We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Henry's Place

Henry's Place
234 Beachwalk, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)
772-8822
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night
Neighborhood: Waikiki
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Outrigger Regency on Beachwalk right across the street from Henry's Place. With all the high-end stores opening up around the area you would never think to stop at this small run down store. In fact, half the block hasn't been taken over by new development. If it wasn't the constant flow of people going in and out and lingering in front of the store, we would have never stop to check it out. We did a quick look inside and immediately saw all of the rows of freshly made ice cream and sorbets. We read the reviews on yelp and trip advisor! All great so we decided to treat ourselves on the last day of our vacation. My family of 5 shared Lychee and Mango ice cream! OMG so good! You can really taste the Lychee and Mango…our only regret is that we didn't visit sooner so we can try all of the other flavors.

We hope to continue to visit Henry's for our future visits to Waikiki!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    88
    21
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Best mango ice cream in Honolulu!!! The fruit also fresh and yummy. I also tried their coconut ice cream the next day, which is great too! I will definitely go back try some more next time when I visit Honolulu

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos Hills, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Tropical ice cream - hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This small mom and pop store is very low-key, but sells the most amazing tropical ice cream in the area. A must try if you are into ice cream with local flavors.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Ice Cream and Sorbet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We found Henry's Place almost by accident and ended up going back every evening for our last four nights in Hawaii. Both the ice cream and sorbet are incredible - the best I've had.

I got to speak to Henry Jr. a few times and indeed, Henry Sr. passed away in the last couple of years and Henry Jr. has taken over the shop. Henry Jr. is an awesome guy - very friendly and genuinely happy and proud that we enjoyed his shop. On our last night, I told him we'd be back as soon as we could and he said, "Maybe by then you'll be bringing a little one to the store, eh?" I'm very glad we found Henry's Place.

This place is as old-school as it gets with nothing but a couple of coolers, some half-empty shelves, and an old t.v. featuring a Japanese documentary.

Do not be fooled - this is the most authentic Mom-and-Pop store you'll ever wander into and you won't regret it.

Highly recommended: Coconut, Mango, and Papaya Sorbet
Also excellent: Chocolate and Papaya Ice Cream

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ice Cream Ice cream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Came upon this place by accident! Noticed this hole in the walk one early morning. It was closed, but just thinking about how this place can survive among all the new and big stores and shops along beach walk. Drove by at night while coming back from somewhere and noticed a long line outside. Everyone had styrofoam cups in their hands eating something.
Had to drop by. They have ice cream and sorbet in a freezer in front - you name it- all flavors you can imagine. The most popular is mango ice cream followed by mango sorbet. The mango ice cream was absolutely delicious.
They also have containers of fresh tropical fruit.
We are longing to try more flavors during our stay. We' ll be back.

Only negative is that the cup of ice cream we had cost $5.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Henry's Place also viewed

 

Been to Henry's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Henry's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.