We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service And A Good Room That Met My Needs, But Some Long Term Maintenence Issues...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Royal Hawaiian Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #59 of 82 Hotels in Honolulu
Oahu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Service And A Good Room That Met My Needs, But Some Long Term Maintenence Issues...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here using the Marriott Rewards Visa Signature Credit Card, and they upgraded me to a suite for free. I paid with the annul free night they give me on the card (89 dollar annual fee for the credit card). So basically i got an upgraded room at a deeply discounted price once a year if i keep the card. This could change as they play around with hotel categories a lot and there are complex program rules. I have stayed here the previous year also and the experience was similar. It is a bit noisy in the morning with construction, cars, and that trolley bell "ding ding" every half hour or so.

The hotel needs soundproofing, especially on the windows. The hotel is older and needs upgrading, but service is great and the room and bed are clean. There are minor expected issues like some mold on the ceiling paint and things like that. The air conditioner didn't have heat and it was very cold in Waikiki when i went (low to upper 60s during the day). Fortunately it warmed up to 70 degrees around 2am after returning from the clubs located conveniently nearby, which are nice nonsmoking places to go. The air conditioner has some mold in it so i didn't use it for cooling, those would need to be replaced so i had to close the balcony door when i went to sleep and not have any air, which was ok. I don't know why they even need air conditioning in Hawaii from Nov to April because its not even close to hot and everything is over air conditioned in general.

The great things about the room is it has a microwave, great tea, and it has coffee for people. the coffee maker looked clean but i just microwaved water for tea. There is sugar and stirrers and mugs in there already too and very clean. Nice real glasses in the bathroom. The bedding is polyester but pretty comfortable. bed is firm but somewhat soft, so that's a plus in that most hotel beds are really firm.

The hotel and housekeeping staff are really nice. I know that Marriott works its workers really hard and doesn't pay them well, which is sad. If i had money i would have given tips to everyone but unfortunately this was a staycation for me because i am now living on windward Oahu.

Some services i didn't use include the spa, and they have a snack bar and Italian restaurant on site. the hours seem good and the food does look decent but am not sure how it is because i didn't go. I would suggest requesting a higher floor for less noise and specify your preferences on number and size of beds or other needs when you call to schedule a room. You can also ask for free combs, toothbrush and toothpaste if you forgot them, idk what else they have available. Each tower does have a pool but there both small and there is kids in them so i usually went to the beach. The hot tub next to the main pool does look a bit cloudy on both visits, i went in it the first time and it did not feel the cleanest, so i chose not to go in again. Also Waikiki beach water is cold, if you want warmer beach water you have to go to American Samoa or Guam, marshal islands or Palau or something like that. or you can go to virgin islands or other places in the Caribbean. look up ocean temperatures online for your trip, it seems silly but it will help you make the best use of your dollars and time and vacation enjoyment, especially if you or someone you love likes 85 degree water vs 74 degree water.

Overall this is a good hotel to start off with in Waikiki/Honolulu, which is a good introduction to the tropics, but this is really not a true tropical environment, it is more subtropical, so you can explore further later. oh average prices for rooms seem to range from a low of 99 to a high of 180, with 150 being the normal everyday rate it seems like. This is slightly higher than other Marriott properties and other states because Hawaii is more expensive than most places

Room Tip: It helps to sign up for the Marriott rewards program, or even better if you have the credit card, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    482
    327
    137
    61
See reviews for
251
549
119
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The service at this hotel is incredible! I arrived tired, hungry and not in the best mood. There was some confusion about the reservation (turns out on my end). Carrie from L.A. provided 5 star customer service, thanked me for being a loyal Marriott customer and gave me a room upgrade. She was great! I read previous reviews about the rooms being tired and have to disagree. I didn't find my room to be tired. It may have been a little small but it's Waikiki and that's pretty standard. There is also a ton of value staying here. Two blocks from the beach at a fraction of the price without hidden "Resort fees" which drive me crazy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This hotel has everything you need. It is on the far end of the beach but I enjoyed being a little further away from the commotion. We had a great room with a view of both Diamond Head and the beach. The hotel had 2 pools which was nice but due to issues with small children screaming and splashing with no supervision we found ourselves having to constantly move between the two but that was something we could not change. The only real negative was the restaurant. It was expensive had no view, was understaffed and was outdated and old. The food also needed a makeover. But there was some good entertainment at night out by the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Do not confuse this hotel with the Marriott Waikiki beach hotel. The Courtyard is not on the beach (about 2 blocks inland) and is much smaller that the Beach hotel. Having said that it is much cheaper and is quite adequate, with a nice atmosphere a pool, a bar and a spa etc.
Our rooms were quite small and a little tired. The rooms overlooking the main road can be noisy as the double glazing does not seem to work very well.
The "associated" Italian restaurant in the same block is quite good.
However, the staff are friendly and helpful - Like other reviews - we liked everything about the hotel except the bedroom. But you don't expect to spend much time in the bedroom in Waikiki !

Room Tip: Rooms over the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was my first trip to Hawaii, I absolutely loved the hotel and the area. The staff was wonderful, the lobby is a cool, open air style place to hang out. The bar in the lobby area was pretty neat too, usually packed with some visitors. Friendly staff, very hospitable. The rooms were really small and cramped- the bathroom specifically. This is Hawaii and if you are going there to stay in your room, you are probably at the wrong place. The rooms are clean, which is honestly what matters to me. I would most likely stay here again. It is a couple blocks walking distance from the beaches, but you don't pay the beach front resort rate.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed here last week when i visited Waikiki. At first i wasn't to excited about staying in this hotel because it was a couple of blocks away from the beach and i had my heart set on staying right on the beach (yes i am a little high maintenance,) Especially because of the fact that several friends of mine were staying at the embassy suites which are right across the street from the beach. When it was all said and done boy was i happy i ended up staying at this hotel. The stay ended up being perfect. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. I had an amazing experience starting off from the valet when i first pulled up to the quick response of housekeeping in regards to anything that is needed for your room. I seriously have never had tooth paste or wine glasses brought up to my room so quickly at any hotel i have ever stayed in. The front desk staff was very friendly and polite, the bartenders downstairs was very attentive as well, after my second day of staying there they had remembered my drink order. The rooms were very clean and housekeeping did a great job making sure that was the case each and everyday. The check out process was easy and painless. The location is perfect because it is pretty much a block or two away from anything that is needed whether it be nice high end restaurants or great local restaurants, the beach is two blocks away and there is a ton of great shopping 1 block away from the hotel. Certainly would recommend this place to anyone going to Waikiki. On top of everything there pricing is very competitive and you are not overpaying for the fact that the beach is in your face.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The rooms are a bit on the dingy side. It is so loud. We can hear everything that is going on outside, which makes it hard to rest. It is pretty cramped. It's some 10 minutes away from the beach, which is not bad, but it will not be my first choice the next time I visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach

Address: 400 Royal Hawaiian Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#30 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki within walking distance to world-famous Waikiki Beach, shopping, signature restaurants, and Waikiki's nightlife. As urban oasis, our Oahu, Hawaii hotel’s accommodations & upgraded amenities offer the best value for Hawaii vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
Courtyard Hotel Waikiki Beach
Wyland Waikiki Hotel
Courtyard By Marriott Waikiki Beach Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Waikiki Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.