in for Hawaiian shaved ice and left feeling like we were family!! First off, by far the BEST shaved ice ever! They use all natural ingredients and it shows!! You must get vanilla bean ice cream sandwiched between layers of shaved ice. Not only do they have the best shaved ice but the most friendly employees. Uncle Clay and his nephew were working when we stopped in. Uncle Clay immediately came out from behind the counter to greet us personally. Uncle Clay's is a family run business and they treat everyone who walks through the door as family. Uncle Clay talked to us about his vision of "Pure Aloha" which is how he lives his life and runs his shop. Uncle Clay is the most genuine person I've ever met. They know customers by name. If you want amazing shaved ice in a setting where you are sure to leave smiling go to Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha!! Mahalo Uncle Clay!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tart Lilikoi with natural vanilla ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

After 7 hours of hiking the Ko'olau ridges we pulled into Uncle Clay's HOPA a bit muddy, happy and tired. The natural flavors, fine shave ice and personal service was the perfect after-hike retreat. We will be back! Mahalo!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great experience and even better shave ice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Uncle Clay treated my wife, son and I as if we were family and then explained how we are truly family. He told us the background of "Pure Aloha" and his family history from China. The memorabilia was very nice as well and after we tried the quality of the shave ice we had no other choice but to buy a coffee mug to bring back to PA and a t-shirt. Onto the actual shave ice - the ice is packed down and the syrup is made fresh. They pack it, pour syrup, pack again, pour syrup, rinse repeat. This was the BEST shave ice we've ever had and Uncle Clay knows all his customers by name. AWESOME experience and highly recommended. Don't look any further for shave ice - trust me..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Uncle Clay's House of Pure Aloha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.