We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai to your Saves list
Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1777 Ala Moana Blvd Suite #212, (take elevator to the second floor), Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Discount
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

This was my husband and my fourth trip to Waikiki. We've stayed in an Ohana, the Marriott, and the New Otani on previous trips. Hands down, the Waikiki Marina Resort outdid them all. The room size was awesome. We had plenty of room to spread out and relax between sightseeing journeys and beach visits.

The room appeared to be recently upgraded, and the kitchen and equipment provided for cooking were great. The room was very clean, the linens were pristine, the housekeeping very efficient. I cooked breakfast for all but 4 days of our 2 week stay, and on the days where I forgot to wash a cup or something, we would return and the cup had been cleaned for us.

We were quite satisfied with the city view from our lanai on the 16th floor, and weren't bothered by any street noises. In fact, we didn't hear any noises from any other rooms either, the walls are nice and thick. The lanai was large...1 lounge chair, 2 regular chairs and a table, plus space to move around.

The location was ideal. I came to prefer being on this end of Waikiki, as it allowed us to walk along the beach in the a.m. and p.m. to reach the hotel. It was also a short walk over to the Ala Moana Center, and along Magic Island and Ala Moana beach park.

The resort recently began providing free high speed internet access. That was a huge bonus, as we expected to have to pay. We did pay the rather high valet fee, but we've paid for parking at similar rates during all of our Hawaii trips, so I expected the fee and planned for it.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    223
    54
    35
    36
See reviews for
184
292
50
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BErkeley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

Was great. I went with my boyfriend, we had a good time. We loved the convenience and location; as well as the fully equiped kitchen. Will stay there again.

Great Concierge
Let us check in early in the morning
Friendly staff
Clean Room
Great Location (quieter part of waikiki)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2009

The Aqua Waikiki Marina was found on the net, and booked because it was reasonable by comparison. The front desk Check-in was good. However, the room key card needed to operate the elevator worked very inconsistently. The elevator is an exposed elevator on the buildings exterior. For those with height issues, this may be a concern considering the amount of movement the elevator car had on its tracks. This could be somewhat concerning. The room was on the 12th floor which was in the process of being renovated. Everyone understands renovations are necessary, however, again it was very concerning to see the fire alarms had been taped over with painters tape. When we opened the door to the room, there was a very dank, old dusty odor, and it was very hot. I can live quite comfortably in old and clean. I cannot stand. old and dirty. While the appliances; dishwasher, dryer, and washer, are relatively recent, it was obvious, much of the odor was eminating from the washer. Somewhat of a swampy/sewage odor. Now again, old and clean, OK, old and dirty, not OK. To get air movement, we turned on the stove fan, and three dead bugs fell on to the stove top. Looking around the room, we observed three more bug carcasses dried up and attached to wall surfaces. Now we specifically selected the Aqua Waikiki because we had planned to make our own meals. There we not enough dishes, pans, cuttlery to accomodate one person, let alone two. When we opened the drawers, guess what, more bugs. When we brought these item to the attention of the desk, we got an apology, and they said they would send someone up. Well the someone, picked the obvious bugs, but also missed some. Being Canadians, we are used to bugs and decided to name them. They were ok with that and once you are on a first name basis with the dead bugs we got along ok. However, the fowl smell from the washer was disgusting, and at no point in all of our discussions with the desk personell did they provide an alternative. House keeping removed our used towels and failed to replace them, again, hello front desk. Maybe the other floors are better, but at this writing stay away from the 12th floor. Overall, this place is old and dirty and would not recommend.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

This was our 2nd time staying at the Ilikai in less than a year and have found the hotel quite accommodating, service excellent, couldn't ask for a better location, convenience, and met all our expectations. Rooms newly renovated with equipped kitchen were great! Exterior of hotel could stand an update tho.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

The Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai was a wonderful place to stay, walking distance to Waikiki Beach, and the Ala Moana Center Mall. It is a great accommodations, comfortable bed, great view from the terrace. Would recommend to anyone and everyone.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

As we entered our room we were so happy to find that it had a wonderful view of the city. We read all the great review's and we pretty much couldn't belive that we got such a gem for a great price, thru Expedia. The registration was simple and painless . We were dissapointed to find out that the parking cost so much , so if your only going to be staying in Waikiki area, no need to rent a car. You are walking distance to center of Waikiki . We found the bed to be comfy and we chosse to have the minimal housekeeping. New towels were replace daily . Kitchen was equiped for 4 people so plenty of dishes,pots and pans.
SInce we were facing the main street , I was concerned about the noise, but found it to be quiet and I did not even notice any construction noise since we were on the beach through out the day.
We have already made plans to go back next winter. I would defnitly recommend this resort to those who are looking for a clean, large ,full kitchen for a great price.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

Needed to attend a funeral so had to find a booking quickly. We are spoiled by owning our own timeshare so a full kitchen is always a must for us. This is not a resort as the name implies but rather a basic hotel room with a full kitchen addition to it. It is located within the Ilikai Hotel made famous by Hawaii 5-0 where Steve Magarret stood out on the balcony during the shows intro. Keep in mind that the show ran in the late 60's so the hotel looks pretty worn out from the outside. The interior and lobby is pretty nice and the staff is friendly and helpful. There is only one restaurant on the premises an expensive italian restaurant called Sarento's but well liked by many of the locals. The proximity to the beach, restaurants and shopping is conveniently close by. Dont bother asking for the water view because you cant see anything unless you're on the 15th floor or higher. Be sure to book directly thru their website where they always have the cheapest price. Not everything was impeccably cleaned but it was a good price for the location and we were very comfortable with our room. You will also have to pay extra per day for valet parking because there is no self parking. This is the best price for a full kitchen room / Timeshare type unit within Waikiki. Overall I rate this a 6 out of 10. We would definiteley stay here again because of the location and the price.

  • Liked — Kitchen and location to everything
  • Disliked — Needs updating
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Blvd Suite #212, (take elevator to the second floor), Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your own paradise at the highly rated Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, which provides the perfect setting for your next Hawaiian getaway. Here you'll find spacious and beautifully appointed 500 sq ft studio suite accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, private furnished balconies, a swimming pool, day spa, onsite restaurants, 24/7 fitness center, various shops and most importantly NO RESORT FEES. Impeccable service and warm island hospitality is provided at the second floor registration office for Shell Vacations. Fronting the Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, the eco-concious vacation ownership resort is adjacent to award-winning Duke Kahanamoku lagoon and beach park. An easy stroll to Waikiki Beach where the sparkling blue waters of the Pacific Ocean lap the soft sand. Stay here for all the comforts of home and realize a better way to vacation. ***PLEASE NOTE*** The Ilikai Hotel Bellmen no longer provide any luggage assistance for Waikiki Marina Resort guests. There is a self-service cart available for guest use at the Valet Parking stand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Marina Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Waikiki Marina
Waikiki Marina Honolulu
Aqua Marina Hotel
Waikiki Marina Resort At The Ilikai Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.