We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, friendly, lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai

Save Saved
You added Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   1777 Ala Moana Blvd Suite #212, (take elevator to the second floor), Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off Discount
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
“Very nice, friendly, lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My family and I stayed for 5 nights and we really enjoyed the hotel. Very friendly staff, great views, very nice rooms. The coffee shop serves the best coffee. Very good location. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    222
    54
    35
    36
See reviews for
182
291
50
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keaau, Hawaii, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

By far above standard room with wonderful staff that welcomes you and makes you feel special throughout the whole stay. Depiste roadside construction resulting in detours and a little noise, the stay was great and will do it again and again. Very quick access to the shopping center and even the freeway out of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I spent my birthday week at the Waikiki Marina Resort, and I had the time of my life. The property is well maintained. The staff was helpful and accomodating. Moreover, the rooms were great! I had an ocean-view room, and the view was spectacular! I was also holding a room on the side facing the downtown for my family, who ended up be unable to come at the last minute. So, I alternated between the two rooms! This is definitely a property that I would stay at again and again and again!

Room Tip: I had a room on the ocean-view side and a room facing the downtown area. The room on the ocean-view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We just came back from a week long stay at the Waikiki Marina Resort which is located at the Illikai Hotel. The location is very central between the Ala Moana shopping Center and central Waikiki. We opted to "Go Green" and housekeeping came everyday to change out the towels and take out the trash. Our room (5th floor) was a good size with free wifi and the balcony had a view of the city. We took advantage of the kitchen to make our own breakfasts before starting the day. There are multiple ABC stores within a 3-5 minute walk where you can stock up on basic supplies i.e. cereal, milk, juice, sunscreen etc in addition to reasonably priced souvenirs. There are a lot of restaurant options within a few minutes walk and the Hilton Hawaiian Village is right next door with a man made lagoon and free fireworks on Friday night. The concierge helped us rent a car for a day that we picked up at 7am right across the street at the Alamo Rent a Car and brought back the same day saving the $25 overnight parking fee at the hotel. It was a very pleasant week and the resort was a good value. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We visited Waikiki in August 2012 and stayed at the Waikiki Marina Resort (Part of Illikai Hotel building). The value and service we received was excellent. From the valet service, baggage service (included in room cost) to the check in and room - the check in process was outstanding. Our room was a large Studio with bed area, living area and nice kitchen / counter / barstool area. The room was impeccably clean and even with the "Green Service" housekeeping the room was kept clean - new towels and garbage service every day, full service 1/2 way through stay. The location of this resort is excellent - a short 3 minute walk to the Hilton Lagoon, close the the shopping mall, and walking distance to the middle of Waikiki along the beach. Shuttle / bus stops in front of hotel for all transportation links. The $25 per day valet parking seems steep in price, but with the congestion of Waikiki it seemed the norm for self parking was at least $20 per day so the extra $5 per day for Valet was not unreasonable.

We celebrated our 25th anniversary while at the resort. Flowers I ordered were waiting for us in the room and the staff of the resort also took the time to give us a small gift and card signed by all for our anniviersary - way beyond what was expected - thank you!

Our check out was extremely easy and the bell man handled our luggage once again (tip included in room price by voucher). We were sad to leave and highly recommend the Waikiki Marina Resort to all.

Room Tip: View the Hilton fireworks from the deck surrounding the ground floor restaurant / bar of the Illikai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We really enjoyed the room and staff at the hotel. Central location, lots of great restaurants within walking distance, sports bar across the street and a very short walk to the lagoon and Waikiki Beach! Room is a nice size, clean, full kitchen and very comfortable. Good value for Hawaii. Balcony (Lanai) was a great place to relax in the morning w/ a cup of coffee.

Tim in AZ

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

The suite was just big enough for the 4 of us. Wife and I slept in the bed while
the two kids slept in the sofa bed. Full size kitchen, which was nice. There is
a Sam's/Wal Mart two blocks north of the Ala Moana tower, so go there to stock
up.

Nice hotel. It's considered a 3 star but it's a nice 3 star. Check in is on the 2nd Floor. There is ample parking in the marina lot behind the hotel.

Friday night they have some hula performers come out. Right afterwards, the Hilton has a little
fireworks show. There's a really nice restaurant at the top but we did the Top
of Waikiki thing instead. The TOW has a sunset special from 5 to 6pm and is
worth it.

If you get a rental, which I would, make sure to go west on Ala Moana drive
until you are on the west side of the shopping center. Turn right on that street
(it starts with a "P") and take that north to H-1. It lessens the fight with the
Honolulu traffic.

Get to the attractions early to beat the crowds. 7:30 for the USS Arizona. 8:30
for Hanauma Bay and Diamond Head. Don't go west on H-1 at 4 pm unless you have
to (got caught in the worst rush hour traffic I have ever been in). If you drive
to Wainae for the Paradise Cove luau, gas up your vehicle ahead of time. Don't
stop in that neighborhood at night (bad place). The PC luau is at a gated
community though and is awesome.

Spend a day or two at the north shore (Waimea and Haliewa). Also, there is cove
on the south end of the Blowhole. That cove is where they filmed the kissing
scene in "From Here to Eternity". Watch the undertow at that cove and at Waimea
Bay though, especially if you have kids.

Thought I'd pass on the info.

Happy vacationing,

Mike

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better (less street noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai

Address: 1777 Ala Moana Blvd Suite #212, (take elevator to the second floor), Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover your own paradise at the highly rated Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, which provides the perfect setting for your next Hawaiian getaway. Here you'll find spacious and beautifully appointed 500 sq ft studio suite accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, private furnished balconies, a swimming pool, day spa, onsite restaurants, 24/7 fitness center, various shops and most importantly NO RESORT FEES. Impeccable service and warm island hospitality is provided at the second floor registration office for Shell Vacations. Fronting the Ala Wai Yacht Harbor, the eco-concious vacation ownership resort is adjacent to award-winning Duke Kahanamoku lagoon and beach park. An easy stroll to Waikiki Beach where the sparkling blue waters of the Pacific Ocean lap the soft sand. Stay here for all the comforts of home and realize a better way to vacation. ***PLEASE NOTE*** The Ilikai Hotel Bellmen no longer provide any luggage assistance for Waikiki Marina Resort guests. There is a self-service cart available for guest use at the Valet Parking stand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waikiki Marina Hotel Honolulu
Hotel Waikiki Marina
Waikiki Marina Honolulu
Aqua Marina Hotel
Waikiki Marina Resort At The Ilikai Hawaii/Honolulu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waikiki Marina Resort at the Ilikai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;