We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic,good clean hotel close to Waikiki beach” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stay Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stay Waikiki to your Saves list
Stay Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Pay Now & Save 50%
Ranked #67 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Waikiki, Hawaii
1 review
“Basic,good clean hotel close to Waikiki beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A short 2 minute walk will see you with sand between your toes on Waikiki beach. The hotel is average, rooms were clean. The front desk staff were very friendly and checked within 4 hrs of arrival if everything was ok with the room. There was some noise but I slept through it. Room 510 could do with some blocking curtains over the bed as the light from the next building beams in during the night.
We were extremely grateful that our room was available for checkin when we arrived early morning from our Australian flight..
We would recommend this hotel to those who are budget conscious and don't have standards above their price range :)

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    122
    101
    58
    56
See reviews for
66
160
77
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Rooms are nothing like the website. Old, dark and no windows (I dont count windows that are locked shut with a view of a wall ) Breakfast included but very ordinary, and it seemed that staff got the best food and we got what was left.
We also were charged $153 to our credit card after we left, despite pre-paying and settling the bill as we checked out. Our bank has sorted that one out in our favour as the hotel were ripping us off!

Room Tip: Don"t stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Noisy with glass louvred windows but not bad. They provided breakfast every morning and coffee which was a nice touch. The wifi worked well too. Excellent locAtion not far from the beach. Down the corner is an awesome diner with great food and as always there is an abc shop close by.

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If you want to be close to Waikiki beach this is a great hotel to stay. The hotel is located pretty much in center Waikiki. Close to beach, shops, restaurants etc and I guess the hotel does fair price considering the area.
The room is ok however we missed a place to sit outside, so if you'd like that remember to ask before checking in.
The hotel does not have any areas, where you could sit except for the lobby.
The wifi was very much on and off- and we hardly had any in our room, but I believe it depends on which room??
The breakfast was not special, but you could grab a bite...
So staying central this could be a good choice..

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Although the rooms leave much to be desired, they are basic and functional. The best part of this hotel are the ladies at the front desk. They are incredibly warm, friendly and really feel like family. It's a funky little hotel but more suited to people without kids. Thank you to that amazing staff here!!!

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stay Hotel isn't luxurious and far from a resort however it's exactly what's needed for a person to rest their head and unwind before the next island adventure. Clean, friendly and super hospitable. 1 block from the beach, ABC store a hop skip and a jump away, The Bus stops within 3 min walk. Close enough to the main drag (high end shopping centers, international market, fine dinning) but far away from the hustle and bustle. 

Who can beat a $10/day resort fee when the others charge $30-$60/day. Okay there is no pool  but really? why chill in a pool when you can take a dip in that gorgeous turquoise ocean?!

I didn't see a single bug anywhere while I stayed. Trust me I checked. Even if I had, who am I kidding it's a tropical island .

I give Stay Hotel 5 stars because their customer service was outstanding. They made me feel special and welcomed me with such warm vibe. Checking in was fast. Gio at the front desk called me within few mins to see if I was comfortable in my room. No place has ever done that. He knew it was my birthday and any time he seen me he asked how my day was going and If i was enjoying my birthday/stay.

Staci at the front desk was also wonderful. She helped me print things needed for my tour and another time for airport documents.She to remembered where I was going or what I was doing and asked about my enjoyment whenever she seen me passing by.

They treated me kind, made me feel special and didn't see me as another face in the crowd. I would mos def stay again.

*view from room 707

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location is very good, very close to the beach and they provide you beach towels and other beach stuff. Don´t expect confort or luxury, the rooms are very simple, with very bad light conditions at night and some noise. The staying may include a simple breakfast but you barely will have a place to sit while eating because they serve at the reception floor. Wi-fi connection is poor. Staff is very nice and firendly.

Room Tip: As far as possible from the karaoke bar on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stay Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Waikiki

Address: 2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki Beach, Stay Hotel Waikiki is within a block of the ocean and the International Market Place. Also nearby are shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head. We offer a 24-hour business center with free use of our business center computers. In addition, Stay Hotel Waikiki provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms include balconies with views. All guestrooms feature flat-panel televisions with cable channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Stay Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Stay Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.