We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not very well cleaned - cockroaches in dishwasher” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Kuhio

Save Saved
You added Royal Kuhio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Kuhio
2240 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
“Good location but not very well cleaned - cockroaches in dishwasher”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in Royal Kuhio 1311 for 7 nights June 29-July 6. Quite happy with the location - closed to everything, 10mins from beach. Parking, beach towels and 2 beach chairs were a bonus. But the unit was not very clean, extra blankets were stinky, dirty dishes, dead lizard on shelf, cockroaches in kitchen, bathroom and even the dishwasher. We had to put the clean dishes in the fridge! The utensils holder was broken and the broken was hidden so that we only saw when we took the utensils out to use! Property management was slow to reply. We were unlucky because they got back to us around the July 4 holiday to offer pest treatment but we were away that day therefore nothing was done. They offered no compensation for the reason "Hawaii is a tropical climate and insects are apart of our home".

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    74
    57
    24
    17
See reviews for
84
64
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Phuket - Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

2nights in apartment 1305 and 5 nights in 2403. The first apartment had a separate bedroom with 2 queen beds and the furniture was modern and fairly new. The second apartment was older and the air con unit sounded like it was about to take off - making it uncomfortable to have on through the night due to noise and it was too hot to have it off during the night too. The building is in desperate need of renovation. The lobby and corridors do host an unusual smell and the elevator looks like a badly carpeted coffin inside.
The location is good and facilities are good however. Overall in hindsight it's just 2 people we should have taken a hotel room. If there was a larger family I guess this might be a cheaper option.
The instructions provided to us for check in where incorrect and the lady was based west Coast USA and clearly hasn't been to the apartments in a long time - FAM trip for sellers required

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in Royal Kuhio 3306 for 9 nights in June, 2014. The first thing we noticed when we got there was the horrible smell in the lobby. It smelled like sewer overlaid with gas station bathroom air freshener. It was so stinky it nauseated me. Some days the smell was stronger but it was always there.

I will list pros and cons of this building and our particular unit.

PROS:

1) Location. It is right in the heart of Waikiki. You are walking distance to beach, shopping, dining and if not, there is a bus stop right in front of the building. We took several tours and the buses picked us up right across the street.
Our unit was on the 33rd floor so we could hear street noise but it was muted. I can imagine that it would be really loud if you were on a lower floor.
2) Security was pretty good. You need a card key to get to the elevators and the parking garage is secure. Although one night the garage door was not closing. We reported it to security and he did nothing.
3) Unit size. Our unit was a two bedroom with two bathrooms. There was a full kitchen and large living room. There are large lanais off of the living room and master bedroom.
4) Great views. We had awesome views, especially from master bedroom.
5) Laundry. There is a huge laundry room on site as well as a stackable washer/dryer in unit.
6) Free parking which is a huge bonus in Waikiki
7) beach towels included
8) 3 beach chairs
9) we left two boogie boards and sand toys behind for other guests to enjoy
CONS

1) The very stinky lobby as mentioned before
2) The unit is very outdated; 70-80s era wallpaper, mirrors, curtains
3) carpet is old with lots of stains
4) the 2nd bedroom is much smaller than it looks in the photos. The windows have cardboard jammed in them. My daughters kept getting insect bites so I assumed they were coming in the windows. We sprayed bug spray around the windows and it seemed to help.

This place could be really great if the owners just spent a little money in updates.

They start you off with very minimal supplies so you will definitely have to hit Walmart. There was no shampoo or soap as they indicated. I called and it took until the next day to get them. We found a walmart about 10 minutes away and stocked up on supplies. There is supposed to be a Safeway close by but we never got there. There is a Foodland about 5 blocks south on Kuhio. A bit expensive but we went there the first night to get basic supplies since it was walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JABoughton, Director Inventory Management at Royal Kuhio, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and giving us the opportunity to review and clarify a few things to those who are reading.

There is more than one company that own units at the Royal Kuhio. Each company is responsible for the renovation and up keep of their units. The timeshare units are owned by Vacation Internationale. The Vacation Internationale units are all 1 bedroom units with full kitchens and have been recently renovated. In addition they are a part of a renovation program that continues to keep the units up to date and fresh. I will be sure to pass along your comments, especially those regarding the lobby.
I am delighted to hear that you were happy with the location and resort amenities. Royal Kuhio has many fine attributes and the Island of Oahu is a fabulous destination. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Terrible the hallways and elevators are old and dirty there were roaches in them and the pool area

Our room had a roach in the bathroom

We called to complain and they offered to spray for bugs....

I was traveling w kids I didn't want someone spraying for bugs

Thank god we had a lot to do and didn't have to stay in the hotel much

My idea of paradise in Hawaii did not include roaches!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our room was very nice - full kitchen, view of the ocean and Diamond Head on the 18th floor. We did see a cockroach, but the condo came equipped with bug spray so we took care of it. Everyone there was super friendly and it is only a short walk to the beach. They provided us with beach chairs and beach towels - freshened up our bath towels on Tuesday (1/2 way through our stay).

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here for the 2nd week of our Honeymoon. Check-in are usually from 4PM however we were able to check in when we arrived at 1.30PM. After checking in we proceeded to the 16th floor, room 14. We were a little surprised when we saw a twin bedding configuration rather than the queen we had requested. A quick trip back down to the lobby and they had arranged for the beds to be put together for a fee of $26. We also asked for beach towels for our stay.

After the initial shock we looked at the room, it wasn't as nice as our previous hotel on Kauai but it would do. The furnishings are tired however there is a full kitchen including fridge, stove, oven, dishwasher, toaster and dinnerware. Entertainment wise there is a Sony lcd tv with cable, Blu-ray player and free wifi. You can see the ocean from the balcony if you look through the Royal Hawaiian Ave. The bathroom is quite small and shows how dated the place is. Moving furniture is a big no-no at this place with a $50 fee charged. Whilst it is dated it was clean, however I did see a couple of cockroaches under the sink where the bin is located. The locks are normal keys and there is a metal key for the buzzer to gain access to the lifts, which at times were slow. Onsite facilities include a pool, gym, laundry, BBQ and vending machines.

Location would have to be the best thing going for this place. It is a short walk to Kalakaua Ave and Waikiki beach. There is a bus stop located right infront, plus a short walk down the road there is a stop for the trolley bus. Starbucks, McDonalds, ABC stores are close by, as is the Food Pantry, allowing you to stock up on groceries.

Overall we had a good stay, we might come back although we would probably look at other locations first.

Room Tip: Requests aren't guaranteed so be prepared to have a twin room or pay the $26 to have them combin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Good,clean and centrally located.However the mattresses on the pull out sofas was old and tired.They suggested I put the mattress on the floor.We obtained a single mattress and placed this on top of the other one on the floor.That worked.
Good security.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Kuhio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kuhio

Address: 2240 Kuhio Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 47 Specialty lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, Location, Location! Our Royal Kuhio spacious 1BR 1BA(516 s.f) and 2BR 2BA penthouse side condo (1,243 s.f. incl. 251 s.f. balcony) located in the heart of Waikiki directly across from the reknown Matteo's Italian Restaurant and Waikiki Trade Center. The Royal Hawaiian Shopping Center w/over 110 shops, restaurants and entertainment venues is only a two blocks away, and just beyond it is the famous Waikiki Beach. Our spacious rooms with partial ocean or mountain views come fully equipped with a complete kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Royal Kuhio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kuhio Hotel Honolulu
Royal Kuhio Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Kuhio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.