We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai to your Saves list
Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1777 Ala Moana Blvd Suite #212, (take elevator to the second floor), Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Abbotsford, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a really nice place to stay. Staff are very knowlegable and friendly. We traded our timeshare and it was so nice not to be bugged by timeshare sales. They only left us one message, and did not bother us after that. A nice touch was a box of macademia chocolates when we arrived and coconut cookies when we left. Our suite was nice and big with all the necessary items including a full stove. The deck was nice as we were on the 22nd floor with a city view. Easy walk to the mall and Waikiki, and a nice beach walk all the way to the other end of Waikiki. Walmart is about a 20 minute walk, but they don't have fresh meat. You can go to Foodland but is really pretty pricey. Hotel Deck area is huge and a nice view of the marina. The pool is too small and very hard to get a chair, although I think for the timeshare they are building another small pool which is really needed. I would stay there time and time again.

Room Tip: Most time shares have the city view. It is beautiful with all the lights at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    224
    54
    35
    36
See reviews for
185
292
50
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Another great 4 days in Honolulu. This SVC resort is top notch. Friendly, helpful staff and good amenities. Walking distance to the mall and Waikiki for shopping. Lots of excellent eating establishments around to satisfy all appetites.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake Village, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Staff was excellent and very helpful. Yes - the rates are lower than other spots in Waikiki and our expectations were set accordingly. Amenities of the condo like the microwave and refrigerator were fine, but the television should also be replaced. However, hallways, and balcony exterior need some work. Laundry facilities on each floor were great.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at the Waikiki Marina Resort for 5 nights after receiving a deal through Orbitz.

I must admit I was confused as to why the name on the outside of the building says The Ilikai. And then, when we walked in to check in, it hit me: TIMESHARE! Guests of The Ilikai are registered at the hotel's front desk, while guests of the Waikiki Marina Resort (same building, just they have their own assortment of units within The Ilikai) are told to go up to the 2nd floor and register in a small office where the timeshare people check you in.

The registration process was simple enough. Luckily, we got there on a Monday and it was an hour or so before the listed Check-In Time, so we did not have to wait to see the agent.

Kent checked us in and gave us a list of amenities (pool, laundry facility, free internet, restaurant hours, etc.). After he gave us our keys, a lady in an adjoining office (who called herself the concierge) tried to get us to come sit down so she could tell us about some of the discounts she could find us while we were on the island.

Naturally, my spidey sense was awakened and I knew right away that this woman was probably going to try and sell us a timeshare. Lucky for us, my wife and I brought along our young son, who at this time was very tired and cranky after the long flight over from the mainland. Just the excuse we needed to tell her "we'll be back, he's kind of tired and we need to get settled in first."

Long story short, we dodged their numerous phone calls to our room and avoided them like the plague so we could enjoy our vacation on Oahu without having to waste half a day telling these people we're not interested in throwing away our money on a timeshare. (As you can probably guess, my wife and I have had our share of timeshare experiences.)

The hotel itself is located very close to Ala Moana Park and right next door to the Hilton. Valet parking is the way to go, just account for the $25 daily fee into your budget. We used our car several times a day and they always got our car from the garage quickly.

We were in Room 1211, which is a street view studio. From this room, you can step out onto the lanai and see the ABC Store, Buffalo Wild Wings, and McDonald's (among other outlets) across the street in the Discovery Bay mall.

Room 1211 comes with a stove, fridge, microwave (tucked in a tiny kitchenette). No dishwasher, though, so that sucked royally, having to wash dishes by hand! On the opposite side of the sink and counter setup are two bar stools where you can eat. (You can also go out on the lanai and eat if you prefer, but the street noise below -- even from 12 stories up -- won't make you feel like you're in Hawaii.)

The kitchen comes with plenty of pots/pans/plates/silverware/cups, etc. There's also a toaster and coffee maker with two free pouches of coffee, some tea and your usual assortment of sugar/sugar substitute.

You will have to bring your own food of course, and there are three Costcos on this island, plus Target and Walmart, so you've got plenty of choices. DO NOT BUY YOUR GROCERIES FROM THE ABC STORE ACROSS THE STREET! I mean, you can, but you're going to pay at least twice as much for a gallon of milk and a box of cereal than you would by waiting until you can drive over to Walmart or Costco.

I found it odd that there were no dresser drawers to speak of in this unit. There's a closet, which works fine for hanging dress shirts and slacks I guess. But we brought swim trunks, t-shirts and flip flops to Hawaii, not work clothes!

We ended up using the two small and narrow drawers that are part of the unattractive TV armoire to put our clothes in, and it worked out fine.

The TV in Room 1211 is an old 32" tube model (no HD). Hard to see from the head of your bed which is situated all the way across the room on the opposite side of the studio. It comes with a decent selection of local cable networks, but not what you might be used to if you have Dish/Direct/Uverse/Comcast, etc. at home.

The AC unit (which we kept on pretty much the whole time) is located a few feet behind the pullout sofa bed, meaning it blocks 75% of the AC current most of the time. Hence the reason we just kept it on the whole time. We were never uncomfortable with the room temperature (except when our young son decided to play with the AC remote and set the temp to 86 degrees! Bad boy!)

There are two queens in this unit and both of them were very uncomfortable. I'll admit my wife and I are used to sleeping on top-of-the-line pillow-top mattress at home, so we were unaccustomed to the inferior mattress. Needless to say, it wasn't too long before both of us had sore backs.

Electrical outlets near the bed can be found by pulling the mattress away from the wall. There's also an alarm clock with a built-in iPhone dock (charger/player) on the night stand.

There is free internet all over this part of the neighborhood obviously, as our devices were able to grab onto any number of strong and free (albeit unsecured) wireless signals. Waikiki Marina Resort offers a free secure connection, but theirs seemed to bounce us off and on occasionally, so I ended up jumping on one SSID that was called "The Ilikai Ultrafast."

The only bathroom in Room 1211 has a tile shower, and the removable shower head sits nice and high (my wife and I are both very tall people). The water pressure was fine (I hate low pressure showers!)

There is a laundry room right next to Room 1211 and when I first saw it as we were settling in, I thought, "Oh my God. We're going to be inundated with foot traffic, loud people and washing machines/dryers..." However, to my pleasant surprise, the laundry room (which features two washers and dryers) was almost always empty and we didn't hear a peep from the machines. The cost to run each machine is $2.50 and there is a change machine for quarters down in the main lobby where The Ilikai guests check in.

We never got a chance to try the Sarento restaurant (which sits atop the hotel). Instead, we usually found ourselves eating out as we were driving around and exploring the entire island. A couple of fine nearby choices we did catch, tough: Fat Greek and Kobe Steakhouse, both just a two-minute walk away. The Tropics Bar & Grill next door at the Hilton is waaaaaaay overrated (though they do make a killer drink called "The Itch.").

There is an onsite swimming pool at The Ilikai but it's nothing to write home about. Heated though, so that's nice. You're better off going to the beach to soak up your rays there.

The overall service we received from the valet service and the hotel staff made our stay uneventful -- which in hotel speak translates to GOOD! Aside from a few minor blemishes (peeling paint on the baseboards, for example), this place wasn't that bad. If only the mattresses were better, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Valet service here is top notch! Friendly and fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We (three adults of different ages) stayed in this hotel for 5 days and we were so happy with the stay that we will return next year. Why stay somewhere else when you have found this amazing place? The staff that greeted us when we checked in was so sweet and helpful (we even got a welcome package with a map of the area and a booklet with discounts at different places nearby). They made us feel very welcome and whenever we needed assistance with something they were there to help and always with a smile on their faces. The room was also very nice and bigger than we had expected. Great kitchen with everything you need to cook food for several people. Big balcony with lots of space for everyone and we had a wonderful view of the Hilton Lagoon and the ocean. There was also a big bathroom with a walk in shower and plenty of space. Both internet (very fast and reliable) and the safe were free of charge. We loved that we could use the laundry room since it was much needed after a long cruise. The hotel in itself is a very nice place with a beautiful lobby where you always find a place to sit down and rest. Good coffee shop with very nice freshly made smoothies. The bus stop is right outside the main entrance. There is an easy and short walk to the Hilton Lagoon and to the beach. Close to a grocery shop where they have everything you need (and more). Walking distance to most places you want to visit and to the Ala Moana Shopping Center. Great place in a great location and for a great price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very Nice room, looks just like the pictures on the web site, we went with our two sons, 17and 20, we ended up getting a rollaway for one of them as the sofa bed is not big enough for two adults. We had an partial ocean view room, with a great view of the lagoon and ocean. Had a balcony and was on the 10th floor. Has a full kitchen with two seats at the counter.
The only complaints is thE gym is very small and old and the sofa bed is somewhat uncomfortable, but probably ok for smaller kids.
The marina resort is the time share part of the hotel so they will try to get you to go to a timeshare presentation, but you don't need to do it. Otherwise they can just book activities without any credit for the timeshare presentation.
It is very near the big alamoana mall, and about a twenty minute walk from the downtown stores.
Would stay the again, very good value.

Room Tip: Higher floor is always better, there is a big air conditioning unit on the ground floor which would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is very nice with big rooms. The beach was a 2 min walk and if you want to walk to Ala Moana mall it is about 15 min. Waikiki beach is very wide at this end of the beach compared to the other side,so that is very nice.
The only minus must be that if you are travelling with small children and want to go to a restaurant in the center of waikiki,it is a bit of a walk. We did it every day,but our kids is 10 and 12. Next time we will get a hotel closer to the center of waikiki.
But overall i will recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Blvd Suite #212, (take elevator to the second floor), Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your own paradise at the highly rated Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, which provides the perfect setting for your next Hawaiian getaway. Here you'll find spacious and beautifully appointed 500 sq ft City View studio suite accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, private furnished balconies, a swimming pool, day spa, onsite restaurants, 24/7 fitness center, various shops and most importantly NO RESORT FEES. Impeccable service and warm island hospitality is provided at the second floor registration office for Shell Vacations. Fronting the Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, the eco-concious vacation ownership resort is adjacent to award-winning Duke Kahanamoku lagoon and beach park. An easy stroll to Waikiki Beach where the sparkling blue waters of the Pacific Ocean lap the soft sand. Stay here for all the comforts of home and realize a better way to vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Marina Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Waikiki Marina
Waikiki Marina Honolulu
Aqua Marina Hotel
Waikiki Marina Resort At The Ilikai Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.