We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village to your Saves list
Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2003 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Member Offer
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Nassau, New Providence Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Hilton is known for their hospitality... and although I have been to many worldwide locations, this location in Waikiki is probably the busiest or maybe it was because I landed there in the busiest times, New Years with long lines and many irritable guest, the front desk staff and the housekeeping staff were very helpful and pleasant. I believe If you have a great attitude about enjoying every moment, it will make it a great experience... no matter what....

Room Tip: If you are pleasant and ask for the best view room they could upgrade you to, you may be very fortun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    243
    97
    43
    28
See reviews for
371
181
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We are diamond members and this was cubic zirconium level!
We were stuck in there for one night.
They told us they would move us. They were trying to string us along because the next day in the morning, they told us 'check back we will see what we can do, by 3:00 the story changed to 'we are completely sold out.'
We called SPG and they confirmed it as sold out.
We paid to move to a Hilton hotel.
We were booked to stay Dec 18th Tuesday to Monday the 24th.
No one would service our room for the entire stay, 6 nights. The room was already grossing us out.
There was someone else's dark body hair in the bathroom on the floor and on the toilet.
There was a piece of metal protruding from the floor. The room was like a box, small windows facing a bunch of balconies next door.
The hotel is beautiful and I am sure there are some beautiful rooms - but it is not the Studios!!!
We were told all the studios are exactly the same. Next to the elevator with limited views. Tired, worn furniture with an odd mix of new and old. They updated the countertops but put a faded sleep sofa in with beat up furniture.
The bathtub was another oddity, it couldn't have be more than 4' long.
There were some great employees and some not so great employees.
I put poor for service because the hotel managers hide. You ask for them but they are not available. You call them and it goes to voicemail.
The bell service, valet and concierge were all excellent.
I was excited about going to this property but the room we were given was not up to the Hilton standard.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to give your input to my resort team regarding your most recent stay. In reviewing your comments, I would like to sincerely apologize for the poor service you experienced during your stay. I will be personally following up with my resort team to address the issues you experienced, and the fact that they were not addressed prior to your arrival. Both my housekeeping and engineering teams have in place an inspection process to identify and correct any issues within our rooms before our guests are allowed to occupy the accommodation. With the comments you have provided I will be revisiting this inspection process to not only ensure that it is being followed correctly, but to look at restructuring it so that items such as what you had reported are not overlooked.
On behalf of the entire resort team, I would like to thank you once again for sharing your input with us and look forward to the next opportunity of having you as a guest at our resort.

Shiho Natori
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The resort is close to shopping and restaurants, and there are plenty of activities to choose from. The Kalia Tower pool was very cold, and I heard others saying all the pools were cold. A good reading light in the living area would have been nice too. Overall, I enjoyed the 1 bedroom unit I had and found it comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I am a Diamond Hilton Honors member and also a HGVC owner at Hilton Flamingo Las Vegas. We currently our staying at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Lagoon Tower. I have stayed at all the Hilton properties in Hawaii at least once. The staff is excellent and the property is well maintained with a vibrant location in Waikiki. Now for the bad news : HGVC is a waste of your money ...don't bother ...our location in the Lagoon Tower is in the back of the Tower on a low floor overlooking the Illikai Parking lot and screeching kids in the Lagoon Pool. The beds are dreadful , I guess the sweet sleeper beds are reserved for Hotel Guests only at Hampton Inn and other Hilton Brands ..our mattresses must have been "army surplus" or second hand from the local prison. The room is good size for Hawaii and has a fully equipted kitchen ..If Hilton wants to retain loyalty they had better pay attention to the DETAILS of the amenities offered by HGVC because they are not up to the standards of the rest of their brand ...we contacted the management regarding the location and they said they were booked and could not make any changes ..they will call us if there is anything else that opens up ..the sad part is that the same thing happened last year in The Grand Waikikian Tower when we were given a room that the previous guest had smoked cigars ! Again there was nothing management could do EXCEPT assure me that the next time they would make sure our stay was exceptional ....so much for promises ... after 25 year career in management and marketing I have determined that the Hotel Timeshare Concept is fatally flawed, once captured the brand has no loyalty to the owners at least in this case . I also own fractional Jet and fractional Boat ownership and they provide excellent service and always exceed expectations ...HGVC is the weakest link in the Hilton Brand...IMO ...The Hotel side of Hilton is best in class ...the HGVC side of Hilton is mediocre at Best ...at least when Waikiki is concerned .

Room Tip: High Floors with Lagoon View offers the best overall choice . Lagoon Tower, low floors especially in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltongrandvacations, Manager at Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us on your recent visit to Waikiki. Thank you for your invaluable input regarding your experience. I am sorry that the Resort Management could not help you with your room assignment which was on the West side of the building. Unfortunately, during our peak seasons when we are fully occupied with mostly owners, we are unable to offer some guest’s their room or view preference. Rest assured that the staff really tried to help you with a room move, but as much as they tried, they were not able to. I am sorry that you were not happy with the room and its amenities, particularly the mattress. We are on a floor by floor renovation now, and have been for a few months, so hopefully on your next visit, it should be completed and you will enjoy your stay with us more.

Thank you again for your input and we look forward to giving you our aloha greeting!

John R. Reagan
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the Lagoon Tower in a two bedroom suite and it was an incredible experience. The ambiance, amenities and location make the Hilton a desirable property to stay at. The property is large and has a mini shopping area which includes luxury items. There are a number of large pools for the kids and water activities at the lagoon for the adults. Because our suite had a large, functional kitchen, we bough groceries and cooked on site. The restaurant options directly outside the hotel property such as the coffee shop and Todai's were not desirable. You would have to drive or take the bus to the International Market area for a wider variety of restaurants and food vendors. Our suite was located overlooking the luau area, so we were able to watch from our spacious balcony. Overall an incredible visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in an ocean front 2BR 2BA unit on the 19th floor of the Lagoon Tower from Dec 22-Dec 29. Ocean front truly means ocean front, the two southern end units on each floor have balconies that front the ocean with no obstructions. The view was incredible. Condo was clean, nicely decorated and kitchen well stocked. Having a kitchen in Waikiki really helps - just being able to eat breakfast in your room can save big $$. Some other reviews mentioned music/noise from bars below - we heard them every night, even on the 19th floor. The music went late - bring ear plugs. They do the trick. Free laundry on each floor was great. I never waited for a machine.

We had a car. A car in Waikiki is both a blessing and a curse. Parking at the Hilton Hawaiian Village is expensive - $25-$30 per night. We got a tip that you can park for free until 10:30pm in the lot directly across from the Lagoon tower, where all the locals park to surf. There is an overnight lot next to the free lot where you can park for 10 hours for $6. If you are willing to do a little work, you can save a lot on parking. Finding a spot in the free lot can be tricky during the day. Most visitors from the mainland are up early anyway so securing spot early in the AM is not so bad.

I would recommend trying to get out of the complex at least a few times for a meal. Alan Wong's Pineapple Room is at Macy's at the Ala Moana shopping mall (walking distance)- even after reading questionable reviews, we thought the burger (at $15) and the Kailua Pig BLT were both incredible. Every burger in Waikiki is expensive - might as well get a good one. The Wailana Coffee house across from the Hilton had good breakfast food. Every breakfast place seems to do a good Coconut Macademia Nut pancake so use this trip as an excuse to eat something you would not normally. Restaurant Epic requires a car, but was probably turned out the best meal we had - roasted duck salad, cioppino, shrimp risotto, and short ribs with mac 'n cheese. Dessert was a french toast with nutella, macademia nuts and caramel. Also a car ride away was Cinnamon's - red velvet and guava chiffon pancakes. Ala Moana Mall had the biggest food court I have ever seen - lots of options, but definitely food court quality food. Fresh malasadas from Leonard's are worth the trip. We went to Costco and loaded up on basics - they had a fresh tuna poke bar which was really good. I still don't understand the appeal of the Loco Moco (hamburger over rice, topped with an egg and gravy). We ordered pizza from Roundtable in the Hilton complex the night of the fireworks - it was expensive and just OK. Still nice to have dinner on the balcony and watch the fireworks.

The Hilton Hawaiian Village faces three well known surf breaks - Kaisers, Rock Pile, and Ala Moana Bowls. We watched the surfers go out every morning - some before dawn. Our son who regularly surfs in FL enjoyed Rock Pile. I think the other spots were more advanced. By Florida standards, the paddle out is long to all three breaks. Before I let him go out on his own, I made him take some lessons. We used Hans Hedemann in Waikiki and had a very good experience. They have a shuttle that can pick you up at the Hilton (pick up point can be a madhouse, many tours leave from the same spot in the Tapa Tower). Watch out for the reef - we don't have those where we live and it takes a while to get used to it. After lessons (Seth and Moses were both excellent instructors), we rented longboards from Hawaii Surfboard Rentals. They deliver and pick up - 2 day minimum, about $25 a day - much less expensive than the rental stands at the beach and you don't have to abide by the stand's hours. The Hilton has a special storage area for boards rented through third parties. My son was able to surf before 8:30am and after 4:30pm. We also tried stand up paddle boarding a couple of afternoons and really enjoyed that. The sea turtles swim right up to you if you paddle past the Hilton dock.

Many reviewers have commented on how crowded the Hilton complex is. The days before Christmas were not so bad. In the days following Christmas, the crowds got considerably bigger and lines got much longer. The line to rent chairs/equipment and check out towels started well before 8:30am when the stand opened. With so many visitors coming from the mainland, the Hilton should really consider opening the stand earlier, especially during peak periods. There are over 3,000 rooms and maybe 3 stands throughout the property for rentals/towels. Fitness center was full every morning by 6am. Since we are from Florida, we don't do pools, hot tubs, or lie in the sun on vacation. However, every time we walked past the pool with the water slides, it was packed.

Despite the crowds, I must note that we never waited very long for an elevator, even on check out day. Everyone was extremely friendly and we had an incredible trip. Would return to this property in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

All things considered, this property has everything to be had in Hawaii in a major resort destination. At the Hilton Hawaiian Village , it is clearly a destination property, and at the Grand Vacation club with the rooms that have a kitchen and dining facilities, its worth the price (and savings over constantly eating out). We found the kitchen well stocked with more then basic cooking utensils and once we walked around a bit, found some great grocery shopping for what we needed for some great in-room meals. This allowed us to splurge on some great meals out at other fine restaurants which were the usual high price of the islands, but given we hadn't eaten out for a couple of days it was no problem.

The hotel property is quite large, so make sure you know exactly what tower/property in the 'village' you are booked into, so your cab or the Wiki bus from the airport (best value) drops you as close as possible to your tower/property as there are multiple in the village and you don't want to end up hiking with your luggage.

Make sure to walk the property to get used to everything it has to offer, it is mostly beach front, and has its own private lagoon, so wander the property and get familiar with it, the pools tend to fill up their chairs early so plan accordingly.

If you want to take the beach front boats, walk about 1/2 a mile towards Diamond Head where most of them 'park' on the beach and take on passengers. Ask the front desk if they have any coupons or check the coupon books on the blvd.

Also across the street from the property (east) is a great cafe and breakfast stop for that one time you don't want to cook (try the banana pancakes).

Also, watch for the nightly torch lighting at dusk, a great photo op.

cheers,, uh AlooooHaaa,

Room Tip: Diamond head view is the better/best of the options after the beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village

Address: 2003 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#25 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#36 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at the Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village®, you'll have access to the Village's spectacular amenities, including an exercise facility to maintain your workout routine, over 20 restaurants and lounges, complimentary shows and live events, first-class shopping and a wide variety of activities the whole family will enjoy. Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village® offers studios, one and two bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Grand Vacations Club At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Grand Vacations Club Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Honolulu Hilton
Hawaiian Hilton Village
Hilton Grand Vacations Suites At Hilton Hawaiian Village Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Grand Vacations Suites at Hilton Hawaiian Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.