We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Tonkatsu!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tonkatsu Ginza Bairin

Tonkatsu Ginza Bairin
255 Beach Walk, Spc 1, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1933
808-926-8082
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #243 of 1,940 Restaurants in Honolulu
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Los Altos, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Tonkatsu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I heart Tonkatsu so much that I always try to go to different Tonkatsu places when available. I have been to numerous places in Asia (Japan and Hong Kong) also in Northern CA. I must say this is one of the best Tonkatsu place I can remember. Waikiki is like 2nd biggest Japan town in the US. Japanese food always meet certain standard - and this one certainly exceed my expectation. This place is kids' friendly too. Make reservation please, as it gets filled up quite quickly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    39
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty............”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife had the tenderloin set and I had the thick loin set. Both were good. Draft beer was fine. Only one Japanese chef who seemed quiet and uninterested. a bit pricy for the quantity/quality, but that is Waikiki !

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good, authentic tonkatsu restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had dinner here. Limited but authentic menu. Very attentive service. Very good donburi. Tonkatsu was good too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very good tonkatsu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We love Japanese food and we try to eat whenever possible so we can compare
the quality of different shops.Definitely not disappointed.Good quality pork and nicely cooked.
You can get free top up with rice.I had pretty expensive cut of pork $36 for the meal but money
well spent. We loved it. Try Koshihikari Echigo Beer - very good beer made of rice. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“BEST katsu I have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We ate there twice during our 7 days stay on the island. The place will be packed in the evening! I lived in a city that has lots of Japanese restaurants, but I gotta say Bairin has the best katsu I have ever hard! Expensive though, expect $20 per person.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tonkatsu Ginza Bairin also viewed

 
Honolulu, Oahu
Honolulu, Oahu
 

Been to Tonkatsu Ginza Bairin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tonkatsu Ginza Bairin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.