We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced, Under sized, Yucky-sauced Dishes” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Dynasty Seafood Restaurant

Jade Dynasty Seafood Restaurant
1450 Ala Moana Blvd, Ste. 4220, Ho'okipa Terrace, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96814
(808) 947-8818
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #729 of 1,946 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Over-priced, Under sized, Yucky-sauced Dishes”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Everything we ordered was about half or less than we thought we would get. Suace was not authentic Chinese, hardly even good for American Chinese restaurants. Overly gooey and everything was massively salted (or something full of sodium). Given the very high prices, we though either the dishes would be plentiful or they would taste good - Sadly neither was the case. This place was not busy at all and I can see why. Hard to see how these people will be able to stay in business here with the high rents in Ala Moana mall.
Really much better choices EVERYWHERE! You can even go the Panda Express in the food court and get far better food, much larger portions and at about half the price. We were hoping it would be better but it really disappointed us. I was thinking about a 1 instead of a 2 for this review but the food was edible - it just wasn't good or worth the money paid.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    23
    11
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hailey, Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great selection of dim sum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We were starving by the time we took a break from shopping at Ala Moana. We wanted a sit-down restaurant, not the food court so went upstairs to level 4. There are several options and we ended up at Jade Dynasty because we sat at another place next door for 5 minutes without even a hello from the staff. So glad we tried this! We chose various options from the dim sum menu and all were great. It was fun to try new things. The full dinners also looked great and the service was very good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Automatic 18% tip?!?!?!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Decent dim sum in honolulu. Food is pretty good although expensice. Most dim sum dishes started around $3.50...standard fare. Rather than carts, you order off menu so at least you dont have to wait for food to come around. Our family of 4 totaled about $70, which is about 40% higher than in LA. Sitting at Ala Moana Shopping Center, I expected the higher prices to offset the rent. With that said, was puzzled that the waiter brought the check and said "tip included." I did the math and realized that they charged an 18% tip. It was standard dim sum service...dropped off tea/cleaned up empty plates. I am not a bad tipper, but I do feel that tip should be earned to a certain extent. The serive was efficient but nothing spectacular. Not deserving of that amount of tip.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food - Very poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We sat for a long time before our order was ever taken, noone stopped and asked if everything was ok, and we had to wave down the manager for the check. But the food was good. Certainly not spectacular, but good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dim Sum without going to Chinatown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Nice Dim Sum variety, tasty, and great service. Large resturant with capacity for large groups. Located at the 4th floor of the Ala Moana shopping center.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Dynasty Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jade Dynasty Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Dynasty Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.