We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stay Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Stay Waikiki to your Saves list
Stay Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Holiday Sale: Save 50%!
Ranked #71 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The Stay is perfectly located near the beach. It is clean and the staff is very helpful. Includes a continental breakfast and is also located near several other breakfast options. Beach towels and chairs are available.

Room Tip: High up and in the middle have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    101
    80
    51
    51
See reviews for
61
140
63
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The staff is hands down the most down to earth & pleasant people that I have ever dealt with in a hotel!, (this includes $500+ a night New York hotel room where you would expect awesome service for the amount of moolah!!) the price was pretty darn decent especially for its great location! the continental breakfast was good for being free! the room had a ps2 in it and you could rent movies and games thru thier version of redbox all complementary! and the movies were up to date, there was free wifi that was provided, the hotel looks like it was a apartment building turned into a hotel, the only downside was that the floor was a bit sandy when we got arrived but hey there is a beach a hop skip and jump away so it wasnt uncommon, and the parking was tough! but we managed! and the AC unit was really low to the floor so the dresser enjoyed the cool air. But all in all I would definately stay here again if the price was right!

Room Tip: if you like AC than ask for a room that the unit is up top and not on the ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have all done it, passing through a city so we think, I'll just get a low cost room for the one night, it should be OK, Well, the Stay Hotel is OK, but you get what you pay for so be careful! The best thing was the excellant help provided by a young woman working at the front desk (sorry I do not have her name) but she went to extra efforts to help us, even printing a map for us to help us find where we were having dinner. She was a big help, friendly and made the difference! The hotel itself is very simple and plain. Somewhat intimidating if you don't like looking at surfers in the next door buildings. But reeally no problems with them. So don't expect alot, except good service and a clean room and you'll be heppy.

Warning, the downtown area around the hotel is a traffic mess! Road construction, streets closed, I'll never stay in that area agian.

But again must give the front desk woman and night time desk workers pats on the back and say "Great Job" !

Finding something to eat no problem.

Room Tip: Dont expect alot and you will be happy, its clean and good staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Recently my daughter and I stayed here. It was perfect for us. We could walk right to the beach and was close to everything we wanted to do. Jasmine and Chris were so incredibly helpful. They helped us make the arrangements for our excursions and answered all of our questions. They were absolutely wonderful and they treated us like family!!! Our room was simple and met exactly what we needed. The breakfast was well stocked and the staff there was friendly also. If your looking for a clean, inexpensive place, right around the corner from the beach (close enough to walk barefoot) this is the place to stay. The staff alone will make you want to come back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stay Waikiki is located in a perfect spot and close to everything - beach, hotels, shops. The staff are very helpful and the service includes internet and breakfast - unlike most top end hotels. The room was clean and fresh - dvd's available too. Just a bit noisy. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

So close to the best part of Waikiki Beach (Diamond Head side) with every conceivable amenity right outside your door. Watch amazing boogie boarding near the pier. Stay Hotel Waikiki is clean and modern for a reasonable price. Intimate, laid back with no fuss and everything you need. We found all of the staff to be friendly and helpful. Continental breakfast, daily newspaper, flat screen tv, internet access and WiFi were all nice amenities, but there is a daily amenity fee associated with these. Parking available. Just stayed with my 18 year old son who will be attending UH Manoa in the Fall, so this was an excellent location for us to quickly zip up to campus for appointments. Much more traffic congestion and heavier foot traffic going toward the Ala Moana side of Waikiki which makes Stay Waikiki's location very convenient if you have a car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stay Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stay Waikiki

Address: 2424 Koa Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stay Waikiki 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Waikiki Beach, Stay Hotel Waikiki is within a block of the ocean and the International Market Place. Also nearby are shopping on Kalakaua Avenue, the Honolulu Zoo and Diamond Head. We offer a 24-hour business center with free use of our business center computers. In addition, Stay Hotel Waikiki provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Some rooms include balconies with views. All guestrooms feature flat-panel televisions with cable channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stay Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Stay Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stay Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.