We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What we expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hokele Suites Waikiki

Save Saved
You added Hokele Suites Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hokele Suites Waikiki
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   412 Lewers St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2436 (Formerly Castle Hokele Suites Waikiki) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 83 hotels in Honolulu
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was one of the better priced hotels we could find. It's close to the beach about 3 block but a bit further from Waikiki beach, still walking distance. The hotel it's self was a little dated but we found it clean, quiet and of an okay quality. The bathroom wasn't that nice and some of our doors wouldn't lock that we'll but despite that we felt safe.

I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    66
    72
    48
    52
See reviews for
83
43
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I already wrote one review but I guess they monitor and cut out guest that had a terrible experience... My families first time to Hawaii I have been so many it is not funny... but this has to rate among one of the worst experiences for what I paid for and was garunteed by expedia and the hotel... it is old and I seen where other guest complained about a smell also, so it was not in our head... this could be a class act if they would put some pride and money back into it... the location is superb you are 5 minutes from about everything I liked... My kids when I opened the door went really, are you kidding us? My heart sank and then I got mad for the amount of money I paid... you have to be kidding... the staff I did like... and they finally put us in a suite that is equivalant to a motel six... I have traveled for 30 years across america as a minister and this was bad... so if you booked 4 months in advance like I did, and you paid what I paid, demand that they give you your moneies worth or don't book there at all...until they upgrade the hotel...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CRHHNL, General Manager at Hokele Suites Waikiki, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Aloha from the Hokele Suites Waikiki,
I am very sorry for the dissatisfaction while vacationing on the island Oahu.
We pride ourselves with friendly staff, quality services and clean rooms. We make every attempt to satisfy each and every guest and unfortunately not for a lack trying sometimes fail to measure up to ones expectations. I will say that we do satisfy the vast majority of our visitors. Our mantra is to do our best with Service with Aloha and clean rooms and being priced appropriately. As we realize guest satisfaction is the key to success. We are a three and a half star property and will endeavor to consistantly maintain and even improve on our star rating. Again we are extremely sorry and rest assured I will share your comments with our staff in an effort to improve on the quality of our hotel.

Mahalo Nui Loa and Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Eight blokes stayed at this hotel for a four day bucks party before the wedding day. Didn't want to spend to much when we were hardly in the room and couldn't remember anyway. The hotel room was, as expected, small with hardly any amenities but it was clean, close to the main drag and within walking distance to quite a few bars. Would not stay there with the wife or family but with seven other guys it was perfect.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a cheap place to sleep and take a shower, this is the hotel for you. It was clean, the staff were courteous and helpful. The hotel has not had any upgrades since it was built and the furniture is from the 1970's. The pool was clean and refreshing, beach is about 4 blocks away. On our last morning there was a woman screaming loudly outside, apparently a prostitute and a John had an altercation which lead to her " boss" beating the stuffing out of him. There was also a resident homeless man at the corner ABC store. All in all, you just need to be careful and observant. I was traveling with a group and we had children so we were usually in before it got to late.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Over all this place hit the spot. It's a great safe location close to a lot of things, then again I live in Hawaii so I don't feel like Waikiki is big enough to say "dang that's a far walk." I threw my boyfriends 21st birthday here. We were loud at one point and were asked to keep it down but that's a given so to respect our floormates, we kept the noise at a minimum. We understood it was late.

There are only three things I did not like.
1. The front desk lady, Asian, tall, didn't speak great English, and I don't know if she understood what I was saying very much. Basically, when you stay here the maximum amount of cars that can park in the lot under the building is 2 cars. The rest have to park at a second location. That lady didn't give us the directions to that place so we parked our third car somewhere else thinking that was the place she was talking about. Then at check out they charged us for $20 parking. But we explained the situation and the new front desk lady, local lady, helped us out and reimbursed us.

If you stay here and that happens, remember to return your parking ticket when you get back to your hotel.

2. The pool is visible from the road. I didn't wanna swim because of that and cause I'm shy.

3. There was only a shower. I was hoping for a tub but, oh well.

I liked this place. It was simple with a dash of awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

if you are looking at a very budget but good pleasant location
nice room where you can cook your own food
nearby there is a lots of convenience store
near to the waikiki beach,and waikiki shopping strip,the international market
and if you like those branded stuff,there is also the dfs galleries and royal hawaliian mall
just out of the hotel,you will find a nearby bus stop to all major attraction like
ala monla,pearl harrbour,diamonad hill,downtown etc

Room Tip: improve the cleaniless of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This stay was more than disappointing! the worst customer service we have ever had. when we checked in the girl was on the phone the whole time and only looked up to give us our keys and said the elevator is over there and than we asked for a queen bed and got 2 twins that we had to push together plus the room was dirty had gum on the headboards, I turned on the sink then looked at my hands they were black and beer bottle tops on the floor, we don't drink so the housekeeping needs HELP!!! You have to pay for wifi and coffee your first packs it free then you pay for the rest. the shower is only big enough for one person , so I couldn't even take a shower with me husband. this place had one local girl that was very nice and helped us find good food at great prices. we will NEVER stay here again. It looks like and is a big piece a crap inside&out .your sheet will only get change every 4 days. If you want a place that you can wake up have breakfast and start you day this is not it they only serve Japanese food and are open for few hours in morning,noon,night but if you want a great breakfast its a little walk dukes is well worth it with a great beach front view to match. There is also an ihop on the corner across the street that has food/prices.

Room Tip: there is no fitness center as well as no room service. the filter in the a/c was dirty so we took it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hokele Suites Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hokele Suites Waikiki

Also Known As:
Castle Hokele Suites Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Castle Hokele Suites Waikiki Hotel
Castle Hokele Hotel Waikiki
Castle Hokele Resort Waikiki
Castle Hokele Suites Waikiki
Hokele Suites Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu
Address: 412 Lewers St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2436 (Formerly Castle Hokele Suites Waikiki)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hokele Suites Waikiki 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in central Waikiki this 10-story hotel features air-conditioned suites, each with a fully equipped kitchen and a lanai. Close to restaurants, shops, and attractions and just three blocks from Waikiki Beach and the International Marketplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hokele Suites Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hokele Suites Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.