We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with high value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hokele Suites Waikiki

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hokele Suites Waikiki to your Saves list
Hokele Suites Waikiki
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   412 Lewers St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2436 (Formerly Castle Hokele Suites Waikiki) (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Darmstadt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel with high value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The hotel is central located with all amenities nearby. Restaurants, shopping mals and beaches are easy to get to. The room was very clean and the service good. Also there is an airport shuttle service and bus lines are very close/ low priced. I parked my rental car at Ala Wai Blvd, where parking lots are free (but not immediately available at some day times). ABC Store is arround the corner. Would stay another 6 weeks there. High value for money! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    77
    76
    55
    61
See reviews for
98
51
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We were supposed to stay here for a week while looking for a home (military family). I cannot believe that this was approved by the military for us to stay in. They are wasting their money. For the same amount of money for a one bedroom suite we could have stayed in a much cleaner place. It is a complete DUMP. My son's feet became black after a few minutes of walking around. I cringed every time my toddler would lay on the ground (it is so difficult to keep a toddler off the ground!). The kitchen was full of fruit flies. It was so bad that I had to cover my sandwich in between bites so the flies wouldn't get to them. The bathroom was disgusting. We ended up leaving after 2 days, and pricelined a hotel for the same price -- a very nice hotel. DO NOT SPEND YOUR MONEY HERE! There are plenty of other hotels in Waikiki...clean ones! This place should be shut down by they health department.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleKonaBaliKai, General Manager at Hokele Suites Waikiki, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Aloha,
I am sorry that your experience last year was not a good one. We now have a very consistent shampoo program in place. I wish I had known of the problems you incurred while you here and feel free to contact me should you wish.
Mahalo,
Larry Mayo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Was happy with the location. The place was clean and nice pool. Cant say I was impressed with the Front desk staff when I arrived after a long 91/2 hr flight. I had requested an upper floor studio w/queen bed and was given a room on 2nd floor right opposite a"live" parking lot - it was depressing -car lights on... noisey!!!! I booked and paid for 11 nights. The following day after much debating with the front desk, they found a room on 4th flloor overlooking the pool - thankgod!.. Bed wasnt that comfortable but everything worked fine, the room was cleaned daily. There were some really nice front desk staff - always happy to oblidge. Despite some negatives it is a good place to stay, very reasonablly priced. They certainly could do with an upgrade in beds!.I had a great time in Waikiki. Aloha!

Room Tip: choose high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The location was fine. The rooms provided adequate space and facilities. The standard of cleanliness was ok. Daily servicing was random but no big deal. The front desk staff were clearly not intersted in being there and there was no service. If you dared to make a request it was looked upon with some distain. Some of our fellow guest behaviour was not pretty pretty especially the person that threw up near the lift. No shame.
However despite these negatives we had a BLAST and would consider staying hear again. We did not have great expectations as we opted for a low star rating for a place we could all be together at a reasonable cost, so we had more resourses for SHOPPING. And shop we did

Room Tip: Airconditioning was noisy in all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I was going to Honolulu for a couple of days before moving on the another island so I wanted to
find a hotel that was reasonable, clean, safe and close in to all the goings on. I looked at this
hotel and decided to give it a try. I am glad I did. I was absolutely satisfied with the hotel and it's staff. For the money it is hard to beat. The location was very convenient and transportation by bus, etc. was a block away. Now they don't change the sheets every day (do you at home?) which they advise you of so that is not a surprise but they do clean the room daily and I felt the property was fine. If you want someplace that changes the sheets daily and you can get room service then stay at a Hyatt, Sheraton or Marriott where you pay at least 3 times what you would pay here but if that is not a problem then give the Castle Hokele a try. Hopefully you will like it as well as I did. I would absolutely stay here again when visiting Waikiki.

Room Tip: The studio rooms are good if it is just you or two of you traveling together but if you want some pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
don't like telling my location
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I don't know what part of the Hokele Hotel the people who wrote bad reviews stayed maybe on the roof or under the hotel or something. My Husband and I stayed there March of 2012 and the Hotel was very clean. Come on now it is centerally located near every Restraurant & transportation in waikikii, no matter where you stay here on earth bugs might suddenly apear even at your house. We have stayed in upscale hotels in our day and a few spiders and roaches showed up but we reported the little critters right away. Any thing that we ask for at the Hokele Hotel we got it right away including fixing a toliet that was too hard to flush. If there are 'maybe' ladies of the night going in and out during weekend nights just try staying at more expensive Hotels, the same thing might happen, noise too. Just don't throw out the baby with the bathwater (so they say) and say the Hokele Hotel is a dump. All Hotels have their drawbacks. When my Husband gets well we will stay there again.

Just a shoutout to Renale, front desk person (great Person) who knows her job.
Mrs. Somerville from NC

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the building, Corner suites. I will choose 1st and 2nd floors next time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

In short, you get what you pay for. I came to those hotel actually expecting worse. The living area/kitchen was good sized, decent sized bedroom, smallish bathroom. But the bed was comfy and everything worked quite well - albeit the "kitchen" is somewhat of a joke it works fine and we cooked multiple meals there. The room was fairly damp and had a somewhat dank smell (not bad, just a little off) but you don't notice it once your there for 2 minutes. It is in a good location right on major bus lines and easy walking distance from the main strip and Waikiki.
My one major issue: nothing was swiped while we were staying, but I left a jacket in the closet when checking out. I noticed this not more than an hour later, but they claimed that no one or housekeeping ever found anything. I even called back multiple times multiple days later and still nothing. Too bad, because the staff seemed nice... So caution: don't leave anything in the rooms when you check out.

Room Tip: Try to get one facing the pool, you will get more light than if you face the buildings right next do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hokele Suites Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hokele Suites Waikiki

Address: 412 Lewers St, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2436 (Formerly Castle Hokele Suites Waikiki)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hokele Suites Waikiki 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for convenience and affordability? Hokele Suites, a 10-story hotel, features air-conditioned suites, each with a fully equipped kitchen and a lanai. This hotel is located in central Waikiki, close to restaurants, shops, and attractions and just three blocks from the famous Waikiki Beach. With our convenience fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, Hokele Suites allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. You'll also enjoy our large pool deck and swimming pool! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hokele Suites Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hokele Suites Waikiki Hotel Honolulu
Castle Hokele Hotel Waikiki
Castle Hokele Resort Waikiki
Hokele Suites Waikiki Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hokele Suites Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.