We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay somewhere else when in Waikiki?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai

Save Saved
You added Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1777 Ala Moana Blvd Suite #212, (take elevator to the second floor), Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Why stay somewhere else when in Waikiki?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We (three adults of different ages) stayed in this hotel for 5 days and we were so happy with the stay that we will return next year. Why stay somewhere else when you have found this amazing place? The staff that greeted us when we checked in was so sweet and helpful (we even got a welcome package with a map of the area and a booklet with discounts at different places nearby). They made us feel very welcome and whenever we needed assistance with something they were there to help and always with a smile on their faces. The room was also very nice and bigger than we had expected. Great kitchen with everything you need to cook food for several people. Big balcony with lots of space for everyone and we had a wonderful view of the Hilton Lagoon and the ocean. There was also a big bathroom with a walk in shower and plenty of space. Both internet (very fast and reliable) and the safe were free of charge. We loved that we could use the laundry room since it was much needed after a long cruise. The hotel in itself is a very nice place with a beautiful lobby where you always find a place to sit down and rest. Good coffee shop with very nice freshly made smoothies. The bus stop is right outside the main entrance. There is an easy and short walk to the Hilton Lagoon and to the beach. Close to a grocery shop where they have everything you need (and more). Walking distance to most places you want to visit and to the Ala Moana Shopping Center. Great place in a great location and for a great price!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    221
    59
    36
    44
See reviews for
180
289
49
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Very Nice room, looks just like the pictures on the web site, we went with our two sons, 17and 20, we ended up getting a rollaway for one of them as the sofa bed is not big enough for two adults. We had an partial ocean view room, with a great view of the lagoon and ocean. Had a balcony and was on the 10th floor. Has a full kitchen with two seats at the counter.
The only complaints is thE gym is very small and old and the sofa bed is somewhat uncomfortable, but probably ok for smaller kids.
The marina resort is the time share part of the hotel so they will try to get you to go to a timeshare presentation, but you don't need to do it. Otherwise they can just book activities without any credit for the timeshare presentation.
It is very near the big alamoana mall, and about a twenty minute walk from the downtown stores.
Would stay the again, very good value.

Room Tip: Higher floor is always better, there is a big air conditioning unit on the ground floor which would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel is very nice with big rooms. The beach was a 2 min walk and if you want to walk to Ala Moana mall it is about 15 min. Waikiki beach is very wide at this end of the beach compared to the other side,so that is very nice.
The only minus must be that if you are travelling with small children and want to go to a restaurant in the center of waikiki,it is a bit of a walk. We did it every day,but our kids is 10 and 12. Next time we will get a hotel closer to the center of waikiki.
But overall i will recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Shell Vacations staff was friendly and provided exceptional service. Check-in/out was a breeze and any requests were processed promptly. Our family of 9 stayed here from Dec. 14th-24th and reserved 3 suites, and they gave us suites on the same floor and within 6 doors of each other.

The suite was a spacious studio with a full kitchen with a full size fridge/freezer and stove/oven minus a dishwasher and counter toaster-oven. We ate out every day, but also cooked at least one meal daily and found the kitchen/supplies to be great. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable, even the pull-out sofa-bed (which surprised me). The TV had several channels to accomodate everyone and the lanai was very large, but we had a city view which I found a bit loud as Ala Moana Blvd is busy as the buses/trolleys/etc all run along here.

The Ilikai is on the NW end of Waikiki, so it's a bit of a trek to the main area on Kalakaua Ave. where the shops/restaurants/lounges are. However, there are plenty of restaurants nearby and the massive Ala Moana Center (which we visited 4 times) is a couple blocks away. We also enjoyed the huge Ala Moana Park/Beach was across from the Center.
(NOTE: there are tons of ABC stores around, almost 1 on every block, but it's the tourist $$$ for most of their items so you're better off picking up stuff at Longs Drugs or Foodland at Ala Moana Center a couple blocks over.)

Waikiki Beach; the beach was a bit a trek from the Ilikai (especially when carrying towels and beach toys) and the sand was only fine where the waves splashed in (which was good for the kids to play-in). Once you walk into the ocean, it's full of eroded coral bits and shells. Fortunately that means the waves are calm. The temperature was in the low 20s during our visit, but the water was cool, my kids would spend about 20-30 mins swimming before getting cold. We also noticed a few homeless during the day and more sleeping at night. I'd rate it average as there are several better beaches in Oahu.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our family of 3 stayed for 9 nights at this wonderful resort. We booked the night before as we arrived at 6am and check in was fast and friendly. We had a partial ocean view room which was well worth the extra money. The view is gorgeous.

We loved the location of the hotel as it's right in the middle of where we wanted to be, 10 minute walk to Waikiki beac and a 10 minute walk to Ala Moana. The pool is small but adequate and the grounds are pretty. The service staff are amazing, they really go out of their way to get you what you need or want (like a roll of tape or a set of scales).

The kitchen has all the equipment you would need for making all sorts of meals,everything is very clean, we had the "green housekeeping" so they only cleaned our room once which suited us perfectly and it was cleaned very well.

I would recommend this hotel to families and couples who enjoy walking and saving money to spend at the amazing shops or restuarants! We ate mainly in Wakiki as the restuarats near the hotel are more chain like dining. I would stay here again and would pay for the partial ocean view, we loved having breakfast with that view and watching the fire works at the Hilton. Thank you Waikiki Marina Resort for a great family vacation!

Room Tip: Get a partial view ocean room, it's well worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Spent 12 days here through the Thanksgiving Holiday season and have to say the hotel and services exceeded all our expectations. The check-in (located on the 2nd floor of the hotel) was quick and friendly. Our room, a junior suite, was spacious and clean with nice furnishings and large covered balcony. Liked the remote controlled A/C which was very effiecient and quiet. No flat screen tv, but the tv was large and upon request, we received a dvd player. The full-size kitchen (with four burner stove, oven, fridge and coffee maker) was a real plus for our 12 night stay! It was clean and well stocked. We prepared quite a few evening meals. Our bathroom did not have a tub, but it had a large tiled shower - and again, all was very clean.

The Service at the resort cannot be beat. From the front office staff to the valets, all were very friendly and eager to assist.

The location of the resort is great! The location of the resort worked out wonderfully for us. It is at far end of Waikiki and close to the Ala Moana mall. LIked the quieter location compared to central Waikiki. We had a car and like all properites, the $25 day park fee is steep. Yet this resort is close enough by foot to walk to central Waikiki or hop a shuttle, bus or car to any island destination. As a bonus, the gym on the hotel's main floor was convenient. Did not use the pool, although it looked nice. We have stayed at many properties in Hawaii - some very high end - but after our stay at the Waikiki Marina Resort, we see no reason to stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Everything is 5 star. Rooms are super clean and spacious, with great access to shops and beaches. Super friendly staff, from the valet guy, to the bellman, to check in. Just an excellent experience by far. One negative thing is the cost for parking at this hotel is super expensive per night $25, but they do allow ins and outs throughout the day.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Blvd Suite #212, (take elevator to the second floor), Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Specialty lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your own paradise at the highly rated Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, which provides the perfect setting for your next Hawaiian getaway. Here you’ll find spacious and beautifully appointed 500 sq ft studio suite accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, private furnished balconies, a swimming pool, day spa, onsite restaurants, 24/7 fitness center, various shops and most importantly NO RESORT FEES. Impeccable service and warm island hospitality is provided at the second floor registration office for Shell Vacations. Overlooking the Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, the eco-concious vacation ownership resort is adjacent to award-winning Duke Kahanamoku lagoon and beach park. An easy stroll to Waikiki Beach where the sparkling blue waters of the Pacific Ocean lap the soft sand. Stay here for all the comforts of home and realize a better way to vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Marina Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Waikiki Marina
Waikiki Marina Honolulu
Aqua Marina Hotel
Waikiki Marina Resort At The Ilikai Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.