We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kalia Tower HGVC 1 bedroom Mountain View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village

Save Saved
You added Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2003 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Member Offer
Ranked #33 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Kalia Tower HGVC 1 bedroom Mountain View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Just completed a three night stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village through our ownership in HGVC. We stayed in a 1 br two full size beds on the 17th floor. Had a great time with no major glitches whatsoever. Since we live on Oahu, we brought food for breakfast and snacks. The small kitchen had everything we needed. Even a rice cooker. The only issue was the dishwasher; it was extremely noisy. Ate lunch and dinner both on and off site. Expect resort prices. Check in and check out was a breeze. Hung out pool side at the main pool, which was very crowded. The pool on the fourth floor of Kalia Tower was lightly used and nice for privacy. It seems that HHV has a new towel policy. Instead of wrist bands like before, they give you "towel cards" when you check in. Turn them in at the towel kiosk, collect your towel, return the towel, get a towel card back. Full size beds were very comfortable, with four pillows each. Be advised that the only bed covering you get is a large comforter, that's stuffed into a giant sized pillow case. A bit awkward at first but it worked. 17th floor mountain view was lovely, we had lanai's in both the living room and bedroom. Two flat screen TV's with DVD players. You could rent DVD's. Best entertainment was Jerry Santos and Olomana at the Tapas Bar, drinks a bit pricey but the music was excellent. We had a great time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    240
    95
    43
    28
See reviews for
367
178
19
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Telford, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I went to the Hilton Hawaiian Village for our 33rd wedding anniversary. The concerige, Sharon Wheat, was wonderful and arranged all our activities for us. Every part of our vacation met and exceeded our expectations. The beach is beautiful, pools very well maintained, huge variety of stores on property and restaurants...wow! We rented a car for a day as all our other activities had transportation included - which I would definitely recommend taking advantage of that. Each bus driver also acted as a tour guide and provided alot of information about the island. We rented a car and drove to the other side of the island one day and enjoyed the beaches, scenery and Dole Planation. We also hiked Diamond Head, took a helicpoter ride around the island, toured Pearl Harbor and went to the Polynesian Cultural Center. All activities were awesome! It was a pleaure coming back to the hotel each night and on Fridays, there are fireworks on the beach. It was both romantic and fun. Definitely a wonderful hotel for both families and couples.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had the best time ever--loved the beach, the hotel was excellent, so beautiful with all it amenities. Fabulous meals with Luau and outside bars were awesome. Had something to do everyday with entertainment, shopping and beach activities. Had a wonderful time--especially for the cost. Everything right there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Lagoon Tower in May in a one-bedroom suite and were very disappointed. The real problem was the carpet and the dated AC system. The carpet needed to be cleaned big time. The AC is older and can only be turned on or off. You can't set it to a specific temperature, you can only move the lever warmer or colder. It doesn't click off when it reaches a specific temperature; it continually runs. For the bedroom to get cool, the living room is freezing. There is no exhaust van in the bathrooms and no ceiling fans in the unit.

The 3 elevators are slow because they shared by housekeeping and maintenance. They have no service elevators.

I am a Hilton Diamond member and stay in a hotel approximately 80+ nights per year. In terms of AC and carpet cleanliness, this was one of the worst I've stayed at in years. Hampton Inns are much nicer.

That said, this is my third visit to the Hilton Hawaiian Village. The first two times we stayed at The Grand Waikikian and The Rainbow Tower, and these visits were a positive experience. I would recommend either of these. The grounds at the entire complex are well kept and beautiful. The employees are polite but not friendly.

If the Lagoon Tower is your only option, stay at another hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for submitting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us.  We sincerely appreciate the feedback we receive from our owners and guests as it not only lets us know what we are doing well, but more importantly where we can improve in those areas where it will increase guest satisfaction and meet or exceed guest expectations.
 
We were disappointed to hear  that during your stay you experienced a cleanliness issue with the carpet in your room. Hopefully you contacted our housekeeping department to report the carpet. We are passing your comment along to our Director of Housekeeping. We apologize that you encountered such an issue. 
 
In regard to the air conditioning, when the building was originally retrofitted as a timeshare building  there were certain structural limitations as to how much could be changed in the existing building.  The AC system was one of the systems that was limited.  In addition, that is the same reason there is no service elevator.  The original structure just had the three elevators.
  
Thank you again for your invaluable comments and again we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.  We hope that we will have the pleasure of having you stay with us again.
 
Steve Stoyanow
Resort Manager

 
 
 
Steve Stoyanow
Resort Manage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family and I stayed in this resort from May 16 to may 22nd and we had a wonderful time. The staff are wonderful. The location of hotel is excellent. There are stores, restaurant and shopes open until mid-night. Rooms are large and the beds are so comfortable. We really enjoyed and we will come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Vista, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

As a Timeshare owner, was most distressed by the dirty room at time of check-in. The Internet router had to be replaced during our stay. The Luau, which Hilton has on the roof of the parking garage is really noisy for the residents of the two nearby towers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for submitting your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. We sincerely appreciate the feedback we receive from our owners and guests, as it not only lets us know what we are doing well, but more importantly where we can improve in those areas where it will increase guest satisfaction and meet or exceed guest expectations.

We were sorry to hear that during your stay you experienced some cleanliness issues with your room and that you had a problem with your internet router. We hope that you reported these during your stay and that they were taken care of for you. We are forwarding your comments to both the housekeeping and maintenance departments so they can share with their respective teams.

In regard to the noise from the Luau we do apologize for the noise. Unfortunately the nature of luaus is to be a little noisy. However the hotel food and beverage office and the engineering department have tried (and are still trying) to find ways to contain the noise as much as possible.
Again, thank you for taking the time to contact us to express your feedback.

Steve Stoyanow
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Hilton has thought of all the ways to make staying and vacationing fun at this huge complex with all the options. The evening of fireworks were fantastic - have never seen such a display at such close range for nearly 6,000 people. The ability for everyone to have a good seat was excellent. The pools were terrific - especially loved the tube water slide running through the rocks. Everything was very clean. The free DVD Kiosk was a nice touch. Staff were attentive to every aspect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village

Address: 2003 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village®, you'll have access to the Village's spectacular amenities, including an exercise facility to maintain your workout routine, over 20 restaurants and lounges, complimentary shows and live events, first-class shopping and a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village® offers studios, one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Honolulu Hilton
Hawaiian Hilton Village
Hilton Grand Vacations Suites At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.