We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION in Waikiki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Royal Hawaiian Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #59 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION in Waikiki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

A terrific location for tourists (on Kuhio) who don't want to pay the high prices of being right on the beach .. ..

All the Waikiki spots are easily walkable and a free (Hilo Hatties) WAIKIKI TROLLEY stops right at the hotel .. ..

There is an ABC STORE right across the street to stock up on water, soda & juices .. .. And, there is an IHOP directly across the street and a MCDONALDS on the next block .. .. For those who are really early risers (before 6A), there is a Denny's about three blocks towards the beach on Lewers - Ask the frontdesk for all the late-night fodie joints .. ..

The pool is nice as is the jacuzzi and the whole place has a nice vibe to it .. .. Rooms are good enough, but a wee it small by Courtyard standards - You can tell that Marriott purchased the building from someone else .. ..

If you are an ICE fanatic, you could have a problem here as there are no icemakers on the floors > You will need to call room service for ice .. ..

Like all Waikiki Hotels, parking is non-existant, so the only alternative is VALET ($22 per day) .. .. Despite a loathing for all things valet, it was quick, easy and efficient, so no complaints there as there was no choice!

Wired Internet in the room is FREE and the Business Center next to the pool has two dedicated PCs .. ..

All-in-all, we got a great rate here so I really enjoyed the stay > Everthing I would expect from a Courtyard .. ..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    445
    315
    123
    55
See reviews for
232
526
113
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as a last resort option. We were staying for 4 nights and it was a last minute change in plans. Since the days were on Christmas we had difficulty finding a place to stay at a reasonable rate. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The entrance and lobby are beautiful but do not reflect on the room at all. The room was very old looking and extremely small. We stayed in a 'suite' since we are a family of four. This was one of the smallest suites I have seen and I have stayed in many hotel rooms in many European and Asian cities. Still it was good enough for us since we never stayed in the room anyway. Location is great and as I said staff was great help. If you don't mind the room size it's an ok place to stay. Also, I think the regular room sizes were much better than the 'suite".

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We just left Waikiki Beach and stayed for 6 days at this hotel. The price is very reasonable and we found the staff to be outstanding. They went out of their way to make our stay very enjoyable. There was a confusion over one of our tours and the staff spent twenty minutes on the phone getting everything straightened out for us. Their dinner recommendations were outstanding. I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The price is extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
149 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
281 helpful votes 281 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2009

This is a decent hotel with a friendly and helpful staff and very nice lobby. The rooms, however, are a bit lacking. As an Elite member, I was assigned a corner room in the main building on an upper floor facing the mountains, A side window afforded a partial view of the ocean. The rooms was ample in size although the clothes closet, including in-room safe, was actually in the bathroom - very strange. The room was comfortable but could have used a little touch-up paint and stain removal from the carpeting. Housekeeping was acceptable but not perfect. The bathtup was stained and sorely in need of refinishing. I feel sorry for those who are not elite members as some rooms face noisy Kuhio Ave and from the lower floor rooms, you can wave to the passengers on the buses that pass every few minutes!!

This property has a lot of history. Before becoming a Courtyard, it was the Wyland Waikiki and part of the Outrigger Chain. In fact, they still own it. Before that it was the notorious Ohana Waikiki Surf and Waikiki Surf East. I stayed in the latter some years ago and it was absolutely horrible. A few years ago, the buildings underwent major renovations and was supposed to open as a Hilton. But mold remediation problems delayed opening for a long time and Hilton realized the property wasn't up to their standards. Why Marriott decided to take this one is a mystery to me. Having stayed at many Courtyard properties, this is hardly a Courtyard. No matter how hard they try, it's the old Waikiki Surf with new furnishings and a spiffy lobby. And speaking of the lobby, for some reason, they lock the main entrance on Kuhio at 9PM and you are forced to use a zig-zag route to enter the property from Royal Hawaiian Ave. You either have to walk through the parking lot or stumble across restaurant tables to get to this entrance whereas the principal entrance on Kuhio is much more straightorward and the bus stop is right outside that entrance.

In summary, if you get a good price and are an elite member of Marriott's program, this hotel is an acceptable place to stay. Otherwise, you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

We stayed here in Feb 08, before this hotel joined the Marriot chain and it was then called Wyland Waikiki. Liked he decor, the location and he clean rooms. Breakfast vouchers gave a right to buy an American coffee and a bagle in the cofeeshop adjacent to the lounge; not very special.
Will be back next Feb on Marriott points to check if Marriott ownership has changed anything.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

We stayed here before the hotel became part of the Marriott chain but as an independent hotel we were very impressed. We managed to book a room for the wrong dates and when we arrived late at night the staff could not have been more helpful in trying to sort out what was, essentially, our problem. I'd describe the room as compact but that said reception did try and upgrade us when we checked in but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked. They also suggested we try again in the morning but the hotel was still fully booked. Despite being on the smallish side the room was very well decorated and appointed. Hotel was clean and staff were super helpful. Swimming pool not huge but a pleasant enough place to be if the beach is not your bag. Only a short walk to the famous Waikiki beach (10 mins), shopping areas (2mins) and bus stop (1to other parts of the island (including Diamond Head and Pearl Habour). Overall very impressed. Only downside was that the fire alarm kept going off at 8am but i assume that that problem has now been resolved!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

I stayed at the Courtyard for my 30th Birthday, so wanted somewhere that offered a good base to explore the city as we didn't intend to spend loads of time at the hotel!

It was only about 10mins walk to the beach, which was ideal, as it was nice to be able to venture in/out of the busiest tourist area.
There were plenty of shops/restaurants nearby the hotel or a short walk away. PLENTY OF ABC STORES!! You will know what I mean when you get there - there is pretty much one on every corner and they're great for good value souvenirs and essential items.

Our room was spacious and cleaned daily, the cleaning staff were always very courteous, as were the reception staff. However, even though we paid in full for our hotel with Virgin Holidays, we were still asked to leave a deposit at the front desk of about $140 for the duration of our stay - we didn't have a credit card and if we hadn't had the cash on us, it may have been a problem.

The pool is quite small but nice (never busy so you can always get a sunbed) and the free freezer full of icepops by the pool was a welcome bonus on a hot day!

Ulrich on the Expedia Local Expert desk was great, very helpful when booking trips! Make sure you try the Genesis Aviation open-door helicopter ride (approx $230 per person) - it was TOTALLY AMAZING!!

Other tips for thIngs to do: snorkelling in Hanauma Bay, Rainforest Hike with Oahu Tours, trekking up Diamond Head (much cheaper to get the bus and do this yourself rather than through a tour group). Pearl Harbour - again, go yourself on the bus (but bear in mind its takes a good hour or so to get there).

Overall had a fantastic experience at the Courtyard - it provided everything we needed for our holiday and helped to make it a birthday to remember! Yes, there are more 'fancy' (i.e. expensive) hotels there, particularly by the beach; so if you plan to spend all your time at the hotel then choose elsewhere - but there's A LOT more to Honolulu/Oahu than your hotel room and the beach!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Address: 400 Royal Hawaiian Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#59 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki within walking distance to world-famous Waikiki Beach, shopping, signature restaurants, and Waikiki's nightlife. As urban oasis, our Oahu, Hawaii hotel’s accommodations & upgraded amenities offer the best value for Hawaii vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
Courtyard Hotel Waikiki Beach
Wyland Waikiki Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.