We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added White Sands Hotel to your Saves list
White Sands Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Hilo, Hawaii
1 review
“It is wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I had only one night stay there at this nice little hotel. However, I wish I could have more nights stayed there. It was on a very good location, near to all the beautiful shoppes and nice restaurants. It is extremely convenient. Surprisingly, with my very competitive price, I have got even a little kitchen. This is a surplus to people like me, who likes to cook and eat my own breakfast. My college daughter came over and we had each a large bed (although I booked only for myself). She was surprised as well, and said to me:'mom, I wish we could stay here longer." Well, next time. I told her that we will come back again to this little white sand hotel. I like the pool as well, but we love the most, is the workers at White Sand Hotel, they are very friendly and warm. We felt like we have been there a million times, although that was our first time. Only thing we found out a little disappointing is that there was not a white sand at all. "Why it's called white sand." she said. We will go back again in the future for sure!

4 Star hotel services without a star rate. It's absolutely wonderful!

Room Tip: try to book the room with pool view, and I like the first floor the best because you walk out your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Aloha myalee,
What a wonderful Halloween treat to read your wonderful review! I am ecstatic that you and your daughter enjoyed your stay with us, and that you are sure to return in the very near future. I appreciate the great things you had to say about our property and especially for our staff. I am truly lucky to have such a dedicated team.
A Hui Hou,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    173
    66
    31
    22
See reviews for
99
185
48
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed for two 4 night stays while in transit and found the Hotel office staff to be very helpful. We had a ground Floor Pool View room which we found to be ideal. The hotel is very handy to Restaurants and Shopping Complexes, and only a short walk to Waikiki Beach. The beds were Comfy and the Linen Clean and in good condition.had everything that was necessary in the Kitchen. We would definitely stay again, and will recommend the White Sands Hotel to our friends back in New Zealand

Room Tip: We were on Ground floor overlooking Pool area.very quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Aloha Don C,
Mahalo for taking the time to write such a nice review! I agree that our Pool View rooms are ideal, as we pride ourselves as a little oasis in the middle of Waikīkī. Thank you in advance for spreading the word about our small piece of Hawai'i to all of the other kiwis. We look forward to the next time you can stay with us!
Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naalehu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

When I find a treasure I generally like to keep it to myself but this one I will share. The White Sands Hotel was a great surprise. Booked unseen and last minute, I didn’t know what to expect. I absolutely loved the “vintage Waikiki” atmosphere. The room with a well-stocked kitchenette was spacious, clean, and extremely comfortable. Even better, the price was reasonable. Additionally, the location is to die for. It is within walking distance to the beach and a morning run to Starbucks, evening strolls along Waikiki and ease of access to any of the driving lanes for other island undertaking. I will most definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Aloha L S,
Thank you for your review and spoiling our secret! I am so happy that you were pleasantly surprised by our little property's location and rather large rooms. We loved having you as a guest and hope you return in the very near future!
Mahalo,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel offers great value for money in an excellent location, close to everything, beach, shops, restaurants, bus stop.... Rooms were older, but felt nice and clean and our bed was very comfortable. Definitely recommend the courtyard/pool facing rooms, but probably not the city/street facing rooms - definitely worth paying a little extra for a nicer outlook and quieter room. Staff are the real highlight here - very friendly, welcoming and helpful - a special thanks for Christieann for her fabulous positivity, cheefulness and can do attitude :-)

Room Tip: Definitely go for a pool room facing the inner courtyard (lovely pool and garden setting)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Aloha Christine P,
Mahalo for the wonderful review! Christieann is definately a shining star, so thank you for recognizing her. I am happy that you enjoyed your room and stay with us. We hope you come back to the White Sands in the very near future.
A Hui Hou,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

good distance from everywhere. has a nice 7ft pool. the 1st floor rooms have a sliding door that goes straight to the pool/patio. outside the sliding door has 2 chairs n a table. inside the room has a good a/c and a small kitchen w/ a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker, and sink. staff is friendly and quick. housekeeping does a fine job. i put a ding on cleanliness because it seems older than other hotels so it had an "old" smell when i first got inside the room, though, it quickly dissipated. i didnt see/use a restaurant/gym so i put average on ratings for both. but like the title said, i will be back for sure.

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms get a patio to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Aloha TonyC,
Mahalo for taking the time to review our property! It is always wonderful when people return and I am so thankful that you will be one of them! We are slowly, but surely improving things at our property. Hopefully next time you won't get an 'old' smell upon arrival.
Until We Meet Again,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreno Valley, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked thru Orbitz. Air and Hotel for a week in Honolulu At the White Sands Hotel. The white Sands is an Older but still very nice 3 story hotel. The room was nice with a small but usable kitchenette. Microwave, small fridge and we asked for a toaster and they gave us one. The rooms have nice balconies and the grounds are lush with beautiful vegitation and a Pool and Hot Tub. Pool is open till 10 at nite. Centrally located in Waikiki and within walking distance of most places you wish to go.Very friendly staff, thanks to Christieann, Christina, Paul D and Ron and of course all the service staff for making our trip a very special and memorable one. We would stay here again and again if only time and money would permit.

Room Tip: If booking thru Orbitz upgrade to the full kitchen, larger fridge and better room size and amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Aloha Rickczap,
Thank you for your review! I am thrilled that you enjoyed our property, especially our lush pool area. I also thank you for singling out Christieann, Cristina, Ron and myself, but also that you had great service from our entire team. Hopefully time and money will allow a quick return to Hawai'i & the White Sands.
Mahalo,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location. Close to Waikiki and all shops and restaurants. Not glamorous by any means but great for price. We had a room with a garden view and it was lovely. Super friendly and helpful staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kekuwene, Manager at White Sands Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Aloha Charlotte M,
Mahalo for taking the time to write a quick review of our property! I hope you enjoyed your stay and return again soon!
Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
Paul Dun - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Hotel

Address: 431 Nohonani St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815 (Formerly Celebrity Resorts Waikiki)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#44 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint low-rise hotel is your home away from home located just 1 1/2 blocks to Waikiki Beach, less than a block to shopping, dining and the best Waikiki activities. The lovely central courtyard features a swimming pool with sundeck and barbeque grill. All rooms offer lanai/balconies open to city or pool views and most rooms include kitchenette facilities with stove-top, microwave and refrigerator. With our convenience fee for all stays beginning August 1, 2014, White Sands Hotel allows guests to enjoy many hotel services and activities without having to incur miscellaneous charges. These amenities include DVDNow (Unlimited movies & PS3 games), Waikiki Shuttle (Complimentary Waikiki Shuttle Service), Daily Newspaper, In Room Coffee, In Room Safe, and Local & Toll-Free Calls. Come experience quintessential Hawaiian hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your White Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.