We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Royal Hawaiian Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #59 of 82 hotels in Honolulu
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I usually stay at the Courtyard brand by Marriott because it provides me what I need: a clean room; close to shopping/attractions and transportation; wi-fi and internet access; and microwave and refrigerator in the room. The hotel had all this and a wonderful front desk staff who were so accommodating that I felt bad about asking them for anything. I had expected a larger room since other Courtyards had larger rooms. I expected a bathtub not only a shower stall. I was "promised" a Waikiki view. I went to the front desk to ask for another room. The clerk, Maile, was so nice, explaining why I didn't get any of the things I expected: I had the largest double deluxe suite. Waikiki view rooms tend to be noisy since the rooms would face Kuhio, a main drag with non-stop buses and cars. Rooms with bathtubs were in another tower without balconies. She also pointed out that they had a jacuzzi that I could soak my shopping weary body in, at the end of the day, so I really didn't need a bathtub. She was willing to find me what I wanted, but I decided that it wasn't worth the effort of packing and moving. I would stay here again if I were ever to go to Honolulu.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main drag are quieter. They just don't have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    334
    419
    294
    116
    53
See reviews for
215
512
108
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott Waikiki Beach for our recent visit to Waikiki. The hotel is located centrally to many shops, restaurants, and an easy walk to the beach.
Our room was clean and the staff was helpful and courteous.

Rooms on the street side can be noisy- but its not horrible. Rooms are on the small side, but we didn't come to Hawaii to spend our time in a hotel room.
Bed was comfortable and plenty of pillows available to choose from.

The hotel has a spa- we didn't use it- but Marriott Elite members supposedly get a discount on services.

We'd stay here again the next time we visit.

Room Tip: It might be quieter to pick a room on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed there for about 40 days for business. The location is good for night-life as many of the popular bars and restaurants are nearby or a short stroll. I had a room in the annex building in the back behind the parking lot. The room was spacious for a courtyard and was quiet. The furniture was dated and during the day, don't even think about using the ONE elevator in the annex. The housekeeping staff has it tied up. If you do Laundry, Stay at the machines! Someone will remove your wet clothes, there are not enough machines for a place that has extended stay travelers. The bar is fun and the bar staff is friendly, especially if they know you will be there a while. Front desk staff is friendly, efficient and responsive. I stayed here for the points and would stay here in the future.

Room Tip: Get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is reasonably priced for its location and cleanliness, however the most outstanding feature was the friendly and polite staff. Courtney from reception was outstanding in understanding our issues and coming up with solutions!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We had booked our first night in Honolulu in advance. We stayed at the Courtyard by Marriott in Waikiki. We arrived on the hotel shuttle bus from the airport. Our plan was to find somewhere cheaper for the remainder of our stay. This proved difficult as the main local accommodation agency closed for the weekend on Friday evening. We asked at the Courtyard reception desk if they had any vacancies. Fortunately, they arranged for us to stay a further 5 nights at a reduced rate. Our room was very nice with a balcony. There were lots of restaurants nearby and several lovely beaches within walking distance. There is also a pool but who needs that when there is the sea? Local buses were reliable, cheap and plentiful. We spent a day at Pearl Harbour, travelled to the other side of the island, visited a volcanic crater and went on the open top “hop on, hop off” bus. Honolulu is surprisingly “built up”. All the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. There is an excellent coin operated laundrette in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Great Waikiki location, but this property is at the lower levels of the Marriott system. Obviously it was something else and Marriott did a conversion, but not very well (I am a very proud Marriott patron so this isn't a vendetta review.) Maybe having been to so many great Marriott's the condition of this hotel left a greater impact. It's tired, worn and dated. There are basic repairs needed and some basic training to staff missing. Don't get a street room, the noise is horrendous !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This was not the nicest Marriott I have stayed in but the it was clean, the staff was great and the location was perfect. It was within easy walking distance to all the high end shops and multiple restaurants. About a 1/2 mile walk to the beach through a well-traveled area. Not a scenic location.

The pool was small but nice. One must keep in mind, this is a Courtyard not a resort and you will be fine.

Room Tip: Probably should request a room not overlooking the main street and away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Address: 400 Royal Hawaiian Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#34 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki within walking distance to world-famous Waikiki Beach, shopping, signature restaurants, and Waikiki's nightlife. As urban oasis, our Oahu, Hawaii hotel’s accommodations & upgraded amenities offer the best value for Hawaii vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Marriott, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
Courtyard Hotel Waikiki Beach
Wyland Waikiki Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.