We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD WAIKIKI LOCATION” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hokele Suites Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Hokele Suites Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hokele Suites Waikiki
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   412 Lewers St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2436 (Formerly Castle Hokele Suites Waikiki) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“GOOD WAIKIKI LOCATION”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Centrally situated establishment, which was fine for a first visit. It offers excellent value for money, with a nice pool. Rooms and bathrooms are somewhat tired and could do with refurbishment. However, it is clean and has a small kitchenette.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    72
    72
    52
    53
See reviews for
90
47
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I loved this place. Although the rooms could use some updating. It was a great value for the location. Short walking distance to shops, international market, Wikiki Beach and lots of eats in the area. ABC store right on the corner and other gift shops near by. This is Hawaii, so we didn't spend a lot of time in our room but we were glad to have the fully equiped with cooking utensils and dishes little kitchenet. Nice for having cold drinks and packing a lunch for a day at the beach. House keeping was provided daily and they were great. Pool was awsome, staff were very helpful. I would stay here again on my next visit to this island.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My sister daughter and myself stayed here and it was nothing like the online photos. Holes in mattress on sofa bed so thin they gave us another holey mattress to try and boost it up. It is in badly need of upgrading. Although the towels were changed daily, on a number of occasions I had to chase up fresh towels. Plaster peeling and a musky smell that required us to purchase a room freshener. Floor not cleaned daily and we were there 2 weeks. Bathroom moulded up in a couple of days and was never cleaned. Very disappointed in this hotel. Only positive thing I can say was the reception staff were wonderful and tried to sort out our needs. Unfortunately friendly reception staff will never have us stay there again or recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked this place 2 studios ( 2 couple) arrived at 12.30pm 6/3/13. Based on the review, it's not bad. Reality kick in, when you enter the room. The room equipped with 01 queen bed, small kitchen, a frig +a micro, hair dryer, flat screen TV.... Bath room sink water dripping on/off, rusting..The bad one is they room key. Every time we returned from our activities, we got hard time to open the door, there was time, we had try 20 times, using 2 different cards. There was time, the room service has to open for us. They provide a coffee maker but only 01 pack of coffee for the 1st night as a complimentary ( the coffee no taste at all, we had to go to McDonald nearby for our morning coffee, UNBELIEVABLE), the next day, if you want, they will charge you $1.00 every time you request. This hotel, they have on side buffet restaurant (breakfast, lunch, dinner) I did take a look see what they offer, majority is asian foods. Also I saw a lot of Asian Tour bus come & go, majority is Korean tourists..Maybe this hotel, they have some kind of deal with Korean tourists. They have a pool, but small, just for kids. The only good is location. You can walk every where, International Market Place, shopping center, restaurant...I will not return to this place again. I love Hawaii, this is my 3rd trip. This is a mistake by booking this hotel..There's lot other hotel nearby 3 stars, price not big different. I still do not understand about the coffee only provide to customers the first night. Customer service front desk, not really friendly, except on our last day, when we checked out, there was a young lady, very friendly, very knowledgeable about what she's doing, sorry,( I forgot her name).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bonneville, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our trip to Hawaii was for our Honeymoon and we needed to go on a budget. We highly enjoyed our room and the staff was wonderful! We are not the picky kind, so scuffs on the wall don't bother us. If you're looking for a 5 star hotel that's spotless, then no this is not the place for you. The location was perfect considering we didn't rent a car, close to food, shopping, the beach and buslines. We lucked out and got a corner room that had a half wrap around deck, which was great. Never had a problem with noise. Never had a problem at all actually. We would definitely stay here again and again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We took out very first Hawaii vacation last week and since we had a family consisting of teens, an adult and one senior, we chose a "family style"suite through Expedia. The price should have told us how run down and old the place was. However, Many reviews we saw online said it was clean and the staff was courteous.. Also, the online pictures make it look newer, nicer and larger than it actually was. The pool was small and dingy, the surrounding area was slightly ghetto, and the room was old, rundown, and smelled like a combination of cleaning products, musty mold/ mildew and cigarettes. The key cards rarely worked correctly, the "complimentary coffee" was one free pack and any other would cost $1 each! The A/C made more noise than cool air. Our room overlooked the alleyway, which had a myriad of traffic, honking and people yelling, and laughing most of the first few nights. They was an adjoining room that seemed to have spring break kids in it and they had a very loud party of sorts most of the nights we were there. we had to call the front desk after 2 am to get them to finally shut down. Whenever, we needed towels, the front desk was very polite, however, the housekeeper seemed irritated that she had to bring us more than one. afterall, we did have three adults and one teenager. we only started with two of each size.I cant even begin to describe how horrible the bathroom was. Old, no water pressure, the shower was small, dark, and the grout looked about 30 years old. they didnt even have a fan in the place! it was just plain gross! The only redeeming quality of this place was that it was central to most bus stops and within walking distance to the beach and nice restaurants. Even the taxi driver seemed to cringe when we told him the name of our hotel when leaving the airport. There were many little things that made this place such a terrible experience, I couldnt even list them all!! This place needs to either be torn down and rebuilt, or just boarded up! I will NEVER recommend this place to anyone!I cant believe Expedia would even want to be affiliated with this hotel. To top off the horrifying experience, the last day found us stuck on a bus that got us back to our hotel just after 12 noon,.. check out time. The desk clerk assured us it was "no problem" and we had until 1 pm so we packed up and got downstairs by 1:15pm. they then proceeded to ask us for a credit card for our "late fee!!?? we told them that we were assured it was "no problem" that we were a bit late...they said it was not, but that we were 15 minutes over and we had to pay $75!!?? for 15 minutes?!! for what was the worst hotel I have EVER encountered! Lesson learned... you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: dont use this place...you have been warned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Hokele Suites Waikiki, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Aloha
I am very sorry we did not measure up to your espectation on your recetn vacation to Hawaii. Yes, our property is a bit older but we do everything within our power to insure our guest have an enjoyable stay. There are three factors that we focus on, which are, affordable pricing, great service from all of our employees to our guest and very clean rooms. I am again sorry for our failure to measure up to your expectations. I can assure you that I will advise all of our staff of your concerns and do everything possible to imporve for the benefits of future guest.

If you ever plan to return to the Islands I do hope that you may stop buy to introduce yourself so we may show you the improvement made based on your comments.

Should you have any further comments you are welcome to call me directly.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was one of the better priced hotels we could find. It's close to the beach about 3 block but a bit further from Waikiki beach, still walking distance. The hotel it's self was a little dated but we found it clean, quiet and of an okay quality. The bathroom wasn't that nice and some of our doors wouldn't lock that we'll but despite that we felt safe.

I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hokele Suites Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hokele Suites Waikiki

Address: 412 Lewers St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2436 (Formerly Castle Hokele Suites Waikiki)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hokele Suites Waikiki 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for convenience and affordability? Hokele Suites, a 10-story hotel, features air-conditioned suites, each with a fully equipped kitchen and a lanai. This hotel is located in central Waikiki, close to restaurants, shops, and attractions and just three blocks from the famous Waikiki Beach. With our convenience fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Hokele Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. You'll also enjoy our large pool deck and swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hokele Suites Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hokele Suites Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Castle Hokele Hotel Waikiki
Castle Hokele Resort Waikiki
Hokele Suites Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hokele Suites Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.