We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful in every aspect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai to your Saves list
Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1777 Ala Moana Blvd Suite #212, (take elevator to the second floor), Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Discount
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful in every aspect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

In October we recently stayed at the resort for 6 nights. I did a lot of research before booking the resort. What a brilliant location, excellent value for money,stunning room and superb, extremely helpful and friendly service by the staff. We were allocated a room on the ninth floor overlooking the Marina and Ocean with stunning views both through the day and night. Room was beautifully presented with super comfortable beds. Us Aussies like a good shower and this was excellent as were all the furnishings and everything you need including a fully equiped kitchen. Loved turning on the televeision and going straight to the programming channel as you could listen to wonderful Hawaiian music. Could not fault anything. It was also super clean, very spacious and extremly well presented room with a large verandah to sit out and have breakfast and enjoy the sights.I wish I could have stayed 6 months instead of 6 nights. There is also an excellent coin laundry for a cheap clothes wash on every floor.With a gym on the ground floor plus an outdoor pool.Also a spa and massage service downstairs (forget the massage go somewhere else, it is not a part of the resort). However you are only about 12 mins walk to the action of Waikiki either by street or the pathway along the beach front. A great lagoon is also available near the resort and is brilliant for kids. Also downstairs is a great little place for tea and coffee...and they have English Breakfast tea..YAY!!! and the coffeeeaccording to my friend was excellent from the local plantation. Also an abundance of reasonally priced restaurants are available and the resort gives you a welcome book that includes lots of discounts on eateries etc.Give you a helpful travel tip for Waikiki...staying in this location meant you dont have to line up for dinner at the local restaurants nearby which you have to do nearly every night in central Waikiki. If you are like me waiting sometimes up to 45 minutes for a table is not compatable with my eagerness to eat. Would I stay at the Resort again when I return? a huge YES. If you are over 30 this location is absolutely perfect...many thanks to everyone at Waikiki Marina Resort for making our stay so very very special and totally perfect...all your assistance was greatly appreciated.Now saving up to return to the Waikiki Marina Resort.
P.S another bonus with our room is just around sunset, which are spectacular, make sure you are on the balcony to witness something special that occurs each day on the deck facing the Marina. If your room doesnt face the marina go downstairs to experience and take your camera. For first timers to Hawaii I thought it was wonderful to witness the tradition.

Room Tip: Love the higher floors for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    228
    54
    36
    36
See reviews for
189
294
50
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is my fourth time staying at the Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, and each time, I'm reminded of what a great place this is. The rooms are enormous! Though set up like an open plan studio apartment, they could easily be a nicely sized NYC one bedroom apartment. The lanai is actually large enough to be a separate room, and is a great place to relax with a drink and a snack after a long day soaking up the Hawaiian sun. The full kitchen is a great bonus on a longer trip (we stayed for 9 days), as it allows you to stock up on breakfast and snack items. The few times that I had to visit the main office, the staff was always cheerful and helpful. The pool is fantastic, as it gets full sun all day, so the water is a lovely warm temperature.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton Township, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at the Waikiki Marina Resort (11 - 21 October, 2012). The Staff were exceptional; providing friendly and professional service. We felt so comfortable and welcome during our stay! We also believe that the Ilikai Bar & Grill is one of the better kept secrets in Waikiki! Wonderful food and atmosphere!!! Perfect place for a little down time with friends! Loved the Hotel location, and felt that the parking fees were a fair return for the excellent valet service and added convenience. Highly recommend to all! Hope to visit again in the future!

Room Tip: Ocean Views are wonderful; city view is very nice also, and the Lanai may be cooler in the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The room was very nice. Bed was very comfortable. The view was the most beautiful view that you could ask for. This was our first time to Hawaii and it was great. Would recommend staying here. Great value. Loved the location as it was not in the main downtown Waikiki, but close enough to walk or jump on the Waikiki Trolley. Can not say enough about this room.

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — the hot elevator
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My family and I stayed for 5 nights and we really enjoyed the hotel. Very friendly staff, great views, very nice rooms. The coffee shop serves the best coffee. Very good location. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keaau, Hawaii, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

By far above standard room with wonderful staff that welcomes you and makes you feel special throughout the whole stay. Depiste roadside construction resulting in detours and a little noise, the stay was great and will do it again and again. Very quick access to the shopping center and even the freeway out of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I spent my birthday week at the Waikiki Marina Resort, and I had the time of my life. The property is well maintained. The staff was helpful and accomodating. Moreover, the rooms were great! I had an ocean-view room, and the view was spectacular! I was also holding a room on the side facing the downtown for my family, who ended up be unable to come at the last minute. So, I alternated between the two rooms! This is definitely a property that I would stay at again and again and again!

Room Tip: I had a room on the ocean-view side and a room facing the downtown area. The room on the ocean-view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Blvd Suite #212, (take elevator to the second floor), Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your own paradise at the highly rated Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, which provides the perfect setting for your next Hawaiian getaway. Here you'll find spacious and beautifully appointed 500 sq ft City View studio suite accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, private furnished balconies, a swimming pool, day spa, onsite restaurants, 24/7 fitness center, various shops and most importantly NO RESORT FEES. Impeccable service and warm island hospitality is provided at the second floor registration office for Shell Vacations. Fronting the Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, the eco-concious vacation ownership resort is adjacent to award-winning Duke Kahanamoku lagoon and beach park. An easy stroll to Waikiki Beach where the sparkling blue waters of the Pacific Ocean lap the soft sand. Stay here for all the comforts of home and realize a better way to vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Marina Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Waikiki Marina
Waikiki Marina Honolulu
Aqua Marina Hotel
Waikiki Marina Resort At The Ilikai Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.