We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaii at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village to your Saves list
Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2003 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Discount
Ranked #38 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Beirut, Lebanon
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hawaii at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

This hotel is the one all the other tourists wish they were staying at! It's a high-end place to shop, with four hotel towers, four pools (including the biggest lagoon in Oahu). the Luau was gorgeous, staff is helpful. Go have breakfast across the road at wallani cafe, superb and seriously cheap! loved the hilton!

Best things to do: parasail for $25, snorkel at Hanauma bay $15, walk along waikiki, Luau and get on a party boat!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    280
    110
    53
    33
See reviews for
417
218
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We wanted a quiet hotel near the action and this was perfect. Stayed Christmas and left New Years so peak season and the resort was really busy. However, it is spacious enough so that you can find places to escape other people!

We had a room high up in one of the towers with a partial ocean view and the room was silent. Although, if we had a resort facing room in another one of the buildings it might have been much louder. Room was spacious with a nice balcony and huge bathroom.

The hotel is on a wide stretch of beach just out of Honolulu so there is always room to put a towel down and enjoy the sun. It is about a 10 minute walk into town and so very easy to escape the higher prices of the resort restaurants. The shopping mall is an easy 20 minute walk and so we found that we didn't need a car.

Perfect resort hotel in beautiful part of the world. Looking forward to returning soon...

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville,NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2010

My husband whom is a Marine went to a conference and I went along with him. We decieded to stay there because of the pictures that showed the Hilton as beautiful and the location with views. I was amazed at how beautiful everything was when we checked in....thought wow this will be a great vacation. Went up to our room 1614 in the Rainbow Tower :(.......and was very dissapointed at it. Now the view was beautiful and amazing. They had us in the Tapa Tower but, we wanted to up grade to a ocean view.....maybe we should of stayed in the Tapa.
Room----needs some updating that is for sure. The bathroom has no fan, mold in ceiling, back of toilet had a crack in it, plug in the wall was not even screwed in the wall.....and couldnt adjust the shower head. The bathroom smelled for the entire week. There we stains on the wallpaper, the bottom drawer in the dresser had to be lifted up to be shut. I had to call down and ask for the cleaning lady to change our sheets on day 4......I mean you could clearly see that they needed to be changed but, I had to call.....did not vacuum the entire time either.
The grounds were beautiful and there was alot to do. Between the pools, shops, beach...fish, birds, peguins and flamingos.
We did have a view of the Luau for 5 nights which was nice. :)
It was very pricey to eat there. We did eat at Noodles a Japanese little quick and cheap eatery. We had the pizza to it was very good. $10 for a mixed drink at the pool & had to wait for 30 min for my change....she didnt get a tip.
The beach chairs were $15.71 to be exact.........it was worth it to me for one day of not getting sand blast on a beach towel. My husband rented a paddle board and used it in the Lagoon which was a very nice place to sit and swim.
We had a problem parking a few nights cause of weddings or the prom they had there but, other wise the parking garage was good.
Everyone was super nice including the person whom we complained to on the day we checked out.....(we did tell them about it before but, they did nothing). That lady told us that they lure you in with all the stuff but, not everything is grand. Wish I new that before hand.
I would stay there again...........but, not in that tower.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

We (DH and 13 yo) just returned from staying at HHV in the Kalia Tower (room #1736). The 1 bedroom suite with 2 queen beds , full kitchen was nice and clean. There was also a sofa sleeper in the living room. The odd numbers are ocean view rooms and the even numbers are mountain/city view rooms. I asked for an upgrade to an ocean view room but they couldn’t accommodate me. The mountain/city view is nice but nothing like waking up to an ocean view. We didn’t cook in the units but we made sandwiches. HHV units feel like hotel living with a full kitchen versus more of a condo living like we’ve been accustomed to with timeshare exchanges. We wish there was a BBQ grill area on the property. There are public grills at a little park next to the hotel. But we had everything needed in the room itself. A lot of people complain of this Tower being so far away from the beach and pools, but we didn’t find it to be a problem. It was perfectly located for us since we spent a lot of our time off property. There isn’t a washer/dryer in the units, but there is a laundry room down the hall that had 2 apartment size washers and dryers. Only one of the dryers ‘worked’ and after an hour of drying, I removed our clothes and let them air dry in the room because they were still very damp. The washers did not spin well and left the clothes very WET. I would have been willing to pay to use a full size properly working washer and dryer.

I didn’t take my laptop because previous reviews said that we would be charged for internet access. But when I checked in, the receptionist was going to give me the code to get internet access. She also said that we were able to use the fitness center as well. So it looks like only timeshare visitors have free internet access and fitness center usage.

This is a large resort, so you should view a map and try to familiarize yourself with the layout of the resort. There are plenty of small pools on the property and the pool in our tower was the least crowded pool. As big as this property is, there should be at least one ‘adult only’ pool or one pool that’s 6 feet. We only visited the Paradise pool and the pool in the Kalia Tower. We really couldn’t enjoy the Paradise pool because they were extremely crowded and this was NOT during their most busiest time. We tried to enjoy the hot tub, that had a sign posted ‘max 9 people’, it was easily 20 people in there at one time. Parents were letting their kids JUMP in with their floaters. I spent most of my time ‘sun bathing’ at the pool while the rest of the family was in the pool or hot tub. We didn’t have a big problem finding chairs there. The only activity we participated in was the Lei making that cost $10 each. It was a nice! We also rented the aqua cycles at the Lagoon for $21 for 30 minutes. That was fun!

There are many high end stores (Louis Vuitton, etc) on the property and within walking distance. We often visited the ABC store on the property. From reading previous reviews, we were already prepared to eat off property but ate at one property restaurant on the day of the fireworks. It was perfect because we got on the waiting list at the Tropics Bar & Grill around 6:45p; our table became available right as the firework show started. We were seated on their outdoor patio and were able to see the fireworks! We had several meals at Wailana Coffee House that is directly across the street from HHV. Highly recommended, especially for their pineapple pancakes with coconut syrup!! We also tried Due Divino restaurant that is around the corner from Wailana. I would not recommend this place. There is a nice lady standing in front of HHV every day handing out menus with a 10% coupon. I don’t mind eating at ‘hole in the wall’ type of places if the food is good. But this place sucks! I think it is suppose to be an Italian restaurant, but we went for breakfast. The waitress couldn’t tell me what the ‘black swirls’ were in my scrambled eggs. The lady who was passing out the coupons on the corner came in the restaurant serving customers without ever washing her hands. Then she cupped the rim of my glass to refill my drink with her bare hands. I was ready to walk out at that point.

We rented a car for a few days from the airport on the day we arrived and dropped it off at the Hyatt location, which is walking distance to HHV. Of course we did not use the highly priced parking facility at HHV but opt to park at the public parking lot between HHV and the Marina. It’s a 24 hour limit parking lot at .25 cents an hour!! That saved us quite a bit of money! We never had a problem finding a spot either. We used Star Taxi to return to the airport on the day of departure. It cost $28 for 3 people with luggage.

We walked to Kalalkaua Ave , either the street path or beach path, just about every day that we didn’t have a car. There are MANY stores and restaurants along this strip. We also took a scenic ride on the ‘pink line’ Trolley which drop off at HHV. The ‘pink line’ took us through Waikiki and to Ala Moana shopping center. During the few days we rented a car, we visited Pearl Harbor, Dole Plantation and the North Shore (twice). We went to the North Shore both ways. We tried to go to Hanauma Bay beach to snorkel but by the time we got there (9:30a), it was full and they weren’t letting anyone in. So we headed up to the North Shore. Going to the North Shore from this way, you can really enjoy the beautiful ocean scenic route. We stopped along the way and took a lot of pictures. We did a little shopping in the Haleiwa Historic area and had lunch at Giovonni Shrimp truck.

Overall, we had a great time and can’t wait to go back to Hawaii.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

We stayed in the Waikikian Tower which is the time share tower. We do not own the time share and have NO desire to own one. We were only asked once by the concierge to attend a meeting. The tower is so beautiful, the room modern and decorated nicely. Very comfortable. The hotel is huge so to get to the main area, the Tapa Tower, where the bus pick ups are we had to hike through the parking garage, down and elevator...it was a long way. The pools were packed, not a chair to be had. MANY families from other countries with many little kids. But we enjoyed the hotel. I did not have any time to explore but I would return here. The price was high compared to our hotel in Maui but I think it was worth it. Just bring your hiking shoes.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Wa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We stayed for 7nights at the Lagoon Tower, 2bedroom 2bath with equipped kitchen.
The room - roomy and clean for the price with 2 balconies, by no means top notch, but that's what Hilton is nice but not the best.
The resort - in my opinion, the best in Waikiki. The pool/slides right outside of Lagoon Tower, the lagoon, the superpool and the beach all sum up to be the most spacious of all hotels in Waikiki, and it's not even close. So even when it's busy, Hilton absorbs the crowd well.
The food - only ate in the resort once for lunch at The Tropics Bar & Beach Café, Hilton is not known for it's food.
The shopping - although there are plenty of shops within the resort, the main shopping is offered on the proper Waikiki strip or at Ala Moana mall.
All in all, a very pleasant stay for the price with lots to do for my kids.
Few recommendations: the beach umbrella and chairs are not free at beach, I believe Umbrella is $30 and chairs are $25 per day. I recommend going to Don Quijote and purchasing rather than renting if you are there for a week with family. If you have rental car, there might be better offerings than Don Quijote.
If you are planning to venture out to other beaches within the island, get fresh beach towels the night before and take them on your trip, just make sure to bring them back.
Some musts if you have kids:
Hanauma Bay, the very best snorkeling spot for families, this place enlightened my kid in terms of snorkeling and variety of fish offered for viewing.
Waimea Bay Beach, rent a boogie board at the local surf shop if you don't have one, relatively safe for kids to experience boogie boarding right on the shore. Don't think you know what Hawaiian waves are after spending a week at Waikiki.
Laniakea Beach, check out the turtles sunbathing, not the easiest place to find with no signs but if you drive from Waimea Bay Beach toward the Haleiwa Proper, it will be on the way, look for cars parked on both sides of the road.
Saturday Farmer's Market at Kapiolani Community College, place not only to pick up fresh local produce/fruits but also to try various local cruisine.
Sunset Dinner - if you can afford it, Orchid's at Halekulani, book reservation with outside seating next to House without a Key where they have live music and hula dancing[check for schedule although they have on most nights], where else can you have fine dining, outdoor seating with sunset, live music and hula dancing? food is secondary.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

Good: Directly on Waikiki Beach. Massive property with plenty of different room options. Great view from the room. Impressive luau performed nightly.

Bad: The elevator systems are in desperate need of upgrades. The average wait for an elevator: too long!

REALLY bad: Be forewarned!!! We had TERMITES in our room. There was a hole underneath the sink and at least 50 flew in, shed their wings, and moved on or died on the bathroom floor. Communicated with management and they initially tried to play it off by just sending someone to clean it. No bueno.

Final: Save your money and go somewhere else or better yet, Maui.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village

Address: 2003 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#37 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village®, you'll have access to the Village's spectacular amenities, including an exercise facility to maintain your workout routine, over 20 restaurants and lounges, complimentary shows and live events, first-class shopping and a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village® offers studios, one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Honolulu Hilton
Hawaiian Hilton Village
Hilton Grand Vacations Suites At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.